Skip to content

BEDA Day 13 – Beauty Pop Volume 10

April 13, 2009

First off, let me tell you that if you haven’t read Beauty Pop, do so. NOW!! It’s a fantastic story, and Viz has done a fantastic job!!

And volume 10 comes with character stickers!!!! : D They’re fantastic too! I don’t think I’ll ever be able to use them though. xD

Beauty Pop volume 10Beauty Pop volume 10
by: Kiyoko Arai
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat]
summary: Although a truly gifted hairstylist, Kiri Koshiba has no interest in using her talent to pursue fame and fortune, unlike the three popular boys in the “Scissors Project” at school. Determined to become the best makeover team in Japan, they give showy makeovers to handpicked girls. As much as Kiri tries to shy away from the Scissors Project spotlight, she finds herself responding to beauty’s call…
It’s time for the final match in the All-Japan Beauty Tournament, but Narumi and Ochiai are increasingly at odds with each other as they fight over Kiri. Can the Scissors Project win under such circumstances? (from Viz)

Ramblings:

ok, first off allow me to freak over the stickers! My favorite ones are the ones with Kiri in a multiple layers of kimono, Kiri as a jester/magician/princess?, and Narumi as a king.  I love them so much I know I’m never going to be able to actually use them though. D:

And the cover. When I first saw the original Japanese version, I had rather mixed feelings… I love that the cover has Narumi and Kiri together, but I really didn’t like it very much… :/ However, once I had my copy in my hands, I completely changed my mind; I really, really like it now! I’m not really sure what it is, but there’s just such a difference between seeing the image on the screen and holding the book in your hands and looking at the cover.

And the back cover with Seiji and Emi!! : D I wish there were some sort of prequel with them as the main characters! Emi’s just so cute~!

I can’t even collect my thoughts, I’m just so excited about this series!!

I think editor Nancy Thistlethwaite says everything I want in the “Team BP’s Favorite Scenes” section at the end of the volume: “I didn’t want this series to end, so I loved that Arai-sensei let us see the characters later in life in this volume. (Narumi x Kiri <3) Narumi is still being teased mercilessly as usual, but he’s very much loved.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 13, 2009 9:11 pm

    The end of the series is so many levels of win. Especially the epic hair cutting scene. Kiri and Narumi’s kids are so cute. The girl acts like him and the boy acts like Kiri.

    “And the back cover with Seiji and Emi!! : D I wish there were some sort of prequel with them as the main characters! Emi’s just so cute~!”

    OMGYES! I want to see how they actually met. I wish they had shown up in the after stories as well. (Imagines them as doting grandparents. Well Emi anyways… )

    I actually have always liked the cover of them together. It’s a great graduation image to use.

  2. April 13, 2009 10:14 pm

    By epic hair cutting scene, I take it you mean the double wizard cut? Because heck, yes it was awesome!!!

    Their kids are just freaking adorable!!! And I love the picture you can kind of see of Kiri and Narumi when they’re older (it’s on the shelf with all those random pictures in Koshiba Beauty Salon).

    I know! They would totally be doting grandparents! There is a tiny little pic of them with the twins, but it’s not enough!!

Leave a Reply

