Skip to content

Time Stranger Kyoko Volume 3

January 31, 2009

Time Stranger Kyoko Volume 3Time Stranger Kyoko volume 3
by: Arina Tanemura
published by: Viz

Story:
Kyoko has found all but one telepath and is near awakening her sister. However, Hizuki can no longer hide his feelings for Kyoko and kisses her–a crime punishable by death. Now the only way to save his life is for Kyoko to accept him as her betrothed! (from Viz)

Ramblings:
I think by now, we all know that I’m a crazy Arina Tanemura fan, right? So I don’t need to spaz over how much I love her. xD

I think I love almost every main character in this series! I don’t really love Hizuki too much, but other than him, love them all! : D It really makes me sad that this series had to end so quickly, but Tanemura-sensei mentioned in one of the sidebars that she wasn’t feeling too well mentally at the time and she just wanted to stop it without giving it a good ending, so I’m glad we have what we have. I’ve noticed a lot of people complain about the “sudden ending” of TSK, but I really don’t see how it’s all that sudden. Ok, yes in the first chapter of this volume it’s like, “hey-ho, here’s all but one of the strangers!” which I agree is sudden, but past that the story doesn’t seem to end too abruptly to me.

I actually really enjoy the ending of this series. I love the special at the end about Chocola, which is what the TSK OVA is based on! : D It’s just as cute as it is in the anime version. I also really enjoyed the 4-koma at the end, especially all the ones about Mizuno and Sarai!!!! Though I have to say Sakataki getting drunk off chocolate was rather fun too!

 

 

On another note, be expecting the first of my normal 2-part posts about SHK chapter 3 soon, since the raw should come out this Tuesday!!! : D

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2009 3:20 pm

    Ah~! I went and checked this out last week, too. Gotta remember to order it later. x3

    I didn’t know that was the reason why TSK was so short but am glad that we still got a good ending at least (how can weddings not be good endings? xD) so thank you to Arina-sensei for putting effort into it even though she wasn’t feeling well.

    As for the ending, I don’t find it so much abrupt. At first I just found it very surprising that the story ended up being so short, especially since it seemed to have a great cast of characters that I would love to get to know more about, but hey. Stuff happens. And we learn to live with it. *shrug*

    Kyaa, the 4-komas were so great. lol Sakataki getting drunk on chocolate and Mizuno and Sarai (oh, I never thought I was going to see this and I’m so happy she drew one of them! xDDD).

    Yea…thanks for the review! Can’t wait for your SHK post. ^^

  2. February 1, 2009 4:04 pm

    I agree, weddings can’t be bad endings…well, ok if it’s not your particular pairing I guess it could be a bad ending, but KyokoxSakataki is pretty much everyone’s OTP from TSK…so, good ending it is! : D

    Lol. I think my favorite scene from Sakataki getting drunk off the chocolate was him trying to get Hizuki into bed with him. xD And I love that Sarai and Mizuno kiss!! I didn’t expect to see that either! <3

    Thanks for the comment! : ] I should get the SHK post up sometime Tuesday when s-manga.net changes over to the new issue. The Ribon site already changed over, but I figured 3 posts was a little bit much for one chapter. x3

  3. MinaMurray permalink
    February 2, 2009 2:55 pm

    Oh my..I read that volume some years, I might think it’s 4 and a half, ago. The US publishers must be evil….

    Well, since this was the volume i read of TSK, i don’t mind the sudden ending. Yeah, the strangers appear very sudden but it would have been boring searching for all twelve of them.

    The art in this volume is amazing *__* Ui! And the crying Kyoko! The dresses and everything….

    I have to agree, the 4-steps are uber-funny^^

    Greeets, Mina

  4. February 2, 2009 3:19 pm

    Yeah, I read scans ages ago, but the final volume just came out in January here in the US. : [
    Frankly though, I’m glad we got it all all; because of Full Moon’s popularity, Viz realized that Tanemura sells super well, so they went and licensed everything she’d ever written prior (except KKJ of course since CMX has that).

    I’m not sure it would have been boring. If it had been like Karen, maybe; I wasn’t too interested with her story, but Sarai and Mizuno’s was really interesting. : D

  5. February 16, 2009 5:49 pm

    I haven’t read it! nooozz >.< I was planning to but my parents have stopped taking us to barnes & nobles! **i personally find it annoying to read from scans but thats where I read most of it XD

    • February 16, 2009 6:20 pm

      I suggest reading it! : D It’s just not the same without reading the end of the series!

      I’m glad someone doesn’t like reading scans online, it’s really rare to find a fan who doesn’t like it. I don’t really like it, but I do occasionally. I always try to buy what I’ve read though, cuz I feel terrible if I don’t…

Leave a Reply

