Skip to content

Otomen Volume 3

October 22, 2009

Otomen3Otomen volume 3
by: Aya Kanno
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat imprint]
summary: Asuka takes Ryo to an amusement park where he plans to confess his feelings to her. Too bad all the rides Ryo wants to go on frighten Asuka! Can he overcome his fear for the sake of love? (from the back cover)

ramblings: All the fantastic design elements (like the contents page and cover design) are still here (I don’t really expect them to suddenly dissapear, but I like continuity in my manga). I especially love the cover of this volume, I’m not quite sure why, but it looks fantastic and Viz did a great job with the English cover from the Japanese one.

Thank goodness for adorable series like Otomen! Asuka and Ryo may both be silly and oblivious, but they’re just so adorable, no one cares! Re-reading the first story in this volume just made me happy. I was only going to flip through to remember what exactly happened, but then I got so caught up in it that I ended up reading it again, haha. Otomen is definitely a series that most people would find entertaining, I think even guys would like it for the most part (though I guess I could see how they could be rather adverse to reading it too).

Once I have the funds again, I’m definitely going to check out some more of Aya Kanno’s works, since I absolutely love her clean art and her story lines so far, plus I remember thinking the Blank Slate preview in Shojo Beat was really interesting.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    October 23, 2009 5:16 pm

    I really loved this volume too~ I can’t wait until volume four. Especially Juta’s storyline.

  2. Rin permalink
    October 23, 2009 9:36 pm

    I love Otomen! I read this volume a few months ago. I can’t wait for the next one.

  3. October 25, 2009 12:46 am

    @warriorhope: Oooh, more Juta storyline? yay! : D I think he might just top Ryo and Asuka for me. xD

    @Rin: hahaha, I bought it ages ago, but just got around to blogging it. xD Volume 4 comes out November 3! : D

  4. warriorhope permalink
    October 25, 2009 5:47 pm

    Ah. I actually don’t know if he has more storyline, I just hope so, as he’s my favorite (I like pretty much everyone though)

Leave a Reply

