Skip to content

Fushigi Yûgi [VIZBIG Edition] Volume 2

July 28, 2009

FYVB2Fushigi Yûgi [VIZBIG Edition] Volume 2
by: Yuu Watase
published by: Viz Media
story: An embittered Yui has sworn revenge on Miaka, believing that her best friend had no intention of rescuing her from the Qu-Dong empire. Now Yui has become the Priestess of Seiryu, the enemy of the Hong-Nan empire, and a rival for Tamahome’s affections! Tamahome leaves Miaka to travel to Qu-Dong in an attempt to stop a war between the two territories from breaking out, and Hotohori starts to woo Miaka in his absence. Laden with Hotohori’s gold and a big appetite, Miaka embarks on a journey to find the remaining three Celestial Warriors, who will help her in her quest to save the Hong-Nan empire and return home. But her search leads her into a lair of bandits and to a plague-cursed town where she has to die to survive!

Ramblings:
I really can’t say how much I absolutely LOVE these VIZBIG editions of manga. Especially since, like I said in my review of volume 1, I hadn’t read Fushigi Yugi yet, and was kind of leary of getting into an 18 volume series when the whole thing was already out…VIZBIG however makes it super easy to get the series, since there are only going to be 6 volumes (since they’re 3-in-1), and it’s going to be a hell of a lot cheaper this way too (which is always a plus for a poor college student who just had to order a $200 tv)!! :D The one thing about them that I’ve realized I don’t like (other than the fact that they’re kind of hard to read and could be used a a weapon) is that the color gallery in the back isn’t on nice glossy paper. :[ I’d totally be willing to pay another dollar or two to get those like 10 pages on really nice glossy paper.

But enough on that and on to the actual contents of the series, after the cut. : DOk, so I kind of understand all the people that bitch and moan about how all Miaka ever does is freak over Tamahome (not to mention scream his name). On the other hand, I really can’t blame her. She found someone that she loves (that admitedly seems to have grown out of nothing fairly quickly) in a time and place that isn’t her own and that she knows to be very violent, so it’s not like she doesn’t have a reason to freak out about him leaving her…

I’m not going to lie though, one of the characters is really starting to bother me. Hotohori is just grating on my nerves. :/ I’m not entirely sure why, but it probably has something to do with the fact that he keeps hitting on Miaka, even when he knows she’s in love with Tamahome… I know he’s going it because he loves her too, but it’s just driving me nuts.

Yui is also kind of pissing me off. I’m not really sure why she thinks she can blame Miaka for the fact that she was raped and then tried to kill herself.  Uh, she wasn’t there and there’s no way she could have known about it. And the whole suicide thing…not a fan. I know people who commit suicide always seem to say they thought there was no other way out, but I really don’t understand that. Add blaming it on Miaka and you have someone who is just a selfish bitch (in my opinion anyway).

On a slightly happier note (lol), I was really surprised at how quickly Miaka was able to gather the constellations, since I knew the series was 18 volumes and I’m only a third of the way done. And then of course, something went wrong and now they have to go about the ceremony to summon Suzaku another way. lmao. Why am I not surprised? xD I don’t mind though, really, since now I’m really curious as to how Watase pulls off making this series so long.

I can’t wait to get the next volume, and it comes out in September which is almost next month!! Man I sure took a long time to get this volume, didn’t I? xD But anyway. Like I said on my review of volume 1, if you didn’t get into Fushigi Yûgi when Viz first published it, go for the VIZBIG edition right now!! : D You will not regret it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    July 28, 2009 2:29 pm

    “Add blaming it on Miaka and you have someone who is just a selfish bitch (in my opinion anyway).”

    Yeah, I pretty much felt the same way about Yui. She chose not to believe in her best friend because of some random guy she just met. -___-

    lol. Yeah. I read that that Watasne was kind of forced to add romance into the orignal FY which is why it sort of sucks ass. Shojo comics when will they learn.

    • July 28, 2009 9:15 pm

      “She chose not to believe in her best friend because of some random guy she just met”
      Exactly. Who does that?

      “I read that that Watasne was kind of forced to add romance into the orignal FY which is why it sort of sucks ass”
      I guess that makes more sense then. Though almost every other series I’ve read from her has more believable romance. Maybe it’s just cuz it’s an earlier work and she hadn’t really perfected things yet…

  2. August 8, 2009 3:14 pm

    Watase needs to take some lessons on how to do romance and main characters right……..FROM ARINA-SENSEI!!

    Miaka’s such a loser. XD

    In the anime, anyway….but it bugs me how damn helpless, gulliable, stupid, and gluttonus she is….every bad shoujo cliche in ONE girl….how is THAT a good idea? XD

    Regardless……FY’s story is good….and the comedy is very comedic and the suspense is very suspenseful….I do need to finish reading it.
    The anime got so stupid after a while….=____=

Leave a Reply

