Skip to content

Otomen Volume 2

June 11, 2009

otomen2Otomen Volume 2
by: Aya Kanno
published by: Viz Media
Story: Asuka’s mother shows up with a surprise announcement–it’s time for Asuka to meet his fiancée! What kind of girl does she have in mind for him? And how will Ryo respond to the match? (from Viz)

Ramblings:
yay! It makes me happy that I get to post about Otomen right now, what with the recent news about the live action. : D

Seriously, Juta remains my favorite character in this series; he’s always messing up, being a goof, being coniving (Love Chick anyone?), a class-a creeper, and just generally being loveable. xD

Ahaha. Asuka looks like a frumpy old man sitting in front of his tv knitting at the beginning of the second chapter. xD It’s adorable!

Hmm. Sometimes I forget that a lot of the world is not Christian (which I know is completely close-minded, and I feel ridiculous for it), but Juta’s line about Christmas not really mattering because “Not like we’re Christians or anything.” really kinda…I dunno…drove the point home again? :/ That was completely inarticulate, and not completely what I meant, but I’m not sure how else to put it…

I really hope the Martha Stewart references weren’t added in/changed from the Japanese (like from some Japanese star to Martha Stewart), because it made me laugh a lot! :]

I really, really like Aya Kanno’s art!! It’s not over the top, everything looks clean, all the characters are completely different from one another, there’s never too much happening in one panel/one page, and it’s just overall fantastic!

Overall, this volume is just as much fun as the first one. Especially the last few chapters, which are the only ones that deal with Asuka’s mother (who looks lovely, and a lot like Asuka).

I don’t understand why this volume was released last month, and yet there’s an ad for the Shojo Beat magazine in the back when they clearly knew the magazine was going to end (and they weren’t taking any new subscriptions at the time). :/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    June 17, 2009 1:11 pm

    “I really hope the Martha Stewart references weren’t added in/changed from the Japanese (like from some Japanese star to Martha Stewart), because it made me laugh a lot! :]”

    I hope so too.

    Juta is winsause. I love all of the trio, but he makes the series.

    • June 19, 2009 5:06 am

      lol, he basically does make the series!! Really, without him Ryo and Asuka would still be at like stage zero on the relationship scale. xD

Leave a Reply

