Skip to content

The Gentlemen’s Alliance † Volume 9

June 15, 2009

This one is probably going to be super short, since it’s 1 in the morning and this is the third post in a row I’ve written. xD

The Gentlemen's Alliance volume 9The Gentlemen’s Alliance † volume 9
by: Arina Tanemura
published by: Viz Media
Story: Learning the truth behind her parentage and the reason she was put up for adoption, Haine reverts to her yanki ways. She rejoins her gang and comes up with a plan to break into the Kamiya mansion to abduct her mother. The only thing standing in her way–the twins! (from Viz)

Ramblings:
This really came out months ago, but I was only able to get it the other day. D:

I think this is one of my favorite parts of the series. I don’t really know what all to say, but Maika and Kazuhito are just so adorable!! :3

As usual, the Viz team did a great job (though I’ve encountered a few people on the web who would vehemently disagree with me)!! Seriously, I love that they don’t suck as much as Tokyopop. xD And most of the time, they really seem to care about the series they’re working on, and it shows when things turn out like this. One of the things that I really enjoy is that Viz left in all the honorifics, which is relatively new for them (though it’s becoming more and more common for them to leave most of them in). And seriously, who doesn’t love a good “Shizumasa-sama”? (I made a friend say it one time, and she was like, “holy crap, that is fun to say!”).

Like I said before, I don’t really have too much to say about this volume, but I should be home in a few days (the 17th), and I should have lots of goodies from my trip to share, so I’ll make a post ASAP. : D See you then!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 4:35 pm

    I only skimmed through this volume when I got the chance but I agree that ViZ deserves the credit for translating it good. At least they do a hell of lot better job than TokyoPop and Del Ray can (I so loathe Del Ray right now -_-#).
    I’m glad that they’re using the Japanese suffixes and terms more often. Cuz there are some things even in English translation that just won’t fit, y’know? It just sounds better in the original language…or, er, romaji, heh. And who is ever opposed to translation notes, hmm? :3

    • June 19, 2009 5:04 am

      Any particular reason for the loathing of Del Rey? (to be honest, I love them! xD )

      I completely agree, sometimes things just don’t make sense if you try to translate and then edit things out. :/

  2. warriorhope permalink
    June 17, 2009 1:08 pm

    Viz does better with some series then others. SDC usually gets a better tranlation job then say Skip Beat. I liked the past part too.

    • June 19, 2009 5:05 am

      I don’t read Skip Beat!, but I read tons of other Viz series, so I’m going to have to agree with you. I think it depends almost completely on the translator and the editor working on each series, since they have quite a few.

  3. Rin permalink
    June 18, 2009 7:16 pm

    I’m not really familiar with the different companies that translate the manga sold in America since I usually read it online, but I will admit that stuff that has been licensed by them is not removed from manga websites nor have the scanalations been stopped(actually, I’m not sure about that). Anyway, I hate Del Ray and Tokyo Pop right now, not because of the bad Romaji translations(cause I saw some awful Romaji translations in Mermaid Melody), but because they license all of the good manga out there, making us(me) with not enough money buy the mangas instead of reading them online. I like my online manga.

    • June 19, 2009 5:10 am

      I do understand a lack of financial backing (especially in times like these), and I have to admit to reading scans online, but I am going to have to disagree with your thoughts on being mad at the companies who do their best to bring us nice legal versions of the manga we all love so much.
      Like I said, I do read manga online, but I also buy almost everything I read; everything that I can! Sometimes series aren’t published in English, so I can’t really do much there, and I have to pick and choose most of the series I follow in book form, but I have over 200 volumes of manga, and it makes me extremely happy to know that I am supporting the creators and publishers!! I like supporting the publishers, especially if it means they’ll keep publishing!! I much prefer reading a volume and holding it in my hands to reading something online.

      • Rin permalink
        June 20, 2009 7:18 pm

        Oh wow! 200. That’s quite a bit. And you do have a point there about the companies who ‘do’ give us the translated copies of mangas that we know and love. I do read the volumes, but only at the bookstore/library. I’m cheap.

  4. kamichamaMitsuki permalink
    June 25, 2009 4:56 am

    was there somthing wrong with tokoyo pop’s translation ’cause i have cardcaptor sakura and the translations seem fine

    • June 25, 2009 9:25 pm

      It depends on the work and the time when they did it; their earliest releases were really bad, and their most current ones are getting to be just as bad (though they’re still not quite as bad). The works they did in the middle (like CCS) tended to be ok.

Leave a Reply

