Skip to content

St. ♥ Dragon Girl volume 3

August 17, 2009

sdg3St. ♥ Dragon Girl volume 3
by: Natsumi Matsumoto
published by: Viz Media
story: Momoka and Shuran befriend the spirit of a young boy who can’t remember who he is or how he died. The girls try to help, but Ryuga wants to banish him immediately–especially after he learns the boy took possession of Momoka’s body! (from Viz)

Ramblings: I think this volume is hands down my favorite of the series so far. : D First off, look at the gorgeous cover! xD I don’t normally like yellow very much, but I freaking love it here! I would absolutely love to cosplay Momoka in this outfit! It would be freaking hard (and I’m quite sure no one would know who I was), but totally worth it. Not to mention there is a particular kiss scene in here that makes me squeal. :3 I love all the pandas too! : D

One of the things that made this volume a little bit more special for me too was the fact that they  (Spoiler Alert) went to Hong Kong, and the whole time I was reading it, I was like, “omg I was just there!!!” xD

Something I always have to laugh at it the obvious difference in…I guess you could say “morals” (but that’s not exactly the word I’m looking for) between the US and Japan, since this series ran in Ribon magazine which is supposed to be for like 9-13-year old girls, but in America this volume has a “T” rating. I totally understand why it’s rated that, I mean more than once in this volume Momoka ends up in just her bra in front of different guys. xD I don’t know, I just think it’s funny how obviously different the two cultures are, especially when it comes to what is appropriate for kids.

If you read the first 2 volumes and were a little off-put by the seemingly formulaic pattern to the stories, you might just like this volume a little bit better, since this is where the series first became a regular serial and not just something that came out once every so often. It is still kind of formulaic, but it gets so much better, and I’m really optimistic that it will just get better from here. (side note: I always feel like I don’t really talk about the actual story in the volume, but I really don’t like giving too many spoilers, so I try to avoid it as much as possible. :] )

I really liked the cute little short stories at the end about how Momoka gets Ron-Ron and about the misadventures of Lin-Lin and Len-Len, especially when in the latter Ryuga says, “I’m sorry. When Momoka acts like that, I can’t resist her” to Momoka’s dad. xD

I think I mentioned it when I talked about the first two volumes, but I love the back covers of these volumes, lol. xD The brocade pattern works perfectly for the series and the way the summary is set in a…well I don’t really know how to describe it, but it looks decidedly Chinese and it’s a circle lmfao. And a silly little thing that I just noticed, on the inside back cover where Viz places their “warning: you’re probably reading the wrong way” things has the same brocade background as the back cover and the same font as is used, which is just a nice touch; Like I said, it’s a silly little thing, but I think it’s nice that they’d take the time to do something like that when they could more easily use the same page for all their releases, but instead they always shake it up and use an image from whatever manga it is (and they added even more detail for at least this volume).

I really love this series, and would suggest it to pretty much anyone, but I guess I could see how some people wouldn’t find it appealing. I can’t wait to get the next volume (which comes out September 1, lmao at my late review)!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

