Skip to content

All You Need is Kill

September 14, 2009

All You Need is KillAll You Need is Kill
by: Hiroshi Sakurazaka
published by: Viz Media [Haikasoru imprint]
story: When the alien Mimic invade, Keiji Kiriya is just one of many recruits shoved into a suit of battle armor called a Jacket and sent out to kill. Keiji dies on the battlefield, only to be reborn each morning to fight and die again and again. On his 158th iteration, he gets a message from a mysterious ally–the female soldier known as the Full Metal Bitch. Is she the key to Keiji’s escape or his final death?

Ramblings: This is definitely one of the strangest novels I’ve ever read. It’s fairly similar to Ghost in the Shell, but not quite the same…and with massive amounts of cursing. I mean…I curse, it doesn’t really bother me, but they drop the f-bomb almost every other word on some pages. It’s pretty ridiculous actually. It’s an interesting concept for a book (getting stuck in a time loop and using it to your advantage that is), but I’m not sure I liked it…
To be honest, I was kind of on the wall about this one, but when I saw the words “Full Metal Bitch” on the back of the cover, I decided to get it (haha, I’m a sucker for things that sound weird/interesting). I’m not sure I’d really suggest this to any but those who don’t mind massive amounts of language and violence, among some other things. I definitely didn’t like this as much as I liked the last Haikasoru title The Lord of the Sands of Time.
I think I am going to try Sakurazaka’s next translated work Slum Online (coming next March also from Viz/Haikasoru), but not because I liked this novel (because I still can’t decide if I do or not). I’m glad I bought this to help the Haikasoru line, but I don’t think it’s one of the best novels they have (though granted, I’ve only read one other of their books so far, since the next 2 don’t come out until tomorrow [Zoo and Usurper of the Sun] and then 2 more next month [Brave Story and The Book of Heroes]).

Leave a Reply

