Skip to content

St. ♥ Dragon Girl Volume 2

March 9, 2009

St. ♥ Dragon Girl volume 2
by: Natsumi Matsumoto
published by: Viz Media
St. ♥ Dragon Girl volume 2
Story:
While trying to banish a demon trapped beneath Momoka’s favorite peach tree, Ryuga falls under the demon’s control. Can Momoka fight the demon on her own and save Ryuga? (from Viz)
Ramblings:
So I’ve been reading some review of this series on the interwebz, and people don’t seem to like it. :/ I mean, yeah, it’s intended for 9-13 year-olds (that’s the target demographic of Ribon at least), but that just means it’s a fairly wholesome series that, while possibly rotting your brain from the saccharine sweetness, is not going to harm you in ways some more adult series might. And this is coming from an 18-year-old female college student; I love me some R-rated movies, but that doesn’t mean that cute sugary goodness is a bad thing.

Ok, that’s enough of a rant from me. :3 ON TO THE MANGA~~!

First off, I think Viz has changed the way they print covers, cuz this one feels super weird (and my volume of Otomen 1 feels the same way)!! It’s not bad, it’s just completely different from normal. I don’t really know how to describe it either; it’s not weird like my volume of Shugo Chara! 5 is….it’s like it’s super smooth, but without that plastic-y coating most manga have.

I don’t know how I feel about this cover illustration…I love the outfits (I kind of have a thing for Chinese dresses, I think they’re gorgeous!!), but those giant-ass flowers? Not liking them so much… :/

Matsumoto-sensei’s eyes definitely challenge Arina’s. xD They’re massive! But hey, I don’t mind, it just amuses me. :3

I think it’s sooo sweet that even at a young age, Ryuga thought said things like, “From now on, this is your tree!” to Momoka. : D Adorable! Of course, at his current age, he says things like, “So you’ve loved me ever since we were little, huh?” xD

Ahahaha. I do love me some traps. :3 And fortune-telling traps are rather interesting.

Conversations like:
Ryuga: “My fortune-telling experience says we have an inseperable bond.”
Mokoka: “Like I’d believe you!! You say that to every girl!!”
Ryuga: “No I don’t!”
are what I really like about this series. : D

I also really like that all the girls in the series always have a different hairstyle. I mean, it’s cool for certain characters to have a defining hairstyle, but when they wear it almost every scene, it’s a little much. :/ Momoka however has like 3 different hairstyles a chapter. xD It’s generally, though not always, some form of the Usagi/Sailor Moon hairstyle with two “dango”, like on the cover of this volume.

Another thing I noticed is that Matsumoto-sensei seems to have a thing for tongues…everytime Ryuga casts a spell, he licks the spell, which I don’t think is normal…and there was one illustration where he was licking a sakura petal. :/ Tongues are cool, whatever, but it’s a little weird…

The short story at the end of this volume was adorable too! : D I don’t mind little extra stories when they’re related to the story in the actual volume, but when it’s some random oneshot, I don’t really like it. :/ I mean, just wait for another chapter, and wait for some more oneshots in order to put more of the story in one volume and publish a volume of oneshots…

 

Yay! I finally finished this post!!! xD Now on to VK 3, 4, and 5 and Otomen 1! And probably SHK chapter 4 somewhere in there. : D

One Comment leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    March 14, 2009 9:14 am

    I love all the different hairstyles too. Ryuga and Momoka interactions are cute. I’m really starting to love the series.

Leave a Reply

