Skip to content

[Special] Momiji Dolls – Limited Edition Joanna Zhou versions

October 14, 2009

P1020700
The beach I go to every summer has this really cool store with mostly legit Japanese stuff (or like the dolls I got, Asian inspired stuff), and this year I found these awesome little figures. : D They’re from a company called Momiji (website), and they’re called “message dolls” ( I’ll explain later in the post ;] ). and I finally ( xD ) got around to taking pics of the ones I got (there’s tons of them, I just bought 3), so I could share them with you all!! : D Ignore the  crappy quality of the pics, I had my camera on the wrong setting and didn’t realize it. xD 

All of the dolls I got were from the Limited Edition Joanna Zhou collection (they’re all out of stock on the website, but I saw some of them on Amazon for fairly reasonable prices). Oh, and before I forget, the whole “message doll” part. They have little slots in the bottom of the dolls that have tiny pieces of paper in them that are there for you to put messages for friends in, which I think is just an adorable concept (I forgot to take pics though, sorry!!).

First up is “Kitty”.
P1020678
Hahaha, apparently I thought the computer was a good place to take a picture. xD and yay! for Zune software on the screen!
P1020680
close-up. Isn’t it adorable? My brother said this one was the most like me. xD It was his favorite, and the one I wanted to buy first.
P1020681P1020682
The super cute tin that it came in.
P1020683
The adorable top of the tin! : D But ugh, shadow. D:

Next up, “Pinku”!
P1020684
Isn’t she just adorable?!? Not to mention, she sure lives up to her name. xD Apparently I was listening to Cobra Starship ft. Leighton Meester. :3
P1020685
Close-up! I can’t decide which one is my favorite, but I’m sure leaning towards Pinku. :3
P1020687
Two sides of the tin.
P1020688P1020689
The two parts of the tin that lets you know it’s supposed to be London (The massive London Eye and the giant cigar looking building). I remember looking at the building when I was in London and wondering why it was shaped like a cigar, haha.
P1020690
The top! And again my stupid shadow. I think the bunny is my favorite part of this tin. xD

And finally, “Sakura” (who is nowhere near as adorable as CCS Sakura :[ ).
P1020691
School girl is stereotypically named Sakura.
P1020692P1020693
Nonetheless, she’s still cute (and winky!). : D
P1020694P1020695
P1020696P1020697
I couldn’t get a good pic of two sides of the tin at once, so I took individual pics. xD
P1020699
I think Sakura is my least favorite doll (though I still love her), but I think her tin is my favorite. xD

14 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    October 14, 2009 2:42 pm

    I used to have one of those~ Kitty is adorable. lol I think Sakura is rather cute actually.

    • October 14, 2009 2:46 pm

      Used to? What happened to it? haha, I think she’s cute…just not as much as I think the other two are. :3

      • warriorhope permalink
        October 14, 2009 7:04 pm

        It broke T__T I had a cute new year’s one too. I guess I can understand that. ^__^

        • October 14, 2009 7:51 pm

          D: That sucks!! I was cleaning the other day and knocked Sakura off my desk…I was so afraid one of her pigtails was going to break off, but she turned out to be surprisingly resilient…

  2. October 15, 2009 2:57 pm

    it’s so adorable i really want one of those ;_; but i guess you can’t buy it in Belgium ;_;

  3. Rin permalink
    October 15, 2009 6:51 pm

    Those are adorable!

    • October 15, 2009 7:09 pm

      I was going to say thanks, and then I realized that would be silly, since I didn’t make them, I just bought them. xD But thanks for commenting, I guess? xD

  4. October 17, 2009 10:16 am

    Omg, I really do love the dolls but I find the tin boxes absolutely adorable! SO CCCCUUUTTTEEE~~~!!! <333 *loves boxes like hell for some reason* XDDDD;;;

    Kyaaa, I love Asian-inspired dolls like these. They're more closer to tradition than regular pop culture is (well, duh, lol) but I see them everywhere so maybe that’s why I don’t get them. ^^;
    Yours is so nicely made, though. <3

    • October 17, 2009 4:10 pm

      haha, me too! xD They’re just so adorable~!

      haha, I know. That’s what I liked about them too! I mean, I sure wouldn’t complain about anime figures, but these are just so cute. :]

  5. October 26, 2009 4:51 pm

    Just wandering through blogland and saw this x3 You know I think Joanna would be really happy if she saw this blog post! You should tweet it to her! (She’s @chocolatepixels )

  6. Odessa permalink
    March 14, 2011 1:41 pm

    In response to your comments about your Sakura momiji, would you be interested in selling her to me?

    Thanks,
    Odessa

    • March 15, 2011 1:59 pm

      I’m not, sorry! She may be my least favorite of the bunch, but I still love her dearly!

Leave a Reply

