Skip to content

Vampire Knight Volumes 6 and 7

August 27, 2009

VK6VK7
Vampire Knight volumes 6 and 7
by: Matsuri Hino
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat imprint]
Summary: 6 – Yuki sneaks into an exclusive vampire party and sees Aido’s parents introducing their daughter to Kaname. They, like many other Night Class parents, desire an alliance with the pureblood. Kaname is the most eligible bachelor in the vampire society–but will he choose Yuki? 
7 – Yuki debates asking Kaname about her past, suspecting that he may have been the one who erased her childhood memories. Zero confronts Kaname to find out the truth, and the two come to blows over Yuki… (from Viz)
Ramblings: ok…I have to be honest and say 2 things, first I love, love, LOVE Matsuri Hino’s color artwork, it’s just gorgeous. Second, this is the part of the series where I start to hate it. :/

Seriously, I love the cover of volume 6, it’s my favorite that I’ve seen so far (other than maybe volume 10, but I haven’t really seen a very big version of it yet, so I’m undecided). One of the saddest things about volume 6 though (in my opinion at least) is that Hino-sensei claimed to have run out of things to say in the sidebars, so there’s nothing in them D: I love reading the sidebars when I’m reading manga. I mean, I kind of understand, since I’m sure I would run out of things to say too, but it’s still really sad. :[

I don’t really have too much to say about volume 6, other than something along the lines of , “oh hey, I forgot this is where we meet the pureblood, Sara, who’s going to be important.” That, and the short story at the end of the volume is adorable. Aido is so cute as a child.

I think I say this every time, but whenever I see the headmaster with a different scarf, I really want to make say a fan page for him and keep a list of every time he wears a new one. xD

Most of what I have to say about volume 7 has to do with the sidebars (I told you I love them). First, it made me really happy to see the mentions of the VK anime in the sidebars finally. And even more happy, since we now know that Viz has the anime, and while they kinda failed with the Full Moon anime, they seem to be doing fantastic work with both NANA and Honey and Clover so I’m super optimistic.

Second, Hino-sensei mentions the first novel in one of the sidebars and I really, really want to read it (and the second one)! Plus, it was really cool to see how much Hino apparently liked the novel version.

Ok, now about the actual volume 7 contents other than the sidebars…like I said before the cut, this is really the part of the series where I’m just starting to get frustrated with it. It’s just kind of getting out of control. Everything hasn’t gone to hell quite yet (that’s at the beginning of the next volume I’m guessing, since this leaves off right before we find out Yuki’s a vampire), but it’s so close, and it’s just kind of frustrating that things have gotten as…emo as they have. But on the plus side, the extra story was cute and fluffy and full of win.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 3:59 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! :) I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a Reply

