Skip to content

Shugo Chara! volume 6

August 20, 2009

sc6Shugo Chara! volume 6
by: Peach-Pit
published by: Del Rey
summary: Amu has three Guardian Characters who represent different sides of her ideal self–and a fourth who has gone over to work for the evil Easter Corporation! Amu must now face her renegade character while the Guardians try to foil Easter’s sinister new scheme–all while dealing with a surprise traitor in their midst! (from Del Rey)

Ramblings: ok, first off, I probably need to say that I’m going to do the best I can at reviewing this un-biasedly. There were a few things that really irked me that Del Rey did with this volume, and in my tiny little post I mentioned one of them and kind of pissed off (if not pissed off, at the very least frustrated) some people I think. I tried to put it in the easiest way possible, but it didn’t really work and I apologize for that. I will indeed continue to buy the official Del Rey releases, simply because I feel it’s important to buy the official ones if/when you get the chance. I would switch to getting the Japanese versions, but I have a thing where it drives me crazy to get 2 different version of a series. xD Well that and I’d have to order them (since there is no sort of anime/manga store anywhere near me) and it’s just too expensive most of the time. :[

Ok, so that thing I posted about last time was really one of the things that I liked least about the volume, that being the change of Ikuto’s chara-nari from “Blank Lynx” to “Black Links”. I still hold that it really makes no sense, but this time I’m going to say something constructive and ask everyone to email Del Rey and say something. There’s no reason that we fans shouldn’t say something when we notice that something is wrong. I mean, ok, it’s not that big of a screw-up, but if someone had taken the time to look at it a little more, it probably would have been obvious that since his Chara-nari had to do with cats that “Lynx” would be a better choice. I only ask that if you do email them that you aren’t rude and make a polite argument about what it wrong.

Ok, now that that’s out of the way, I’ll get on to the rest of the volume. One of the first things I noticed about this volume is the fact that the cover is the tiniest bit too small for the pages (or the pages are the tiniest bit too bit for the cover), which I don’t think is Del Rey’s fault, it’s probably the fault of the printer, but is just kind of weird none-the-less.

As for the story, this is the Black Diamond arc, which has been one of my favorite so far. :] I am a little bit sad that they translated Dia’s name as Diamond, but since (as far as I know) “Dia/Daiya” is just the Japanese way of saying “diamond” this one makes sense. And I love Amulet Diamond! Definitely my favorite of Amu’s Chara-nari’s so far (though Amulet Devil’s a close second). : D And the cute Yukari/Nikaidou interaction at the end of the volume :3 That’s one thing that anime fillers have given us, more Nikaidou in general and more Nikaidou/Yukari. :3

I really don’t have too much more to say about this volume, but expect Shugo Chara! soon, since volume 7 comes out September 29, lmao at another late review from me. xD

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rin permalink
    August 20, 2009 2:42 pm

    Well I definently can’t wait for a volume 7 review cause we all know what that means *cough Ikuto in Amu’s bed *cough. I’m going to say that those who read the scanalations are going to be very upset with this particular volume of Shugo Chara in general. Dia= Diamond, Black Lynx= Black Links.

    • August 20, 2009 5:46 pm

      If all goes well with me getting a job at school this year, I should have volume 7 near when it comes out, so sometime late September/early October. ;D

  2. Neko Hannah permalink
    September 3, 2009 4:32 pm

    It comes out September 29th I believe.

    • September 3, 2009 4:58 pm

      oh, lol, I know (I have it in the post). I just meant I’m not sure exactly when I’ll have it (since it comes out at the very end of this month, I don’t want to say I’ll get it by September when it could very likely be next month before I actually buy it). : D
      Sorry for the slight confusion!!

Leave a Reply

