Skip to content

BEDA Day 7 – Your Eyes Only: Chobits Artbook

April 7, 2009

I don’t want to actually scan any of this, since I can’t stand breaking the spine on books, and that would be the only way to get a quality scan, so I’m just going to go through and take some pictures of my favorite images and comment on those. :]

Your Eyes Only: Chobits artbookYour Eyes Only: Chobits Artbook
by: CLAMP
published by: Tokyopop
summary: Okay fans! Here is the much-anticipated art book from CLAMP, the world’s most popular manga studio–featuring work from their most popular manga series! The stunningly gorgeous artwork is filled with pages of luscious, full-color art! If you love Chi from CLAMP’s manga Chobits, you will love this artbook. Chi in all her lovely dresses, interesting poses and her alternate personality!  (from Tokyopop)

Ramblings: Hmmm. Tokyopop did not do a great job here. :/ Almost every other artbook published in the US that I’ve seen has had nice high-gloss paper, but here it’s just your normal paper. It is a little higher quality than what they use for their normal manga, but it’s still not quite up to par. Granted, this artbook is a little longer than a lot I’ve seen in the US (at about 130 pages as opposed to around 80-90) , but still the paper quality should be much higher.

 

p1020149ok, honestly, I’m not sure why I think this image is so cute, but I do. :3 I just love the kitty!

p1020150 
I think this is my favorite of the volume covers (it’s the first one, I believe).

p1020151 
I just think this is adorable! : D I would totally wear a dress like this, even though I tend to hate frills of an sort. xD

p1020152 
I’m not really sure what it is about this image that I like so much…but I really, really, really like it!

p1020153 
Chi is soooo adorable here. I don’t know what it is that let CLAMP make a seinen series so adorable…I guess just because it’s CLAMP??

p1020154 
Sumomo is fantastic, so I had to include at least one image of her (look at that, I technically got in three)! : D

p1020155 
The comments in the back said Chi is supposed to be a persocom nurse, aka she has all kinds of things to stop viruses and the like. :] I think that’s a cute spin that fits well with the series.

p1020156 
This really reminds me of the a lot of the Tsubasa art that CLAMP has been putting out lately, which is not a bad thing, really on the contrary I like when things are the same (I’m a creature of habit, lol).

p1020157 
Necessary image of Chi and Atashi! : D

p1020158 
And necessary image of Chi and Freya. There were others in the artbook of course, but this is by far my favorite of them!

p1020159 
I haven’t read Chobits in a long time, so all I can tell you about these characters is that they’re attempting to hunt Chi down (I’m pretty sure they’re persocoms themselves, but I don’t have the manga, so I can’t confirm that….).

p1020160
After all the images there were thumbnail versions of them all with comments on the opposite page in the same place where the image is. It’s a fairly good way to get comments in when the images take up the whole page, but otherwise, I prefer the comments near the image.

So, as usual, Tokyopop sucked. But they did give us an artbook, and really, it could have been a whole lot worse. If you’re a fan of Chobits and like artbooks, this is a must-have. If you kinda like the series, I’d say it’s a maybe. If you just like artbooks in general, but don’t know much about Chobits, you’ll still probably appreciate this and I highly suggest it; though if you don’t know much about the series, and are just a fan of artbooks, then maybe the Japanese version if it’s still in print?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 2:27 pm

    That’s the only thing I don’t like about art books – the fact that using them means tearing them apart. Other than that, they’re pretty awesome.

    Chobits is always a favorite of mine when it comes to getting stocks for computer media like banners and such.

  2. warriorhope permalink
    April 7, 2009 3:02 pm

    Oh~! Now I want to reread Chobits. It really was an adorable series, almost as adorable as Kobato is now.

    The image with Chi at the window is the prettiest. It would be a great stock image for a summer anime post.

  3. April 7, 2009 4:57 pm

    @7: Exactly. I love artbooks, but I don’t think I’ll ever be willing to scan one…I just couldn’t ever rip it apart for the sake of doing that (which you’d pretty much have to do to scan one). D:

    @warriorhope: It was adorable! I still plan on buying it; Good thing it’s still in print. : D

    It would be a great image for summer! I might have to track it down’ that one or the third pic (Chi with the parasol).

    • August 12, 2009 7:39 am

      You can use a digital camera to scan an artbook actually.

      • August 12, 2009 4:34 pm

        Well I mean, I have a pretty nice scanner that would do a much better job of scanning the images than my camera, but the images are already on the internet I’m sure, and I just won’t break the binding on a book. I hate it and I just can’t bring myself to do it. xD

  4. MinaMurray permalink
    May 18, 2009 11:55 am

    I got this Tokyopop artbook today (since the German version is out of print). Good to know that there isn’t high-gloss paper before-hand, but since it was quite cheap (14 €), I can live with it, the artwork is still amazing though the smell is not so nice.
    But somehow, the cover layout from my version kinda different oO

    Though it’s only Chi, the changing dresses and themes, her cuteness and CLAMP’s wonderful style never it become boring in any way^^
    From the Chi/Freya pics, I like the one with the two of them lying in one bed and the one with them one a roof (the two double pages) the most. I adore such mirror pics, just like the TRC vol. 23 cover^^

    Yay for CLAMP’s way of fanservice – it’s cute and innocent and sexy in the same time. But well, I’m not the aimed group for fanservice here but I like how CLAMP does it. But they always do great. This is my second artbook by them (after X Infinity <3) and the third will be the German version of the Tsubasa one, coming out in August *___*

    I have to admit that I only own two volumes of chobits, the 1st and the 7th since I lack money and since the art is the best of it, I’ve thought this will be enough at first (until I start my working in the summer, wondering how much earned money I’ll spend on manga then….)

    Greets, Mina

  5. May 18, 2009 1:33 pm

    I think my cover is slightly different too…I didn’t actually scan the cover, I just used the image from amazon.com. xD

    I really like the mirror pics too!! : D I really need to get more CLAMP stuff, since they do that a lot, it seems.

    lol, I’m not exactly the group that’s being targeted for the fanservice either, but I agree, it’s so cute!! :]

    I can’t wait to get the Tsubasa artbook! The English version is coming out in October. I think the only other CLAMP artbooks still in print in English are CLAMP North/South Side…both of which I REALLY want. D: Apparently both the MKR artbooks were out at one point in English, but are both out of print now, so I’m not sure I’ll be able to get them.

    Honestly, I don’t have any of the actual Chobits manga. D: I really need to get it, but there’s so much manga I want to buy and minimum wage totally stinks!!

  6. August 1, 2009 5:23 pm

    lol Chobits is cute….though it’s fustrating since these days Tokyopop is to busy competing against Shojobeat to look at mangas that don’t resemble Frutis basket! XD
    Like there is this manga called “dear” that i practicly ADORE!! It’s one of the best i have ver read nad would be a hit if naybody gave it a chance .The art is beautifull, the storyline is great, most of the male charcters are vewy sexy [i am the number one Subaru fangirl :F], the girs are really cute, the profiles of the charcters are heleriouse, there is definitly some deep passion and emotion int he sotry….SO WHY HASN’T IT BEEN TRANSLATED YET! I REFUSE TO KNOW THAT COCOA FUJIWARA-SENSEI’S HARD WORK WILL NOT BE PAID OFF DX (she left schoola t 15 for god’s sake to go after her dream!). Sorry..i got carried away XD

    • August 1, 2009 10:05 pm

      True, but technically Chobits isn’t a shojo series, it’s a seinen series (that’s the reason for all the vag, lol). :]

    • Fells permalink
      October 8, 2009 7:09 pm

      Don’t worry, I feel the same way about “dear”..

      • October 8, 2009 7:29 pm

        I just looked up “dear” and it looks absolutely adorable! The art is sooo cute, and I think it would do well here too. :] If anyone were to get it, it’d probably be someone like Yen who gets more random series, unlike say Viz who gets basically all Shueisha works or Del Rey who gets like all Kodansha works.

Trackbacks

  1. Chobits [omnibus] Volume 1 « kelakagandy’s ramblings

Leave a Reply

