Skip to content

Vampire Knight Volume 5

March 26, 2009

 My next post will probably not be until next Thursday/Friday (SHK chapter 5 preview), unless my mega box of manga comes before then. Seriously, BookCloseouts was having a huge manga sale: all their manga was 99¢!!!! So I bought:
Your Eyes Only (Chobits Artbook) (this was actually 6.99, but still a lot cheaper than MSRP19.99)
DearS volumes 1 and 2 (grr…it’s looking like I might not get the second volume of this, since it appears to have gone out of stock after I ordered it, but that also means I’m paying 99¢ less, so…)
Dream Saga volume 1, 2, 3, and 5
Fruits Basket volumes 12-15
Magic Knight Rayearth volume 2
RG Veda volumes 3, 6, 9, 10
Rozen Maiden volume 1
Scrapped Princess (light novel) volume 1
Metamo Kiss volume 1-3 (all)
Heaven!! volumes 1-3 (all)
and I only paid 38.01 including shipping!!! From what I can tell, normal price for manga on BookCloseouts is still only $1.99, but it seems they only have Tokyopop titles and they’re all books that have been returned to the publisher unsold, so it’s likely they’ll have lines on the edges, but heck for 99¢, who cares?!?!?

Anyways, en0ugh of my swag rant, on to the manga review!!

Vampire Knight Volume 5Vampire Knight volume 5
by: Matsuri Hino
published by: Viz Media
Story: Zero is suspected of killing Shizuka Hio, the pureblood vampire who murdered his family. Incensed, the vampire senate sends assassins to Cross Academy to execute him. Will the Night Class intervene, or will Kaname let Zero take the fall? (from Viz)

Ramblings:
First off, hate the cover of this volume. :/ And not just because it has Kaname on in. I really just despise the whole thing, it’s not at all attractive, though the people at Viz/Shojo Beat did well with what they had, other than the image I like the layout/fonts/texts of the cover. OMGLOL, I just noticed that Zero is there too. xD Doesn’t help me like it any better, especially since it’s hard to find him. It’s not really a good thing when people can’t see one of the characters on the front cover (though maybe it was just me).

I very much DO like however, the chapter cover for chapter 20! : D Except Aido’s hat…that is not attractive. :/

So. Many. Emotions! D: I don’t think I can accurately depict what I’m feeling over these chapters, so I’m just going to stop now.

But I’ll mention that chapter 21 title page with glasses!Yuki and glasses!Zero is full of win!!! : D That and the ALMOST kiss at the end of chapter 24! D:

 

Still haven’t found a copy of volume 6, but I’m working on it. :]

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2009 11:38 am

    Dang, what a crazy sale! So lucky!

    I like the cover actually…. it’s different.

  2. March 27, 2009 2:03 pm

    I know! It was a fantastic sale! :D

    Well that’s true, it is definitely different; and I see why that would make it likeable. :]

  3. March 31, 2009 8:31 am

    Woah. 99¢ only?! You’re one lucky girl. [ish envious~ :|]

    Vampire Knight vol. 5’s cover was actually kinda plain to me because it seemed so dull instead of seeing the emotions.. :] I haven’t been reading the latest of Vampire Knight because you see, I’m not a YuMe fan but I respect those who do. XD Reading the manga sometimes make me disappointed. *sigh*

    What about you? Do you support YuMe or ZeKi..? :3

    • March 31, 2009 9:44 am

      I know, it was an incredible sale! And my stuff finally shipped yesterday! : D

      I think that’s a perfect way to describe why I don’t like it. There’s no emotion to the image. I also just don’t like the colors. xD

      Definitely ZeKi. :3 I’m glad it wasn’t too obvious though. I don’t like offending people; I’m 99% sure I’ve never bashed another pairing. I just can’t stand when people do that; it’s rude and really, it’s just a fictional work, there’s no need for being a fanbrat. D:

      lol, sorry for the random tangent. xD

Leave a Reply

