Skip to content

Arisa by Natsumi Ando – BEDA Day 28

April 28, 2009

arisaI recently read the 4th chapter of Natsumi Ando’s (Kitchen Princess and Zodiac PI) most recent work, Arisa. Seriously, this manga just keeps confusing the hell out of me. :/ But then it really is good.

Basic story, Tsubasa (the blonde on the cover) and Arisa (the brunette/redhead?) are twins, but their parents split up when the twins were little, Tsubasa going with their dad, Arisa with their mom. They’ve only conversed through letters since then and have recently decided to meet up. At the end of the day, Arisa suggests that Tsubasa wear a wig and attend her school as her (since they are twins). Tsubasa has tons of fun, but when she gets home, Arisa intentionally falls out a window and from then on is in a coma. Tsubasa wants to find out why her beloved twin would do such a thing and so continues to go to Arisa’s school to figure out what happened.

At just the end of the third chapter, I though I had things all figured out, but then I just became even more confused with the 4th chapter. And then it took me back in a loop. D: I seriously am not sure what is going on/who the antagonist is exactly. But that actually intrigues me, since I like when things are unpredictable. Really, it could just be that I’m terrible at guessing what is going to happen, and it’s actually predictable to other people, but I don’t mind if that’s really the case. xD

Though it’s kind of confusing, I would definitely suggest this to anyone who likes shojo (or maybe just Natsumi Ando?).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2009 5:17 am

    Ooh! Lovely cover♥ Can I grab it? :3
    (has forgotten about when the cover will be shown XD)

    I know right? At first you think you’ve figured out who’s who and what’s what then this chapter enters and proves you wrong. I love how the mystery and the suspense of figuring it out is put up in this series. If not for the lack of romance in this series, I’d say that this is actually Natsumi Ando’s best up-to-date manga. Of course not including Kitchen Princess because the plot doesn’t really belong to her

    That reminds me, I haven’t done my ramblings on this fourth chapter XD

  2. April 29, 2009 8:28 am

    Go for it!!! (there’s a bigger version if you click on it) : D All I did was screen cap it from the Nakayoshi site. xD

    I haven’t read any of her other works (I keep meaning too, but there’s so much else to read D: ), so I couldn’t really compare it. But you say it’s better? : D

    Yeah…the lack of actual romance is sad. D: I think Tsubasa’s probably going to end up with her crazy friend. Or maybe Manabe (I just can not tell if that boy is a friend or a foe…).

    • Rin permalink
      May 31, 2009 1:33 pm

      I want her to end up with Manabe. If the plot changes and makes me want her to end up with her friend, Andou should at least draw him with a better hair stlye. That’s the only thing that’s keeping me from wanting her to be with him. But right now I want her to be with Manabe.

  3. warriorhope permalink
    April 29, 2009 1:04 pm

    I love the drama in this series. I haven’t really read good Shojo suspense lately so it’s nice. Tsubasa is also awesome in and of her self.

  4. April 29, 2009 1:52 pm

    It really is full of drama! But it’s really well done drama/suspense, which makes it really nice.

    Tsubasa is a fantastic heroine, she really loves her sister, she’s really not very ditzy, and she tends to have some sort of common sense.

Leave a Reply

