Skip to content

Shojo News! :D – BEDA Day 29

April 29, 2009

otomen

According to Sugarplum (which I suggest for Shojo News), there are two bits of new exciting shojo news! : D

I’ll start with the less important news, since it has to do with the image. :] At the moment this is only a rumor, but Aya Kanno’s Otomen is going to get an anime adaptation!! Apparently, there is a special announcement for fans of the series in the May 25th issue of Betsuhana, and many fans are assuming that it’s an anime adaptation.

The second, and more important bit of news, is that Shogakukan is reportedly going to start an English website where all their shojo manga will be posted for free in English the same time as the magazine comes out in Japanese! However, this is apparently only for America and Japan (not sure about Canada, sorry). Shojo magazines Shogakukan put out are: Betsucomi, Cheese!, ChuChu, Ciao, Pochette, and Shojo Comic. I’m not sure when this will be posted, but I’ll let you know as soon as I can find out!!

I’m curious to see how they’ll do this with manga they’ve already licensed to Viz (I think right now, Viz is the only one who has licenses on their manga), like Honey Hunt, etc. But I’m super excited, because the new Kiyoko Arai work is running in ChuChu! xD

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Tsuki-no-Hikari permalink
    April 29, 2009 4:18 pm

    Yay~ I can’t wait to see the anime adaption of Otomen. I tried to read the manga, but there were so many other manga that I had to give priority too so Otomen was sort of like in mid-air for me. But if it gets animated, I’ll definitely give it a try again. ^_^

    And triple (double isn’t good enough XD) yay for the English website. It’s too bad that Ribon isn’t one of the magazines listed though. T_T How does it work? Like is it going to have manga chapters in the English version so that people can read online, or will it be previews?

  2. warriorhope permalink
    April 29, 2009 5:44 pm

    this awesome sause on the awesome cakes of awesome!\

    “Kiyoko Arai work is running in ChuChu!”

    as is this. I wonder what the new series is like?

  3. April 29, 2009 5:57 pm

    @Tsuki-no-Hikari: I’ve just been keeping up with the English releases of Otomen (so only volume 1), but I love it so much. : D I really hope an anime is the big announcement!!

    That’s cuz Ribon is a mag published by Shueisha and not Kodansha. ;]

    But I’m not entirely sure how it will work. It looks like it will be a place for us to read the manga online legally, but I’m not sure of the logistics yet. I’ll let you know when I find out more! : D

    @warriorhope: : D

    I’m not sure, but from what I’ve seen, the main character is completely different from Kiri, which is awesome (I love Kiri, but I don’t always like when mangaka always have the exact same character).

  4. warriorhope permalink
    April 29, 2009 9:06 pm

    Nods. Does that mean she’s a girl girly/expressive?

  5. April 29, 2009 9:46 pm

    More expressive definitely, and apparently she’s obsessed with money over boys. xD

    And while one of the guys looks similar to Narumi, all the other characters I’ve seen so far look completely different from any of the characters in Beauty Pop.

  6. April 30, 2009 4:16 am

    WTH? Only America and Japan? *cries buckets* Arrgghh. *fangirl rageee*

    Oooh~ Otomen, an anime adaptation? Wow, I’d hear more about that. I hope it ain’t just a rumour because if it is, I’ll be saaaaaad. It’s a great series, I wonder what’ll happen if this actually gets and adaptation xD

  7. April 30, 2009 2:43 pm

    I’m sure someone will be ganking the images and putting them on someplace like onemanga/mangafox/etc.

    I’ll be super sad if it’s just a rumor too! D: It really is a great series. I’ll absolutely watch it if it is animated!!

  8. May 1, 2009 4:18 am

    Hopes that what you say will come true ;D

    I know right? They should go with the idea of making in an anime because it’s good. :O

Trackbacks

  1. Otomen Live Action « kelakagandy’s ramblings

Leave a Reply

