Skip to content

BEDA Day 5 – Metamo Kiss ~Bulk Review~

April 5, 2009

Since I finally got my mega box of manga from bookcloseouts.com and I’m working on BEDA, I figured I’d go ahead and review Metamo Kiss all together. :] It’s nice to be able to sit down and read a full series all at once! : D
metamokiss1metamokiss2metamokiss3
Metamo Kiss volumes 1-3 [all]
by: Sora Omote
published by: Tokyopop
summary: Kohamaru comes from a peculiar family – each member can switch bodies with his or her soul mate! His parents can switch bodies, and his aunt, oddly enough, can switch with her cat! Now it’s Kohamaru’s turn… (from Tokyopop)

 First off, Tokyopop sucks, since they say on the back of the first volume that Kohanamaru’s aunt switches with their cat, but it’s really his sister (which they have right inside), and also they spell his name Kohamaru in the summary on the back and as Kohanamaru inside (among at least 3-4 other nicknames that made it hard to figure out who they were talking about…). Tokyopop also screwed up a lot of the speech bubbles, as in they placed the text in really weird places in the bubbles. (Can you tell I don’t really care too much for Tokyopop, lol?)

I kept messing up the main character’s name with Konohamaru (from Naruto, lol), and it was really throwing me for a loop most of the time, but that’s not the author’s fault, so it’s forgiveable. :]

 The pacing in this series is absolutely terrible. :/ And the pages are really cluttered, but on the plus side the art is really adorable!! Seriously, just look at the volume covers, especially the first one! : D

I love all the cover splash/title pages, they’re just so adorable!!! I just wish I could say the same for the actual chapters themselves. Don’t get me wrong, the art’s the same, it’s just so cluttered on every page, it’s rather hard to keep up. and when Kohanamaru and Nanao switch bodies I had a hard time keeping up with who was who…I think some of that was just me, but the author could have done a better job of making it obvious who was who.

If you can find the volumes cheap or at your local library I would suggest reading this, since it’s not all terrible and the art’s really cute. I would not suggest paying full value for these, it’s not quite that good and really isn’t worth the $30 the series would cost you at cover price. They story could definitely have been developed more, but for what it is, it’s not bad.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 5, 2009 2:48 pm

    Tokyopop sucks. I shudder to think what they’ll do with Maid-sama if they ever release it.

    It looks cute. Might get my library to buy it so I can read it.

  2. April 5, 2009 3:38 pm

    Tokyopop does indeed suck. D:

    Apparently Maid-Sama should be released this Tuesday…we’ll see if it happens…

    I think the only thing they’ve done a good job on was Missile Happy! and they didn’t do that good of a job, it just wasn’t a terrible job. Of course I only have the first 2 volumes (I keep meaning to get the last 3, since I really like Missile Happy), so they might have messed up more in the last 3 volumes that I don’t yet know about.

    Well…they didn’t do too terrible a job on the Twelve Kingdoms novels so far…they could definitely do with more proof-reading, but they’re not bad.

  3. warriorhope permalink
    April 5, 2009 4:40 pm

    They did a decent job with Fruits Basket (then they had to since it’s such a money maker). I hope they don’t get “Hoshi wa Utau” they’d just ruin it.

    Tuesday? Hmm..Maybe I’ll get at the end of the month then. (Just bought the first two volumes of 07-Ghost, 9 of Kitchen Princess and Gakuen Prince, and thus am broke).

  4. April 5, 2009 5:01 pm

    That’s true, they did a fairly good job on Furuba, though they certainly could have done better. Their cash cow (aka Furuba) is going to be over in June though…wonder how it’ll affect Tokyopop…

    I plan on getting Maid-sama sometime soon too. I read the first few chapters online, but actually didn’t really like it. I’ve read a lot of good things about it though, so I’m going to give it another try and buy at least the first volume.

  5. April 6, 2009 9:16 pm

    Oh please, if it weren’t for some of Tokyopop’s good series I wouldn’t follow Tokyopop at all. :| Tokyopop is just so.. irritating. They get a lot of series to license in english and in the end, they cancel the series that most people like. (for example, Nosatsu Junkie‘s current hold). Pshh.

    On the other hand, I also have the 3 vols of Metamo Kiss in my manga cabinet and I should say, it’s a really great story with a good plot. ;D You’ve done a good job deciding to buy this!

  6. April 6, 2009 10:08 pm

    Other than their (mostly dead) light novel line, Natsuki Takaya (some of whom’s stuff I’m even staying away from), and Missile Happy! I’m not getting much of their newer stuff. :/

    I love their light novel line (I really hope they finish Trinity Blood and Twelve Kingdoms). I know they’ve cancelled like every other title in the line, but since they just put out the third volume of the Twelve Kingdoms, I think I’m ok on those for a bit…and I think Trinity Blood is actually going to get going again soon. They’ve delayed these upcoming volumes for like a year already though, so who knows. D:

    I was going to pick up Nosatsu Junkie the other day, but then I remembered I had heard Tokyopop cancelled it, so I didn’t. I don’t like getting in to things knowing I can’t finish them. lol, yes that was a jibe at Tokyopop

  7. April 7, 2009 5:44 am

    Aww. But you should have picked it! Nosatsu Junkie is a must! lol.

    Anyways, though you would be totally cliffhanged at the end of vol. 6, having this series in your shelf is totally worth it. ;) Though I understand how you feel about reading it but not being able to finish it..

Leave a Reply

