Skip to content

07-Ghost Volume 1

June 7, 2009

07-ghost107-Ghost volume 1
by: Yuki Amemiya and Yukino Ichihara
published by: Go! Comi
Story: Teased unmercifully for his past as an orphan and a slave, Teito has only his best friend Mikage to ease his days at the elite Barsburg Academy — and his mastery of the magical art of Zaiphon! But even that will not be enough to save him when he discovers a horrifying secret behind the ruling Empire. Trapped in an ancient battle between a wicked God and the Seven Ghosts and guided by three mysterious priests, Teito discovers a power that could save the world…and shed light on his own mysterious past.

Ramblings:
3 random asides first: holy eff! 07ghost.com is a real website run by Go! Comi for the manga!! And it’s really well done, not like some piece of crap!!! : D
-and-
I did not realize that 07-Ghost ran in a shojo magazine…but I was googling some stuff about it, and apparently it does. Interesting. :]
-and-
Thanks to everyone on twitter who kept mentioning the 07-Ghost manga and finally convinced me to try it (even though I’m not sure they know that ;] ).

Ok, now on to the review/runthrough/whatever you want to call it. :]
I absolutely love that Go! Comi put colored pages in! : D This was the first volume of manga I’ve bought from them, but if all their publications are this well done, I will most definitely be picking up some more series from them in the near future (anyone have any suggestions?). But seriously, other than just the inclusion of color pages (which are on slightly nicer paper than the rest of the volume), the volume was super well-done. I don’t think I caught any typos/misspellings/errors on the part of Go! Comi.

Most of the names were spelled as I’ve seen them around the net (not that many of them are too strange); I think the only name that was really a problem for them was Lazet (which is the “official” English spelling).

I’m not sure which of the duo who is the artist and which one is the writer, but they both have a few minor problems that I noticed… In general, the art is really nice and clean, but when there were action scenes things got kind of confusing for me (saying “kind of” is really actually nice, sometimes I really just had no idea what the hell was going on…). Oh, and there was one place in the first or second chapter where Teito had a foot attached to the wrong leg that was kind of freaking me out. xD I think it was a matter of a weird angle, where apparently the artist was kind of confused too.

And as for the writing, sometimes it’s super fast-paced; and not in a good way. Specifically, the time from when Teito and Mikage are reunited seems to go waaaay too fast for me. You just don’t get quite the sense of friendship that would have been shown better had they had more time together. But that may just be because I saw the anime first and so I’m biased. :3

Not to say that I disliked this volume; on the contrary! I actually really liked the volume, and am super excited to get the next 2 (since they’re already out here in the states). It’s going to be killer waiting on new volumes though after that. Well…maybe not, since I am watching the anime. xD

If you haven’t checked out 07-Ghost yet, what are you waiting for????? Go read it now, sillies!! : D

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2009 8:19 am

    I’m flabbergasted that I’ve only noticed that this was licensed until now… xD

    *Checks out 07ghost.com for the heck of it(and the possibility of seeing bishies of course~ :3)*

    I’m not sure if it’s out in the stores in our country but when I have time.. I’ll try to find it and this will be my no. 1 choice on what to buy. Too bad right now I’m broke XDDD

    This is one of the good manga series that I’m too lazy to read yet when I read it, I just can’t stop x3 I think that reading the first volume alone would really cause some misunderstandings here and there but don’t worry, there’s a reason for that. :D

    Haha, yeah, I was partially lol-ing when I found out that it runs in a shojo magazine xD There’s just mainly not much shojo-y stuff it there. I was considering the fact that the authors just didn’t have any choice but that would be too harsh to say such~ :P

    On the quality side of things, I guess I wouldn’t mind if they use Lazet instead of Razette because it’s still the same person right? I just hope that they’ll stick with the original one.. Also, it’s good that there aren’t noticable mistakes here because that would be such a turn-off, don’t you think? :’D

    • June 19, 2009 5:03 am

      ahahaha. I totally didn’t notice until I was searching for stuff about the series, and randomly noticed it on like Amazon or something; the first 3 volumes are actually already out! I only have the first one. D:

      I know exactly what you mean, it took me a while to sit down and read the volume, but once I did, I couldn’t put it down! It’s great!!

      Yeah, it’s just not very shojo (well other than all the bishies, of course ;] ). But I like that it’s in a shojo magazine, cuz it shows that someone out there acknowledges that girls enjoy action just as much as guys do!!

      I really don’t mind either way on her name, but I know some people get real pissy about name Romanization. :/ It’s obnoxious really, since like you said, it’s still the same person!! And mistakes can most definitely be a turn-off! D:

Leave a Reply

