Skip to content

Crunchyroll ~Updated~

March 19, 2009

crunchyroll

I would like to give some serious props to the guys over at Crunchyroll. Crunchyroll has gone from one of the largest sites hosting technically illegal anime to what is essentially a licensor of a ton of anime (and now drama too) in the span of about 3 months. It’s incredible what these guys are doing. Along with the continuing series, they’ve already started to announce some of the series they’ll have for spring. Let’s take a look at the new series shall we? UPDATED: Added Peeping Life. Crunchyroll finally announced all these series on their site (here). They claim this is only part one of what they’ll be streaming, so there’s definitely more to come. :D

Chi's Sweet Home 2Chi’s Sweet Home Atarashii Ouchi
Summary:
The Yamadas and Chi move to a new apartment house, where keeping a pet is allowed. (from MAL)
Watching: Probably not.
Thoughts: I dunno, I didn’t watch the first season, and it doesn’t seem to appealing to me…

 

 

 

 

 

Mainichi Kaa-san

Mainichi Kaa-san
Summary:
Rieko Saibara’s humorous semi-autobiographical manga about her life raising her two children has been printed in the Mainichi Newspaper’s weekly morning edition since 2002. The series won a Japan Media Arts Festival Award in 2004 and the Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize in 2005. (from MAL)
Watching: Most likely not.
Thoughts: Looks semi-interesting…but if I wanted a show about an everyday mother, I’d just videotape my mom… :/

 

  

SakiSaki
Summary: Miyanaga Saki is a very skilled mahjong player. One day she gets dragged into the Mahjong Club and surprises some of the other members by being able to break even after every round, a play style that developed due to the fact that her family would get mad if she won whenever they played so she would carefully lose on purpose. But here’s the catch, she hates mahjong. (from MAL)
Watching: At least the first few episodes.
Thoughts: Looks ok, I’ll definitely catch the first few episodes and see how it goes, especially since it’s going to be totally legal to watch! : D

 

 

shangri-laShangri-La
Summary:
The story is set in a neo-futuristic age, in which Tokyo has turned into the world’s largest “jungle-polis” that absorbs carbon dioxide. A tower city called Atlas houses the rich and privileged, and is the object of yearning of all that are not allowed to enter. But Atlas also has ancient secrets which cause a sudden whirl of events. Festooned by colorful characters such as a riotous teenage girl, a child genius, a juvenile princess, a drag queen, a female doctor, an army major, and an elderly gentleman and lady, SHANGRI-LA’s hard-core world view plays out as an anime action saga.
A striking vision of Earth’s future from some of Japan’s foremost creative talents, SHANGRI-LA is a tale of greed and division vs. bravery and the human spirit. Set against the backdrop of a Tokyo cityscape turned into a teeming jungle by runaway global warming, with the elite living in the comfort of the tower city, Atlas, and the less-privileged masses struggling in the squalor in the jungle – only one girl, Kuniko Hojo, and her band of guerrillas can find a way to preserve the future for everyone… (from the official English site)
Watching: hell. freaking. yes.
Thoughts: This is something right up my alley! : D I’m super excited crunchyroll is going to be streaming it!!!! Plus it’s awesome that the series already has an official English language site! Now if only they get Eden of the East, I will be supremely happy.

La Corda D'Oro ~primo passo~La Corda D’Oro ~primo passo~
Summary:
Hino Kahoko is a student whose school is divided into two branches – the Normal Branch, in which students wear grey uniforms, and the Music Branch, in which the students wear white. The school’s tradition is a music competition, but it it more common that students from the Music Branch are chosen to compete. Kahoko is surprised one day to encounter a fairy named Lili. Solely because she is the only student to see him is she the only student from the Normal Branch to be in the competition.
Kahoko doesn’t have any musical knowledge, until Lili grants her a magic violin, one that anyone can play if they believe they can truly do it. Kahoko must now face the trials of the competition, her competitors, and her peers. (from MAL)
Watching: Yup.
Thoughts: I’m so glad crunchyroll isn’t just going to be showing the new special, but are going to be streaming the original series (well, the first anime, it’s all based on a game). Now I can watch the original and the watch ~secondo passo~ when I’m done. : D

La Cordo D'oro ~secondo passo~La Cordo D’oro ~secondo passo~
Summary: The story continues after the intraschool music competition of the first game and anime series. The budding music student Kahoko meets the brusque boy Etō, the new youthful school board director Akihiko Kira, and the mysterious transfer student Aoi Kaji. (from MAL)
Watching: After I finish ~primo passo~.
Thoughts: I keep meaning to watch La Corda D’Oro, so I’m glad I’ll be able to watch it all in order legally. I love music and shojo, so put them together and it’s a fine mixture! : D

 

 

 

 Peeping LifePeeping Life
Summary: If you’re a fan of shows like Comedy Central’s “Shorties Watching Shorties” and independent style animation, with a sharp sense of humor, this is for you!
A series of comedy shorts, Peeping Life features popular comic duos ad-libbing around sticky situations that are not too uncommon in Japanese society. Take a break from the stresses of daily life, sit back and enjoy a good laugh! (from Crunchyroll)
Watching: I think so.
Thoughts: I wasn’t going to watch this when it was first announced, but after reading the summary, it seems rather interesting…

 

I’ll update this when Crunchyroll announces the rest of their Spring lineup.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 3:56 pm

    Oh wow. Shangri-La seems interesting. Didn’t seem that much when I was skimming through the shows that will air this coming Spring season.

  2. March 19, 2009 8:16 pm

    Yay~ For not being the only person excited about new Crunchyroll titles. lol

    I only wish they got Corda back when I decided to finally finish the last five episodes after about…a two-year hiatus. Then I wouldn’t have had to wait five hours for each episode to download!

    But it’s all good now. I can just watch the series again from the beginning. Oh and the special~ So quickly after it airs. Which is great since, as shoujo Corda was going to have a harder time getting decent fansubs. Which is why I’m hoping Crunchyroll gets all the shoujo shows that aren’t likely to be fansubbed otherwise. Even if I think I’ll drop them, I at least want the opportunity to check them out in full context. (I’m thinking of Gokujou!! Mecha Mote Iinchou and Hanasakeru Seishounen here.)

    Oh yeah, and now I have a reason to go back and finish Chi’s Sweet Home (I think I got to episode 5 and just stopped because they showed up too often to keep track)

  3. March 19, 2009 10:21 pm

    @7: I’m (as I’m sure you can tell) super excited about it! xD I really hope it’s as interesting as it seems.

    @FuyuMaiden: I’m so excited! xD I think I’m actually going to have to get that membership thing going on sometime soon (aka once I get my debit card issues fixed).

    Yeah, I wasn’t going to check out Gokujou!! Mecha Mote Iinchou, but since it’s based on a manga from Ciao, I figure I’ll give it a shot. :] At one point, the Fansub wiki had it and a bunch of other titles listed as being licensed by crunchyroll, but it’s since been changed to them not being, so I’m not sure…

    I hope they pick up Hanasakeru Seishonunen too, since it looks rather interesting.

    Is Chi’s Sweet Home worth it then? I can’t decide what to think about it…

  4. warriorhope permalink
    March 22, 2009 11:00 am

    I’m so happy they’re subbing corda too! Especially the new special.

    Shangri-La. Hmmm….might actaully watch it now.

  5. blossomgirl101 permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:40 am

    Ooh, Shangri-La…It looks more interesting with that summary. I was just going to watch it for the heck of seeing how weird it is but now I’m sort of interested, haha. Ah, seeing this makes me want the anime membership more now. Is there a possibility for more anime being added? I know that they now have Katekyo Hitman Reborn, and it’s pretty awesome what crunchyroll has going on (but makes people who don’t have it get mad, like me).

    Mainichi Kaa-san looks…odd. O.o Just really had to add that. And cool, they’re adding La Corda D’oro. ^_^

  6. March 23, 2009 9:08 am

    Yeah, I don’t actually have the anime membership right now either, but I’m considering it much more now.

    It’s definitely a possibilty for more anime to be added for the spring season, since they haven’t announced any titles on their own site other than Reborn! yet.

    I’m not sure what’s going on though, since according to the press release, La Corda D’oro ~primo passo~ was supposed to start showing last Friday…

  7. Nollog permalink
    March 29, 2009 8:24 pm

    You should watch Chi. It’s a great series.
    I’m happy crunchy got so many licenses, just wish they didn’t steal chi from me. :p

    I’ll be watching 3 or 4 series from crunchy.

  8. March 30, 2009 3:07 pm

    Hm. I think I’ll check it out. It looks like each episode’s only like 3 minutes long, right? I’d say that’s worth it. xD

Leave a Reply

