Skip to content

Shugo Chara! volume 5

January 30, 2009

Shugo Chara! volume 5
by: Peach-Pit
published by: Del Rey
Shugo Chara! volume 5

Story:
Amu and her Guardian Characters have found a home at an elite school. But now two new Guardians have been chosen, and each has a secret. One is more complex than Amu thought, and the other may be out to betray the Guardians to the evil Easter Corporation! (from Del Rey)

Ramblings:
First, I’m going to talk about the book itself (as in the binding, pages, etc). The cover of (at least my copy) of this release feels incredibly weird…like kind of dusty, if that makes sense… And the cover is slightly too small for the pages inside (the pages kind of stick out a tiny bit… :[ ). There’s also something weird going on with the pages themselves in the middle of the book that is making them open directly to the middle when I flip through the pages. However, the pages are rather high quality, as is expected with Del Rey. This and I think volume 3 are some of the shorter volumes of Shugo Chara! which is always sad. D: But it has the bubbly letters as usual, which always makes me happy to see! : D It was kind of weird that they had the Ami side-story inbetween two regular chapters… :/

And now on to the story itself. This of course being where I really start to ramble and just talk about random stuff that strikes my fancy. :3
This volume starts off with the gang heading to Yaya’s house. I don’t know that I’ve ever mentioned this, but I actually like Yaya a lot. Heck, I know she’s absolutely obnoxious, but I can’t seem to help liking her! On another note, I think it’s absolutely adorable that Ami’s first word was onee-chan!!! Ahahahaa! Rima in a ball is sooo cute! Urk. In the third chapter in this volume (not sure off the top of my head which chapter it is and they’re not labeled in the book), Tadase is not looking his straightest… :/ I don’t mind Tadase too much, but really…Peach-Pit is not doing much for him… Ikuto on the other hand… :3 Definitely one of his best moments. Ice cream, anyone? xD Kairi looks and acts adorable in this chapter. I would probably like him a lot more if he had more development/time in the manga. Not that I don’t like him, I’m just completely impartial. And in the last chapter of this volume we get the beginning of the Black Diamond arc, which by the way, you should totally listen to if you get the chance! It’s great! : D And lol at the Superintendent using kitty toys on Ikuto. xD I can’t wait to get the next volume, though thanks to Futari Wa Pretty Anon Scanlations, I’m finally caught up the the Japanese releases! : D

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2009 12:31 am

    Hehe I went to Barnes & Nobles earlier this week just to check this volume out. Didn’t buy it cuz I’m going usually buy manga in bulks but I do agree that the book feels just…strange. I don’t know why, though. *has been hanging around Kinokuniya too much, that’s why* lol xD;

    Ah, but joking aside, the cover did feel weird for me, too. Not sure about the pages cuz I just skimmed them but eh, quality was definitely there.

    On the plot…
    Yaya isn’t obnoxious. She’s just spoiled. If anyone’s obnoxious, it’s Lulu or Saaya. :P

    haha, I think it’s quite contrary on Tadase’s part. P-Pit put in that extra effort for his skipping which wasn’t really necessary but eh, knowing P-Pit, I think they did it for fun. ^^;

    Ah, yea, nothing more to add. Vol. 6 is probably coming up in April or something right? Hmm, not sure, but that will be the most awesomest volume of all (out in English anyways). |3

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! ^^

  2. January 31, 2009 8:57 am

    Yeah, I’m not sure what is going on…it’s like there’s no plastic coating or something. :/

    Ahahah. That’s true, Saaya is pretty darn obnoxious. Though, lately Lulu’s been growing on me…she still bothers me sometimes with her obsession with her mother (can’t she see her mother doesn’t mind not being as famous as before?).

    Lol. I could see Peach-Pit having drawn that for fun. xD

    Yup 6 comes out April 28th and then 7 comes out September 29th. :] Which seems like a short time, since there were 7 months between 4 and 5… :/

  3. MinaMurray permalink
    January 31, 2009 9:25 am

    I got my volume already last week^^
    Awww, this is definitely my favourite cover. Can’t stop looking once I’ve begun. Amu has a cute and peaceful but also witty smile. And how I adore the colour <3! It’s the colour of strawberry pudding. So nice and shoujo ;-)
    But yeah, even my imported volume has the strange dusty feeling. And I thouhgt it is only my volume…?

    The Shugo Chara! extras are always in middle with the chapters of that time. As well as the Nagihiko story in volume seven.

    The content isn’t not as good as in some other volumes in my opinion but nevertheless making be happy and telling me something. Rima’s story is great and Kairi is entertaining. Ikuto is of couse sexy as usual <3

    Like Xiao Jie, I look forward to volume six which features very good chapters. The scanlation told me interesting things about the happening but I hope for an better quality and translation. Though I have that volume in Japanese yet and I can wiat that little bit.

    Greets, Mina

  4. January 31, 2009 9:33 am

    I should have had mine like a week and a half ago…but I sent it to my house and not to my school, so my mom had to ship it to me… ^^;

    I guess it makes sense to have the extras in the middle since they go with certain chapters…I think I’m just used to them always being at the end of the volume.

    I agree. I love having scans, but they just don’t compare to holding a professionally translated copy in your hands! : D

  5. January 31, 2009 4:54 pm

    I can understand Lulu’s obsession with her mother because I was like that, too. Wanting my mother to be the happiest she can be. It’s just that Lulu doesn’t seem to comprehend what happiness is. She’s one of those kids who think “If you make it big, you’ll be happy” but that certainly isn’t the case. But she’ll realize it soon. I’m sure of it. :)

    Ack, sorry for going off-topic. ^^;

    Ah! Thanks for telling me the dates. So can we expect 8 to come out around December? *hopeful* hehe xD

  6. January 31, 2009 5:12 pm

    Well, yeah, I understand wanting her mother to be happy, I just think she doesn’t understand that her mother is happy already…

    lol. I love side-conversations, so don’t worry! : D

    You’re most welcome. I certainly hope we get volume 8 sometime soon, but I’m thinking it will be closer to next February. D: Unless the series ends soon in Japan, I think Del Rey is going to drag it out as long as they can so they don’t catch up to the Japanese releases. I’m pretty sure that’s why there was a 7-month delay between volumes 3 and 4.

  7. warriorhope permalink
    January 31, 2009 7:55 pm

    I need to get this volume.

    Yeah poor Tadase. No wonder he didn’t have much support back in the day. At least they’ve made him pretty awesome lately.

    Kairi is super adorable. I miss him in the current anime and manga. Sigh. (wishes he would come back).

    Volume 7 comes out on my mom’s birthday.

  8. January 31, 2009 8:25 pm

    I will admit, Tadase has his moments. : ]

    Kairi is cute; I think I like him better without his glasses though (and with the ‘ninja’ gear, lol).

    I’m so excited about the next volumes! : D

Leave a Reply

