Skip to content

St. ♥ Dragon Girl Volume 4

September 8, 2009

sdg4St. ♥ Dragon Girl volume 4
by: Natsumi Matsumoto
published by: Viz Media
story: Momoka’s dragon takes on the form of a beautiful man and warns Ryuga and Momoka of  dangers facing the Kou family. But the dragon also has something else in mind–he wants Momoka to become his mate! Can Ryuga compete against a dragon for Momoka’s affections? (from the back cover)

Ramblings: To be honest, I didn’t really like the cover of this volume when I first saw it…but it looks about a thousand times better in real life than it does online, for some reason (totally possible that’s just me though). As usual though, the design of the volume is fantastic!
This volume is where the series finally went monthly according to one of the sidebars, and it really shows, especially when the chapters start becoming less episodic and more connected. I loved the series when it was episodic, and it’s even better when there’s a plot some-what holding the chapters together (I say somewhat only because the main plot of the chapters is completed by the end of the volume, so there’s not anything in paticular to go over to the next volume).
I just absolutely adore Momoka, and I just like her more and more as the series goes on. I also enjoyed how in this volume we get more obvious hints that Ryuga likes Momoka too. And a shirtless Ryuga doesn’t hurt either, haha.
All the special side story type things drawn by Matsumoto’s assistants are absolutely hilarious too, they’re a definite plus to the volume. And I love the fan art at the end! If I could draw worth a lick, I would definitely send something in, but I can’t so I’ll just enjoy all the lovely fan art here.
Sad side-note, but this is one of the first Shojo Beat volumes that doesn’t have an ad for the magazine. :[ Even some of the volumes from last month (like Black Bird volume 1) had ads for the magazine, which I thought was kind of odd, but I’m guessing it was simply that the volumes went to the printer before the decision to end the magazine happened.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    September 8, 2009 4:53 pm

    I love this series too. Too bad the 2nd series wasn’t as good. :/

    • September 8, 2009 6:27 pm

      Yeah…what I saw wasn’t near as good, but I still really hope it gets licensed so I can have it in my collection too. xD

      And it makes me even more excited about the YumePati anime (though I have a feeling it’s not going to be subbed D: ).

  2. selenecross permalink
    September 13, 2009 8:06 pm

    I really want to read this volume! but my mom wont take me to barnes and noble!! >:(
    especially because it was running monthly! grrr -sniff- one of my favorite series

    • September 13, 2009 8:26 pm

      Ah, the wonders of being a college student with her own money and a car. xD

      But I do feel your pain, I don’t even know where the closest book store is to my school (it’s a tiny school in the middle of nowhere). D: And it’s definitely one of my favorite series too! : D Glad someone else loves it!

Leave a Reply

