Skip to content

BEDA Day 23 – An uncommon anime post

April 23, 2009

mercurycomputer
Sailor Mercury is blogging! ok, not really, but since she has a computer, let’s pretend? :]

I’m unfortunately running low on funds at the moment (thanks to Spring Break and hanging out like every day), so I haven’t bought manga in a while, so I’m running out of things to talk about. xD So, for once I’m actually going to post about the anime I’m watching. (please don’t judge me based on how many shows I’ve picked up for the Spring season…I’m on Spring Break, and that’s the only reason I’m caught up! xD )

07-ghost
07-Ghost
I’m not usually one for shows with tons of seemingly intentional shonen-ai/BL undertones, but I can’t seem to not watch this show. It’s one of the better ones this season!

asuracryin
Asura Cryin’
I still can’t quite figure out what’s going on in this show…but I figure it’s only 13 episodes, I’ve dealt with crappier 13-episode series before, I can certainly manage this one.

basquash
Basquash!
I really like this one so far. It’s really interesting how they mixed basketball and mechas. : D Although in episode 3, it was getting a little bit too pervy…

edenoftheeast
Eden of the East
This was one of my most-looked forward to shows of the season! And it sure didn’t disappoint! I love Akira and Saki (especially together :3 ). I’d say this, FMA, and 07-Ghost are my 3 favorites of the season.

fmabrotherhood
FMA: Brotherhood
Love! xD I really liked the original series, but since this one is following the manga more closely (and I am loving the most recent chapters), I’m super excited!! Plus the animation’s top-notch!!

hanasakeruseishounen
Hanasakeru Seishounen
I really am not seeing how Kajika keeps being described as a beautiful girl…but I adore Li Ren, so I’m definitely going to keep up with this one. :]

hatsukoilimited
Hatsukoi Limited
Apart from all the fanservice, I’m having a hard time believing this is shonen; it’s pretty much character driven and it’s about falling in love… I wasn’t really too interested in it, until I saw m33w’s post about it on their site, but I decided to check it out, and I’m really glad I did! I suggest it to pretty much anyone.

kon
K-ON!
I really do like K-ON!, but I don’t think I have a favorite character…I know I might get shot for that, but I really don’t prefer any one of the girls over the others. I like them all.

natsunoarashi
Natsu no Arashi!
This show is downright confusing…I’m honestly not sure why I’m still watching it…The second episode would have been a much better first episode than the first episode was, and I just am not really liking it too much…

pandorahearts
Pandora Hearts
I know a lot of people have dropped this, despite it being one of the most anticipated series of the season, but since I haven’t read the manga yet (I’m going to wait for Yen Press’s release), I’m enjoying it just fine; although I keep thinking, “Kuroshitsuji?!??!”

saki
Saki
Is this show really not yuri? Cuz it has some series undertones… I don’t have the slightest clue how to play mahjong with more than one person, so I have no complaints about them playing wrongly, as I’ve heard. But I can see how people would be insulted that they felt the need to make it more interesting with all the special effects/etc. cuz it’s even a little bit much for me.

shangri-la
Shangri-La
Again, I know a lot of people dislike this one, but I’m actually enjoying it so far. Momoko is absolutely fantastic! : D

polyphonicacrimsons
Shinkyoukai Soukai Polyphonica Crimson S
Most people have completely skipped over this series, but I love it. :3 I marathoned the first season about a month ago, so I’d be caught up (even though Crimson S is actually a prequel). Corti and Phoron are just fantastic (again, even more fantastic together). I love that they made anther season to this series, but I prefered the character designs of the first season…

tayutama
Tayutama -Kiss on my Deity-
I am enjoying this show waaay to much for my own good. xD It’s kind of like Akikan! was for me. I know it’s not very good, a piece of crap for the most part, but I can’t stop watching. xD

tearstotiara
Tears to Tiara
This show is just getting better and better! I really wish the game weren’t just in Japan, cuz I’d definitely play it if I could. The non-eroge version, that is. Oh, and Morgan needs to put on some damn pants right now.

valkryiachronicles
Valkryia Chronicles
Alicia is just love. :3 And so is Welkin. They’re just so fantastic. I originally was just going to skip over this series, but after seeing everyone’s posts about it, I just had to try it out!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 23, 2009 6:14 pm

    I agree with the three faves. ^___^

    Alicia=adorableness. I wish I could play the game. -__-

    Momoko. ^___^ The first non-trap crossdresser I’ve seen in anime since Tokyo Godfathers

    Asura Cryin’. (SHRUGS) I sat through, 10 episodes of frigging white album. I can sit through this.

    K-ON! Nautrallity (high fives). I’m really leaning towards liking Ui best though.

    I like Li Ren too! Here’s to earnst bodygaurds.

  2. April 23, 2009 6:43 pm

    “I sat through, 10 episodes of frigging white album. I can sit through this.”
    ahahaha. I couldn’t even get through the first episode. xD

    If I had a PS3 I would absolutely get Valkryia Chronicles, even though I suck at video games. xD

    I read in a common on someone’s blog one time that Kajika does end up with Li Ren, but I haven’t been able to find anywhere else to back that up…I hope it’s true though. Eugene’s annoying as hell. :/

  3. warriorhope permalink
    April 23, 2009 7:00 pm

    Good for you. It was such a waste of time. I wish I had watched Munto instead.

    My parents are kind of against video games so…The cut scenes are good though, if you can stand dubs.

    My shojo senses point to Li Ren since he’s the first boy and he gets to hug her the most. ^___^

  4. April 23, 2009 9:25 pm

    I got drawn into K-ON becoz of the hypes about it … and the arts. Loved the ED.
    Shangri-la’s got me interested becoz of it’s interesting ep1.

  5. April 24, 2009 10:03 am

    Whoa, I just noticed there are a lot of tags. xD;

    Yay~! I’m glad you’re enjoying 07-Ghost and Pandora Hearts as well! Those are the only two shows I’m keeping up with this season. The others look okay but nah, not to my taste.

    Lol And seems like a lot of people are thinking Kuroshitsuji when it comes to PH.

    AHHH~ Yen Press’s release seems so far away. T_T

  6. April 24, 2009 11:16 pm

    @warriorhope: Munto was definitely worth it imo. Though now there’s the movie to wait for. D:

    That’s what my shojo senses are telling me too. :]

    @Legionarion Conquistadorz: That’s pretty much why I got into K-ON!. And the ED is most definitely win! : D

    @XiaoJie: I went a little overboard on the tags. And watching anime in general… xD

    Kuroshitsuji and PH are just so similar. I mean, they’re really different too, but… Since PH started like right after Kuroshitsuji ended, it makes the similarities all the more noticable.

    Yen Press is putting it in their magazine starting in the June issue! : D I don’t know if you’d want to get in to that, since it’s $8.99, but it’s an option. But yeah, the first volume doesn’t come out until December! D:

  7. April 25, 2009 12:06 am

    “I know a lot of people have dropped this, despite it being one of the most anticipated series of the season, but since I haven’t read the manga yet (I’m going to wait for Yen Press’s release), I’m enjoying it just fine; although I keep thinking, “Kuroshitsuji?!??!””

    My thoughts exactly. XD I’m also waiting for Yen Press to release this but since I got interested in it, I’m thinking of reading the manga online.

    And, yeah after rewatching Tears to Tiara, I’ve realised my mistake of taking it for granted because, despite the things that I hate that this show has, it’s actually good. :3

  8. April 26, 2009 7:35 pm

    xD Great minds think alike??

    Agreed; Tears to Tiara is one I’m glad I actually gave a chance~ :]

Leave a Reply

