Skip to content

BEDA Day 6 – Heaven!! ~Bulk Review~

April 6, 2009

This is another one of those series I was able to get all of from bookcloseouts.com for .99 a volume. :] I figured it was only 3 volumes and for less than $3 for the whole series, I figured no matter how bad it was/wasn’t, it would be worth it to try something I’d never heard of.
heaven1heaven2heaven3
Heaven!! volumes 1-3 [all]
by: Shizuru Seino
published by: Tokyopop
summary: Rinne is a girl who not only can see ghosts, she can exorcise them–with a paper fan! When she’s saved from becoming a ghost by the school punk, he ends up in a coma. Fortunately, that doesn’t stop their unique relationship from forging: Rinne and her rescuer’s now-disembodied spirit must defend his prone body from being possessed by a muddled collection of local ghosts. When Rinne fails in her task, an ancient playboy takes over the punk’s body–leaving him to inhabit a pink stuffed monkey! In this madcap adventure, what’s a girl to do?! (from Tokyopop)

Ramblings:

First off, Rinne is extremely similar to Kanako from Maria†Holic, aka nosebleeds all the time; It makes me exceedingly happy. :3 The difference being that Rinne is getting nosebleeds from bishies, where Kanako gets them from cute girls.

At first I wasn’t really sure what to think of this series, since the pink monkey on the front of the first volume kind of freaked me out, lol. But after getting into it, I couldn’t stop reading and finished the whole series in one sitting. : D

I really want to check out some more of the artist’s works, since this is apparently only her second series, and manga-ka tend to get better as they go.

Like in Metamo Kiss, Tokyopop did some really weird things with some of the speech bubbles. And they never explained the word “harisen.” Luckily I knew what it was from Nodame Cantabile, but it would have been kind of annoying had I not understood.

The art is suprisingly clean. It’s fairly normal shojo art, and there’s really not anything particularly special about it, but that doesn’t mean it’s bad; Far from it actually. I wouldn’t go as far as to say I’ve found a new favorite manga-ka, but I’m definitely going to keep a look out for other stuff from Shizuru Seino.

I was pleasantly surprised by this series, and would definitely suggest it to anyone. I got all the volumes from bookcloseouts.com for .99 each, but I would have definitely bought the series for list price.

Overall, the only things I didn’t like about this series were things that Tokyopop had done. If you see this around, I definitely suggest checking it out!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 9:36 pm

    lol the whoel Riine thing totally reminds me of The Wallflower aka Perfect Girl Evolution!! And that is an extremely good thing, lulz. =D

  2. April 6, 2009 10:10 pm

    You should check out Heaven!!, it’s much shorter that The Wallflower (that’s still ongoing, isn’t it?)

  3. April 6, 2009 10:49 pm

    Oh yes it is!! I love that thing to bits, it’s like the constant in my life or something. (WHERE IS THE CHINESE SCANS FOR VOL 23 ALREADY!?!?!?! *makes angry face*)

    I will!! Anything that reminds me a little of PGE makes me all =D

  4. April 10, 2009 7:59 pm

    Отличный блог, интересное и полезное содержание!

Leave a Reply

