Skip to content

BEDA Day 10 – Fairy Cube ~Bulk Review~

April 10, 2009

This is a series that I’ve been meaning to blog about for a while, and figured I’d go ahead and do it all at once for a BEDA post. :]

fairycube1fairycube2fairycube3
Fairy Cube volumes 1-3 [all]
by: Kaori Yuki
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat]
summary: Ian used to just see dead people. Now he is one. Trapped inside his own body by the Fairy Cube, Ian must now figure out how to stop the devious spirit Tokage from taking over his life, stealing his girl and ruining any chance he ever has of resurrection. (from Viz)

Ramblings:

Have to get it out there, Kaori Yuki’s art is gorgeous!!!! And I love Ainsel. :]

ok, now on to a better, hopefully less random, review.

If you’re looking for your normal shojo fluff here, run far away, because with Kaori Yuki, it ain’t gonna happen. She’s not a wimp when it comes to things like blood and she shows it a lot. There is a reason this series is rated T+ people, it’s not for little kids.

While I think I’ve pretty well established how much I love the art here, the one thing this series really suffers from is terrible pacing. The first time I read this series (granted I read scans first and then immediatly bought it when Viz published it) I was so utterly confused by the end of the series, I wasn’t quite sure what to do. When I reread it though in actual book form, it was much less confusing and I enjoyed it a lot more. Probably for a multitude of factors, not the least of which is the fact that Viz did a fantastic job as usual.

Kaori Yuki uses a plethora of Enlish and other western fairy tales and traditions as usual, but to only a slight degree of success this time. Like I said earlier, the series really suffers from pacing issues, and to a lot of people I’m sure it would cause them to hate the series.

The characters on the other hand are rather interesting. Ainsel is just adorable, Rin is completely kick-ass, Ian is just interesting, and Tokage is ridiculously evil. They’re a fantastic cast of characters (and I didn’t even mention them all). What Yuki misses with the pacing, she almost completely makes up for in her fantastic characters.

Occasionally, Yuki’s art makes it hard to understand what exactly is going on, especially in the action scenes, but a second (occasionally third) glance almost always fixes any confusion.

I realize I may have made this series sound terrible for those who’ve never read it, but I assure you, it is not all bad. I really adore the series, actually. If you like Kaori Yuki, or the darker side of shojo, definitely give this series a try; it’s only three volumes, and, I think, definitely worth it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 10, 2009 4:11 pm

    Heh. I actually just reread this series this morning.

    I think this series suffered from the same issues as TSK pacing wise. I love Rin and Ainsel though. Her fairies are really pretty though.

  2. April 10, 2009 8:43 pm

    Great minds think alike! xD

  3. April 11, 2009 11:14 am

    Hmm… I wouldn’t compare FC’s pacing with TSK’s pacing… For me, TSK was because of gaping plotholes and neglecting much needed character development for many of characters in favour of ending the series fast. =/ Whereas for me, FC’s pacing problem was more because it was so… Action-packed. Like, ACTION ACTION ACTION REVELATION ACTION ACTION HOMG WHAT THE HELL JUST HAPPENED. It was just very fast paced and crazy, which is rather typical of Kaori Yuki, as oppose to weak character development and plotholes… *remembers Angel Sanctuary* Well, imo anyhow. =D

  4. April 15, 2009 10:14 am

    “ACTION ACTION ACTION REVELATION ACTION ACTION HOMG WHAT THE HELL JUST HAPPENED”

    -ROFL! So true though. xD

    So would you suggest Angel Sanctuary? I read the first chapter, but wasn’t sure about it…and at 18? volumes, I’m not sure I want to get into something that’s not worth it.

Leave a Reply

