Skip to content

A moment of frustrastion with Del Rey manga

July 9, 2009

I just bought volume 6 of the official English release of Shugo Chara! (yeah, yeah, I know it came out months ago), and I have to say Del Rey kind of sucked it up this time. :[
Normally I don’t complain, but seriously, “Black LINKS”??? That doesn’t even make any sense!! He’s a cat for Pete’s sake, it’s LYNX!!!! D: gah!

I’ll try and review the whole volume once I get over my fangirl!RAEG.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 10:45 pm

    Now you know why I hate them. -_-#

    & I’ve completely given up on buying the English versions now. They didn’t just mess up “Black Lynx”. The way Utau’s words were handled totally twisted the meaning of what they’re suppose to be. *frustrated sigh*

    • July 10, 2009 3:16 pm

      Up until now, I’ve been extremely happy with Del Rey’s work, and it makes me extremely mad to see something so extraordinarily stupid happen all of a sudden. D:< It's stupid things like this that make me hate Tokyopop, and it makes me upset that I have to compare Del Rey to Tokyopop. :[

  2. Rin permalink
    July 10, 2009 2:12 pm

    I heard about that. This is why I don’t like those official translations. I also saw that Utau’s ‘Dream Trident’ got turned into ‘Lilith Trident’ or something along those lines.

    • July 10, 2009 3:16 pm

      I don’t remember that exactly, but it really was a bad official translation overall. :[

  3. July 11, 2009 4:41 am

    How AWFUL. T__T

    *slaps DelRey a thousand times*

  4. Mina Murray permalink
    July 11, 2009 7:11 am

    Tse, girls, don’t brag about every spelling mistake. Not good for the heart. Re-read the scanlation, know how it sounds better and use Tipp-Ex. Or send the publisher a mail about the mistakes. But please stop the awful hating!

    There’s no point in hating the publishers who offer you to read the volumes officially and with a quite correct translation. No scanlation can be perfect as they’re done rushed. And it won’t help anyone if you don’t buy the volumes at all! That’s really disgustable as long as you can afford to buy the releases.

    Nevertheless, a few spelling/translation mistakes in one series don’t judge the whole publisher. I was very displeased with my country’s translation of Shinkuro, but the publisher has so many other good manga with better translations that I would never be able to hate it.

    But yeah. “Links”. How did they get that idea? >___< "Lynx" is an english word while "links" makes no sense there at all. I can only believe it is really just a spelling mistake…

    Regards, Mina

    • July 11, 2009 11:04 am

      Oh, don’t get me wrong, I’ll most definitely still buy the rest of the official translations!!! : D (it irks me too when people say they’re not going to buy the official ones just because they don’t approve of the translations). It’s just kind of annoying that I’m paying $10 for every volumes and this one is rife with silly errors/typos. :[

      I guess my entry came off the wrong way, and I really didn’t intend to make it sound like I completely hate Del Rey, it was just this one instance. Almost every other thing about Del Rey I love, especially that they’re (sort of) working on their light novel line! : D

  5. Laura permalink
    July 11, 2009 10:37 am

    There’s something for you on my blog ….

Trackbacks

  1. Shugo Chara! volume 6 « kelakagandy’s ramblings

Leave a Reply

