Skip to content

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya [novel]

September 22, 2009

The Melancholy of Haruhi SuzumiyaThe Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya [novel]
by: Nagaru Tanigawa
published by: Little, Brown and Yen Press
summary: On the outside she’s just another cute outsider, starting high school as a freshman, in a suburban city where nothing exciting happens and no one understands her – Until she meets Kyon.
Although Kyon’s been warned away by all of his friends that Haruhi has left a trail of broken lives behind her, he decides to befriend her and that’s when the unexpected happens. Haruhi, it turns out, is a lot more than she seems, and the group of students she’s organized to help her search for the extraordinary in the world turns out to be exactly what she was looking for: A time traveler, an alien, and an esper. But here’s the catch, they can never let Haruhi know what they are or the world may end!
Ramblings: Now that I’ve finally read the Haruhi novel, I feel like I can watch the anime, haha. :] And I totally understand all the buzz that the series generated back in the day (and recently with the new/continued anime). The novel takes like no time to read (they’re not called light novels for nothing), but it’s entertaining and I couldn’t put it down (I read it in like one sitting last Saturday).

Little, Brown and Yen Press did a great job with the novel as far as I can tell. I bought the hardback version since I wanted the original cover art (and it was basically the same price on Amazon so why not?), and I would definitely suggest it to anyone. To be honest, I was really surprised when I got the book, since it looks like something you would borrow from a library (like, it doesn’t have a slipcover, and the cover is glossy where most are fabric-y, if that makes any sense), but I really love it now, and I think it was a great choice. Plus they include the color art from the inside of the novel, which I always love. There’s also a preview from the first volume of the manga in the back, which is another nice touch.

The only thing I noticed that was a little weird was the translation of moe. They use the word moe and then go on to explain it as turn-ons, which is kind of right as far as I’m aware, but still kind of off…though I guess since they’re obviously trying to cater to not just the manga/anime crowd (with the paperback versions), but everyone else too, it was an ok way to explain it.

If you haven’t read the novels, I definitely suggest at least this first one (though like I mentioned, I haven’t seen the anime, so I’m not sure how it compares). I’m definitely going to check out the second novel too once it comes out (sometime next month).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 5:49 pm

    ah I read this just last Saturday. I’ve watched the anime either so I don’t really know what to think either. It’s pretty good as far as light novels go though.

Trackbacks

  1. -looking forward to the future-light novels and JP lit « kelakagandy’s ramblings

Leave a Reply

