Skip to content

Shugo Chara! Volume 1

December 6, 2008

Yes, I read Shugo Chara! too. :3 I just adore it. : D And I’m incredibly bored right now , so I’m going to review the first volume (even though I should be studying for my finals this coming week…). The rest of the US releases should be coming soon (though I may have to skip over volume 4, since someone is borrowing it and it’s currently in another state…).

Anyways. On to the review.

Shugo Chara! volume 1
by: Peach-Pit
published by: Del Rey

sc1

Story:

Everybody at Seiyo Elementary thinks that stylish and super cool Amu has it all: But nobody knows the real Amu, a shy girl who wishes she had the courage to truly be herself. Changing Amu’s life is going to take more than wishes and dreams–it’s going to take a little magic! One morning, Amu finds a surprise in her bed: three strange little eggs. Each egg contains a Guardian Character, an angel-like being who can give her the power to be someone new. With the help of her Guardian Characters, Amu is about to discover that her true self is even more amazing than she ever dreamed. (from Del Rey)

Ramblings:

Amu is just one of the cutest heroines out there. She has this “cool and spicy” outer self, but on the inside is really just a spastic scared little girl. It always makes me giggle to see her freak out about the occult. Especially when she has 3 (the latest count being 4 of course) Shugo Chara.

Seriously, I don’t particularly like Tadase. I don’t hate him, and I’m not going to go into a fangirl rant over him (though I could talk about how frilly/gay his Chara Transformation is), but I really don’t like him. He’s all sweet and nice to almost everone but Ikuto, to whom he’s a douche. :/ That kind of two-faced-ness just pisses me off.

Ikuto on the other hand, I adore! He may be a little too old for Amu (what like a difference of 5, 6 years…), but that doesn’t stop me from being an Amuto fan. :3 He makes me happy when he does his little ear biting in this volume, and I can honestly say I love him just as much, if not more so in the later volumes. He has such a tragic backstory too. D:

I’m not sure what else to say, other than to talk about how much I love that Del Rey is the one who got this series. Well, it would have been alright for Viz to get it for their Shojo Beat line. :] But I just love how well Del Rey does on their translations/other work. The books always look so great! And Shugo Chara! has puffy letters on the cover, which always makes me happy to touch! : D

Overall, I adore this volume, and can’t wait to re-read the rest of the series.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

