Skip to content

Captive Hearts Volume 1

February 16, 2009

Captive Hearts volume 1
by: Matsuri Hino
published by: Viz Media
Captive Hearts Volume 1
Story:
Being carried around everywhere and having handsome Megumi act like a slave may seem ideal, but Suzuka just wishes he would stop. Can anything be done about Megumi’s captive state? Or is Megumi doomed to see Suzuka as his master…forever? (from Viz Media)


Ramblings:
While she’s not yet one of my absolute favorite manga-ka, I can say that Matsuri Hino can make her characters varied. Ok, so in Wanted, Luce does look frighteningly similar to Zero, but… Megumi doesn’t look anything like Zero or Kaname. Suzuka is clearly drawn by the same artist, but is not very similar otherwise to Yuki.

Can I just say that I love the premise of this story? It makes me laugh when Megumi goes into a “man-servant fit.” I mean, yeah, it’s completely clear that they’re going to end up as the canon pairing, but that doesn’t bother me. I like following the story of a pair when I know it’s canon. :]

I also adore Megumi’s dad!!! I think I have a soft-spot for comic relief characters. xD

I don’t have too much to say about this volume, other than, BAH! A major cliff-hanger at the end of volume 1~!!!!!

That and I kinda don’t like it when there are multiple one-shots at the end of volumes when it could be used for more story… :/

4 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    February 17, 2009 2:09 pm

    I love Captive hearts. It’s my favorite series by Matsuri Hino. I really like Megumi’s dad.

    • February 17, 2009 4:43 pm

      I adore Megumi’s dad; I definitely like him more than either Suzuka or Megumi. xD

  2. warriorhope permalink
    February 18, 2009 4:00 pm

    She’s best with random middle aged guys.

    • February 18, 2009 4:07 pm

      I would have to agree. Kaien Cross being another prime example. He’s fantastic; crazy in the beginning, and plain kick-ass later on.

Leave a Reply

