Skip to content

BEDA Day 19 – Cherry Blossom Festival

April 19, 2009

So, some of you know from Twitter, but yesterday my town had a Cherry Blossom Festival! : D I went with some friends and of course took lots and lots of pictures! I would have posted them last night, but I hung out with said friends until like 11, and I’m lame and go to bed early. :3

And just a warning…it’s wasn’t so much a Cherry Blossom Festival as it was an Asian Festival…which is still alright I guess, but no flower viewing for me. D:

p1020161
This is what my tweet was about the other day… D: Para Para is not to be done in public places like that! D:

But fear not! Not all my pictures are of crazy white people!! ( just most of them D: )

p1020163
What they were doing, I don’t remember (nor do I care), but they of course look ridiculous. And that girl in the middle is psycho! (I’m not kidding, I was in some group with her last year, and she’s seriously psychotic!)

p1020169
LOOK! A real Asian!!! next to another white girl… :/ But the lady’s flower arrangement was really pretty and nice and traditional! : D

p1020171
Yeah….this is apparently one of the Japanese professors at UK. Whenever they were changing acts, he like pranced out very strangely with his little gong. I have to give him props for enthusiasm!

p1020172
Some old man (I didn’t catch who he was) doing Tai Chi. I think it looks more like he’s throwing something at someone here…

p1020176
Me and my crazy gay bff Erik! : D Yes, I’m completely aware that my aviators look ridiculous, but they’re bright blue, and they were $5 at WalMart. xD

p1020177
Apparently it’s necessary to take half you clothes off during Japanese archery??? :/

p1020178
Yeah…some lady had her kid on a leash. D:

p1020188
The not-quite-finished Tea House at the garden. They were having tea ceremonies all day. I didn’t get to do one, since there was a bee (what? outside, you must be kidding? … :/ ) and apparently Erik is allergic. :/

p1020204
This freaking awesome old lady was part of the Taiko group. They called her Granny Gong! : D

p1020207
This crazy old lady was really getting into the Taiko tutorial…a little too much…

p1020211
CUTEST LITTLE TAIWANESE KID EVER!!!!

p1020215
Adorable little kid can do martial arts! : D

p1020216
More martial arts from adorable little children! ( I know, I’m a creeper xD )

p1020222
We thought this giant dog was a polar bear from across the pond… xD

p1020229
Other than the Taiko, my favorite thing of the day was this lady playing her koto. She was absolutely fantastic!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 4:45 pm

    Aww, no flower viewing? :( That’s sad…oh well, save up enough money to go to Japan for the real cherry blossoms. lol xD

    It looks like a lot of fun, though, even with all the crazy weeaboos and what not (was that what you were referring to yesterday?).

    Wah, I would’ve like to talk with Granny Gong. lol She looks cool.
    & little kids doing martial arts are the cutest~! x3

    Hmm, I dunno why but everytime I see a lady dressed up in a kimono while playing the koto, I can’t help but think they’re so refined and above everyone. (feels unworthy is what I’m saying, lol) xD;

  2. April 20, 2009 10:02 pm

    Saving up? A fantastic idea! : D But me putting it into action…that may not happen… xD

    that was exactly what I was refering too! : D And yeah…it was a lot of fun, even with all the crazy white people.

    I completely agree!! She just looked so refined and elegant (ok, basically the same word, but whatever). I took like a million pictures of her, more than maybe of Granny Gong and the little kid. xD

  3. April 22, 2009 5:45 pm

    Lmao clicked the link from your comment, what the hell half the trees are bare!! At least we actually have trees in bloom, which is why it’s in May instead of April

    • April 22, 2009 5:51 pm

      Yeah…not really sure what they were thinking; It was not a good time to have it. At least it was nice outside?

  4. April 23, 2009 9:51 pm

    Family Day I assume.. but gotta say. The guy who was half naked for the archery thing, probably tho it would be a good posturing for everyone who looked over and saw him shooting the arrow? Wouldn’t you say?

Leave a Reply

