Skip to content

Birthday Swag

May 11, 2009

misufoMAL
Completely unrelated image is completely unrelated; I just got bored last night. :]

If you don’t follow me on Twitter, then you probably didn’t know, but today is my 19th birthday! : D

Since I’m already 19 (and my parents are paying for me to go to China next month), I didn’t get a ton of stuff for my birthday, but that’s ok, I’ll just buy a ton of manga stuff when I stop in the Tokyo airport on my way to China next month. xD But seriously, the only thing I got even sort of anime/manga related for my birthday was a game for my DS. But more on that after the cut. :]

princessdebut
I suggested this to my parents, since I saw a review of  it over at Shojo Flash. It’s a romance game for girls, where you’re a normal girl who switches places with a princess in an alternate dimension. You have 30 days to learn how to dance like a pro so you can go to a ball. On the way you have to find a partner and make your love factor 100%. All you really have to do it follow a dot of the touchpad with your stylus to make your player dance the right way; it’s really easy (seriously, I suck at video games and I’m doing fantastic in this). It seems really silly (and honestly it is), but it’s super addicting. I played it for about 2 and a half hours straight last night. If you have a DS and some cash to spare, I suggest it. Oh, and apparently the cover art is by a Nakayoshi artist. : D

bloodhound
I am a total sucker for anything Tamora Pierce! xD I haven’t had the chance to start this yet, but since I loved the first one, I know I’m going to love it just as much. But holy crap, I didn’t realize it was as long as it is! (not that that’s really a problem, I read super fast normally)

secretlife
I’m a total sucker for this show. I know most of the acting is super shitty, and it’s completely ridiculous, but I love it so much. And I haven’t seen any of the first season so this is awesome! I just started watching it with the second season/second half of the first season? what it’s called varies for some reason…

deardiary
Most of (if not all of) you have probably never heard of FM Static, since they’re a small pop-punk Christian band (I know, I know, it seems weird that I’d be listening to them right? What with my foul mouth…), but they’re really, really good! And this album does not dissapoint, unlike their second album, which I really didn’t like very much at all… There are only 10 songs on “Dear Diary,” but they’re all pretty darn good. There are one or two that I don’t really like as much, but overall a very good album, that sounds more like their first album, “What Are You Waiting For?” than their sophmore release, “Critically Ashamed.”

icarly
Yet another of my guilty pleasures. :3 My best friend here at school, Erika, absolutely loves this series on Nick (she writes some pretty good fanfiction, and I’m not just saying that cuz she’s my friend, it’s REALLY good), and she got me into it by always having Nick on when I’m in her room (which is like ALL the time, hence the reason we’re going to be roommates next year). She’s also the reason that I love the Seddie (Sam/Freddie) pairing; it’s just plain adorable, even if they are fighting all the time. xD And Nathan Kress is hot (well, not really in the first season…but in the second season, he is hot. And yes, I realize I’m 3 years older than him. xD ). Anyway, Erika bought me the second half of the first season of iCarly for my birthday!!! : D She said she was going to get me the first half, but Nathan Kress looked hotter on the cover of this one (and he does). :3

Oh, and check out the completely inappropriate iCarly icon I made for Erika:
nickblowjob
Feel free to use it is you want, it should be good for LJ at least. :]

8 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    May 11, 2009 3:43 pm

    Happy birthday!

    Looks cool especially item two. (I really, really want to read it. Princess Debut looks good too).

    I want to watch iCarly now, since it doesn’t seem as stupid as most life action tv shows for preteens in the USA.

    • May 11, 2009 4:55 pm

      It really is a whole lot better than other pre-teen shows in America, but I sugges not starting from the beginning, cuz the first episode is definitely not the best one, and they all pretty much stand alone. :]

  2. warriorhope permalink
    May 11, 2009 5:09 pm

    Ah I see. (my favorite preteen live action show is still H20~just add water. Magical girl mermaids and hot nerd boys ftw~)

    Hope the rest of your birthday is nice.

  3. May 11, 2009 5:23 pm

    Happy Birthday again~! <3333

    Uwaaah, you get to go to China as a birthday present, too. Haha, awesome. Oh yea, and just one more tip (cuz I’m super paranoid about sanitation there but they’re improving at least!). Be careful of what you eat. Seriously, my family all had duck we brought back down from a memorial mountain (yes, we eat at cemeteries) and I was the only one to get sick cuz it wasn’t properly refridgerated or something. Food poisoned on my birthday, too.*sigh* But yea, even if it’s vendor food, just be careful. o.O;

    lol I sound like a worrying hen. xD;

    Anyways…ooo! I played that game before. My friend had it and lent it to me while she was in class. It’s pretty fun and the bishounen harem and all the weird outfits she got to try on made me laugh. I wish the graphics were better, though, but eh, guess you can’t expect too much from a simple game. But it’s still fun. hehe ^^

    And I’m jealous~ I want to get season DVDs, too. *pout*

    But yep, otanjoubi omedetou gozaimasu! Hope you have a wonderful year ahead of you. ^^

  4. May 11, 2009 5:31 pm

    happy birthday~~ =D

  5. May 11, 2009 5:42 pm

    @XiaoJie: Thanks again!! : D

    Ooh…yeah, my dad was talking about fried crickets and I was like, I don’t think so. I’m probably going to be eating a lot of noodles. They tend to be fairly safe…

    Yeah…when they dance, the dresses are always between the guys legs, and not in a natural way…at all. :/ But like you said, it’s not like a big name game, and the graphics could really be a whole lot worse.

    Honestly, I really wanted Clannad (since I haven’t watched it yet, and it seems fantastic) over Secret Life, but I do love me some Secret Life. :] And iCarly.

    @wingstodust: Thanks!! : D

  6. May 12, 2009 5:44 am

    A trip to another country is so much better than most birthday stuff. Lucky~ I’ve never even been off of the East coast…

    Yeah! Bloodhound! Read it and love it! It was so long, but it was totally worth the read, but of course all Tamora Pierce books are. Why is it she’s never disappointed me? (Well, actually Protector of the Small was kind of boring to me, but I totally loved Lady Knight so it’s all good).

    *gasp* Princess Debut. Now that someone I know has it I can get it without being embarrassed. Hahaha. Hopefully I won’t have to wait until my birthday, but if I do it’s the game I’m asking for this year~

    And Happy Birthday again, even though I was only able to comment, you know…after your birthday. ^_^

  7. May 12, 2009 7:23 pm

    : D I’m just tring to knock some more continents off my list of places to go (so far I’ve only been to Europe and North America).

    Protector is my favorite series! xD (honestly, I think it was because I relate the most to Kel, and not just because she has the same nick-name as me xD )

    I feel all silly telling my friends about it, but I love it a lot.

    Thanks! :] And it’s all good, you got it on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

