Skip to content

BEDA Day 9 – WANTED [oneshot]

April 9, 2009

WANTED is Matsuri Hino’s most recent manga (other than the still-running Vampire Knight), and while it seems this manga is semi-unfinished, it works well enough as a one-shot, so that’s how I’ll treat it. :]

WANTED [oneshot]WANTED [oneshot]
by: Matsuri Hino
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat]
summary: In the Mediterranean at end of the 17th century, former songstress Armeria disguises herself as a boy and boards the ship of the pirate Skulls–the man who kidnapped Luce, her first love. Captain Skulls is arrogant, violent, and a skirt chaser! And unfortunately for Armeria, he discovers she’s a woman… (from Viz)

Ramblings:

Honestly, I don’t really like the cover for this…I don’t like all the colors together… :/

First off, it’s completely and utterly obvious who Skulls really is when you read the first little bit of this manga, but that doesn’t really detract from the enjoyment of the series.

And yes, Armeria and Luce/Skulls looks almost exactly like Yuki and Zero, but heck, they’re just enough different that I think I could tell them apart… maybe?? xD

There are some cute little comics included at the beginning/end of most of the chapters, that center around Luce/Skulls, that are very amusing. :3

In the afterword, Hino comments that she’d like to write some more here, but at the moment, she’s caught up in VK. I think I would like to see more to this story, since it ends very open ended…. D:

Aside from all that, it really is a cute story, and the oneshot included is also great (maybe better than WANTED itself?). I’m not sure I’d suggest it to everyone, but if you like Matsuri Hino or are a fan of oneshots, give it a try.

I’m afraid that’s really all I have to say about WANTED…see you tomorrow for my next BEDA post. :]

3 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 9, 2009 2:22 pm

    I liked it better then VK. ^__^ It’s more like her other works. I hope she does something cute again after VK is done.

  2. April 10, 2009 5:26 am

    Ooohh! I’ve always wanted to buy/try this one but when I go to the bookstore, there’s always something that I wanted to buy other than this. *sigh*

    Anyways, the way you said it, I actually wanted to give it a try XD.

  3. April 15, 2009 10:16 am

    @warriorhope: I need to read MeruPuri still, but at the moment, WANTED is my favorite of her works (and then Captive Hearts). Vampire Knight is just getting too long for it’s own good… :/

    @kirapika: lol, I know how that is!! There’s always something else! : D

Leave a Reply

