Skip to content

I just had a Tsubasa epiphany

March 9, 2009

So…the whole title of Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicles makes a whole lot more sense now!! I don’t want to spoil it for those who haven’t read the most recent chapters, but let’s just say the “Reservoir Chronicle”  part now makes a ton of sense. I can’t believe it took me this long to get it too… xD It’s been like a zillion chapters since this revelation.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Tsuki-no-Hikari permalink
    March 9, 2009 7:21 pm

    I got the Tsubasa and Chronicle part since the very beginning (no problem there). The Reservoir part made sense after the chapter(s) in which we first find out about how Sakura and Syaoran (I don’t care if they are not who they are/were @_@) met. The whole “water protecting princess and princess understanding the feelings of water the most” are my two favorite plot-tools in the manga, among many others.

    [i]Everything[/i] has to have multiple meanings for it to be considered 100% CLAMP, you know? Perhaps the title is like that, too?

  2. March 9, 2009 9:19 pm

    Exaclty! : D The Tsubasa part made sense from the beginning, and the chronicle part basically made sense (though “reservoir chronicle” together now makes so much more sense), and the reservoir part made sense after all that water stuff.

    hahaha. That’s true, pretty much all CLAMP has to have multiple meanings…except CCS…that didn’t have too many multiple meanings.

  3. KurenaiYume permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:26 pm

    So the RC of TRC makes sense now…

    Ahhh! Stop killing me with time-sinks! Now you’re making me want to go and play catch up with the manga. I think stopped reading it around…a few arcs past the Tokyo one? I don’t even remember anymore. I’m really far from the recent chapters, aren’t I?

    And on the subject of multiple meanings, it doesn’t even need to be explained. Only stating, “It’s CLAMP” is more than enough for people to understand. If they don’t, point and laugh at them. *nods*

    • March 9, 2009 10:15 pm

      If you finished the Tokyo Arc you should have read up until about 135 (the most recent chapter is 215), but it does relate to the Tokyo Arc…

  4. Tsuki-no-Hikari permalink
    March 10, 2009 10:24 am

    But CCS’s characters had multiple roles, too, so it’s sort of like the same thing, right? I mean, take Yukito, for instance. He was Yuu, some sort of pet to Clow Reed, the “Judge”, and Touya’s lover/helper, all in one. And that’s not even talking about Sakura and Syaoran. Now it turns out that even Yuuko has multiple “roles”. I think Kurogane is the only one left so far? I wonder how long that will last, until CLAMP figures out they need another role to be filled in. You know, I’m constantly keeping up with TRC and all the while hoping that one day, everything will make sense and every question will find it’s answer. How that’s going to happen, I have no idea.

  5. March 10, 2009 11:19 am

    True, but out of most CLAMP manga, it’s one of the ones with the least things going on. :]

    I think Kurogane is the only one without multiple roles so far, other than the fact that he is necessary to keep Fai alive now.

    lol, I have a feeling not all our questions are going to be answered. But I do think TRC is winding to a close, it just keeps getting closer and closer to an end. It and xxxHolic are supposed to end sometime this year, from what I’ve seen. And then CLAMP is supposed to start a new shojo series. :]

  6. MinaMurray permalink
    March 10, 2009 12:46 pm

    I rather hope they are supposed to finish X…
    Hell yeah, I’m currently so in the X-mode and I want an epic ending. so please Kadokawa, offer CLAMP a possibility to publish the epic and amazing ending…Q_Q…I’m waiting for almost 6 years…

    Or, maybe you KNOW that CLAMP will start a new series, than I see your point. Though…you should know my preferences now ;-)

    Nevertheless, it’s great to know the TRC title meaning after all. Before, I could refer to the reservoir only as “something to be filled” (i. e. Sakura’s memories) but the water reservoir having a significance for FWR’s plan and being a remain of Acid Tokyo makes way more sense. But here’s again the X-connection. I don’t hope this will be the only X ending we will get…

    Greets, Mina

  7. March 10, 2009 2:45 pm

    Hmm..what I read said a new CLAMP shojo series, so I don’t think it will be X, but it might be.

    I’m not going to lie, the fact that the starting place was the remains of Acid Tokyo was a shocker to me. xD I probably should have seen it coming, but I just didn’t…at all…

    • September 29, 2010 4:19 am

      The new shoujo series is titled “Kobato.”. Seems that CLAMP is really into crossover stuff – there are numerous crossover characters in Kobato. (like in TRC).

      Tsubasa RC is one of the best manga I’ve ever read. The ending has pretty much ‘reveal’ most of the unanswered questions in the whole series…

      (For those spoiler-haters who have yet to finish the TRC manga, read no further! XP )

      …Except for the Yuuko-Clow-Fei Wong part.

      Although it’s mentioned that Fei Wong wants to find a place for Yuuko to “exist”, and he wants to prove that he’s more powerful than Clow, but what is the background story behind this complicated relationship? Why would Fei Wong wants to make sure Yuuko won’t die to prove that his better than Clow – that is, why Yuuko (and not some others)? Ok, so Yuuko has the power over dimensions, but is that why Fei Wong chose to revive her?

      Are Clow and Yuuko merely friends? If so then why did he wished for Yuuko’s time to stop on the verge of her death?

      How is Yuuko’s continual existence related to the fate of the clone Syaoran-Sakura? Is it as Clow (and Xing Huo) said, “The dream has to end?”

      Ok, I think I’ve cramped in too many questions…but still, TRC (and not forgetting xxxHolic) are the best of CLAMP’s works, imo.

Leave a Reply

