Skip to content

Vampire Knight Volume 1

February 19, 2009

Vampire Knight volume 1
by: Matsuri Hino
published by: Viz Media
Vampire Knight Volume 1
Story:
Yuki Cross has no memory of her past prior to the moment she was saved from a vampire attack ten years ago. She was adopted by the headmaster of Cross Academy, and now works alongside Zero to guard the Academy’s secret. Yuki believes that vampires and humans can coexist peacefully, but her partner has different ideas… (from Viz Media)

I decided that since I have all but volume 3 of VK and I’ve started reviewing Captive Hearts, I might as well start reviewing VK too. Should I mention that I’ve gotten all my volumes of VK from WalMart so far? :3

I’m going to have to disagree with Viz’s lack of honorifics. It doesn’t make sense for Kaname to say, “You always speak so formally to me.” when Yuki calls him by his first name and in English that’s not necessarily polite. I mean, ok she always says things like, “Thank you very much.” where most people would say thanks, but it’s still not quite the same.

On another note, I’ve always wondered what the heck is up with Zero’s earring. Like, what kind of earring works like that? I could see if it just looped through the ear twice, but with all those weird little knobby-things, I don’t see how it would work. Ok, it’s in a manga, so it doesn’t have to make sense, but with things like earrings, I feel like they could make sense…

Oh Headmaster Cross, how I love thee. xD He’s just so crazy. And everytime I see him, I want to make a list of all the different scarves/things he wears around his neck. :3

I forgot that the night class developed the blood tablets…

Ahaha. I never noticed before in chapter two that Yuki’s whistle says, “Yuki’s whistle!! Keep your mitts off, Zero!” That’s rather amusing. xD

And I find it kind of odd that Hino-sensei decided to rename Valentine’s Day to St. Xocolatl’s Day. I don’t really see a reason, when that’s clearly what it is. I guess she just wanted to make it more obviously a fantasy world? *shrug*

Ok, I think this is my favorite outfit Cross has ever worn (page 65+). He looks like a trippy Russian. xD

Thinking about it…Hino-sensei really did reveal Zero’s identity as a vampire pretty early in the story. It makes complete sense, all things considered, but it’s still super early.

While sometimes I really hate Yuki (cuz let’s face it, she’s rather annoying), I like her in chapter 4, especially when she’s thinking things like, “I’m so confused, but I know one thing for certain. I… hurt Zero.” She really shows that she’s not a total dumb hoe, but that she truly understands that she hurt Zero.

Kaname starts to show his true self as kind of a doucher and a weirdo with a sis-com at the very end of this chapter (4), when he pierces a picture of Zero with a letter opener.

I love Zero’s expression when the Cross forces Yuki to use her bracelet against him for the first (and as far as I can remember, only) time. He’s like, “what the fuck just happened?”

“If you want to guzzle blood, feel free to drink mine.” Oh, Headmaster Cross, how you never cease to amuse me. : D

4 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    February 19, 2009 10:07 pm

    Walmart? Wow. American manga culture is really strange. I thought it was surprising when I saw Yaoi mangas mixed in with regular manga at that bookstore in Vermont (we don’t even sell yaoi manga at regular bookstores up here). That’s awesome though.

    Ah Headmaster Cross. ^___^ My favorite character in the entire series.

    Yeah Viz does that a lot. Like Mr. Tsuraga in Skip Beat! and Princess-Sama in TSK. -___-

    Yuki is annoying most of the time. coughlikeBellacough. But she has a rare moment now and then when I like her.

    “I love Zero’s expression when the Cross forces Yuki to use her bracelet against him for the first (and as far as I can remember, only) time. He’s like, “what the fuck just happened?””

    That expression is prizeless.

    Good review like always. I want to write English manga reviews now.

  2. February 19, 2009 10:47 pm

    Hahahah. It’s only big sellers like Vampire Knight, Naruto, Bleach, and sometimes Fruits Basket that show up in WalMart. It’s mostly because Viz has a new distributor (Simon and Schuster) that is easily able to get books in WalMart (though that’s not the same for Fruits Basket, since Tokyopop has that). The best part is since WalMart buys stuff in serious bulk, it’s even cheaper than normal. I only pay like $6.50 for a volume of Naruto at WalMart, where list price is $7.99; Vampire Knight is like $7.50 at WalMart, since list price is $8.99.

    Yaoi is fairly common here…not that I tend to notice it, since I don’t like yaoi…but yeah. :/

    I think Zero is my favorite character, but Headmaster Cross is totally second. : D

    I can sort of understand Mr. Tsuruga, since -san is kinda like the English Mr./Mrs., but honorifics left in would totally be prefered. That’s one thing Viz could learn from Del Rey. That and more translation notes.

    Thanks! I figure I should review some things I’m getting totally legally and can read, instead of just scans and things that are still in Japanese. xD

  3. MinaMurray permalink
    February 20, 2009 2:16 pm

    Lately, I decided to change. Now I tend to buy to American VK volumes rather than the German ones. I’ve bought volume 5 since it was released earlier and the translation of the names meanings of which I’ve heard accidently made me very curious. But seeing it for real, the American released have a wonderful printing quality while the German print looks often way to dark and it leaves traces on other pages…
    I mind the honorific’s lacking as well but since I read the manga online and since my earlier volumes have them in, I can live without them. Nevertheless, I buy VK almost trice. The chapters in the German magazine “Daisuki” with the honorifics (like Shojo Beat”, I guess), the volumes and some Japanese volumes.
    To the content, I prefer the other volumes since it’s really just a prologue. And when I read it, I always think of the time when I supported Yuname because I didn’t know about Yuki’s real identidy -_-°
    But, sometimes nice to read it for the hints. And of course, Cross is always amazing^^

    Greets, Mina

  4. February 20, 2009 2:29 pm

    Woah! Three times? I mean…I guess technically I buy it twice, since I subscribe to Shojo Beat (which from what I can tell is fairly similar to Daisuke), and then buy the volumes too, but still, that’s a lot, especially if you’re importing them from Japan. :O

    I take it you no longer support Kaname/Yuki? :]

    It was kind of cool to go back and reread it for little subtle hints about things that are going on in current chapters. (I still am having a hard time believing it’s not over yet…since apparently Rido Kuran was only the first enemy… :/ )

    Cross is totally amazing! : D

Leave a Reply

