Skip to content

Super Depression

May 19, 2009

SB Collage
crappy collage put together by me

UPDATE: ANN has a new article with a statement from Viz, that the magazine is indeed done after the July issue. D: All subscribers will get a free issue of August’s Shonen Jump with info about subscription/refund options. This will not affect Viz’s Shojo Beat manga imprint, they will still continue to publish manga there.

According to ANN, Shojo Beat is no longer taking subscriptions and will be ending with the July issue!! Personally, I love this magazine, so this is just plain depressing!!!! D: Viz hasn’t said anything about this yet, but it’s looking pretty likely. With the things ANN is saying, and the fact that Viz cancelled the art contest for this year, it’s looking pretty grim for my dear Shojo Beat.

I don’t think this will affect the Shojo Beat manga volumes though, especially since there are already volumes (like the first for Natsume’s Book of Friends), that are solicited for January 2010.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 10:55 pm

    !! Yeah, I missed the last few issues too! ToT But that’s just because I’m uber broke at the moment… Yen+ is pretty easy to find in my local bookstore. =/

    Yeah, Sarasah is my favourite manhwa in Yen+! I didn’t think I’d like it from the first chapter, but then she brought in time travel and reincarnation stuff and mascot-y creatures, and then I was sold. ^^;; Not so much for Maximum Ride, but I really liked the beginning of Nightschool, and I trust the comic creator of Dramacon to take us to interesting places, lulz. =D

    homg, and I loooooove Hiromu Arakawa!! Her art! *huggles* FMA!! Homg, this just reminds me of the fact that one of my favourite authors (Sarah Rees Brennan) got cover lottery and her japanese cover for her translated novel was drawn by HIROMU ARAKAWA HERSELF. Colour me jealous like woah. /end tangent. ^^;

  2. May 24, 2009 8:04 pm

    I would agree on the depressing front…It was the only magazine I religiously bought (well, I used to get NewType, but that’s no more as well)

    And Natsume’s Book of Friends has been licensed by viz? Don’t remember the news, but I’m glad to hear it!

    On the plus side, at least now I can save my money to buy more mangas than magazines

  3. May 24, 2009 9:04 pm

    Yupyup, they annouced it a while ago (don’t really remember); the cover for the English version is out on Amazon, and I’m not sure if it’s on the SB line or not. Not that it really matters, they’re releasing it either way, it would just be weird for a manga that runs in LaLa DX to not be part of the SB line.

    This is a very good point. …Though my parents always bought my subscription for my birthday/Christmas, so I’m not personally saving any money. xD I’m going to try to get them to get a refund for whatever I have left of that and get a subscription to Yen+. :]

Leave a Reply

