Skip to content

Fushigi Yûgi [VIZBIG Edition] Volume 3

October 28, 2009

FYVB3Fûshigi Yugi [VIZBIG Edition] volume 3
by: Yuu Watase
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat/VIZBIG imprint]
summary: Tamahome’s love for Miaka has broken Nakago’s hold over him, and his memory has returned. Miaka, thinking she now has all seven Celestial Warriors, starts the ceremony to summon Suzaku, only to discover that one of the warriors is an imposter–he’s really the Seiryu Celestial Warrior Amiboshi! But when the real warrior Chiriko is discovered, the ceremony will no longer work. Now Miaka must travel to Genbu to find another way to summon Suzaku with a sacred treasure called the shentso-pao. Meanwhile, Yui learns that she too must travel to Genbu to summon Seiryu! (from the inside flap)

Ramblings: I know I’ve gushed about the VIZBIG versions the last two times I’ve talked about them (both other Fushigi Yugi volumes), but seriously they’re fantastic! The book itself is of fantastic quality at a wonderful price. I think my only complaint is that more of Viz’s older series aren’t getting the VIZBIG treatment. For people who didn’t get into a long series at the beginning and like me tend to be leary about getting into a long series, VIZBIG versions are the perfect option.

The original volumes (7-9) in this omnibus are classic Watase shojo. With Watase’s shojo you know someone is going to be hurt or die, there’s going to be romance (but it’s going to be heartwrenching at times), and of course the humor; all of which is in this volume. This volume was the half-way point in the series and while I’m loving it  so far, I’m not sure how Watase is going to be able to string it along for another 9 (of the original) volumes…I suppose I’ll just save my doubting though and see how things turn out.

In this volume, we also get a lot of the backstory of the Priestess of Genbu, which is of course the main story of Fushigi Yugi: Genbu Kaiden. Based on what is given in this story, I’m incredibly interesting in reading Genbu Kaiden (despite it being on hiatus right now in Japan and despite the fact that the series will inevitably be a sad one).

Again, definitely get these VIZBIG versions of Fushigi Yugi if you hadn’t gotten into the series before, or are just curious about the series (since it’s such a long series, 3 volumes is a better indication than just one would be). Volume 4 of the VIZBIG version comes out December 8th, volume 5 on March 16, 2010, and volume 6 [final] is TBA. Watase’s Arata: The Legend (Arata Kangatari) will also be available from Viz on March 9, 2010, and from what I’ve seen it’s kind of a shonen Fushigi Yugi and definitely something to check out.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    October 28, 2009 11:28 pm

    Part one is only another 4 volumes. Than part two is somewhat stupid (and I rather hate it), but it does get points for developing the other suzaku warriors more.

    Ah and you forgot rape. Yuu Watsne mangas always have attempted rape. -___- (I like her humour and art though ^___^)

    Genbu is awesome~ There are other people besides Bishies on their team, including an old hooker and a shape shifting stone guy. Plus a kickass heroine.

    • October 30, 2009 8:01 pm

      Hmm…well, I guess development does count for something? Though I kinda wish she wouldn’t drag things on.

      Ah, most definitely. An unfortunate, but true, addition to Watase manga…

      yay! I’m definitely going to check it out as soon as I can. Good to know it’s probably just as much, if not better?, than the original. : D

  2. October 30, 2009 4:30 pm

    i saw the anime and the OVA, but i didn’t see the manga.
    is it the same storyline as the anime and OVA?

    • warriorhope permalink
      October 30, 2009 5:56 pm

      the first thirteen volumes are covered in the anime. The OAVs are a mixture of the novels and the last five volumes of the series.

      • October 30, 2009 8:03 pm

        yay! Thanks for the info, since I haven’t seen the anime. xD

        I wish Viz would get the novels too…and the Ceres novels!! I feel like the stories are incomplete without them (at least with Ceres, I know there’s more in the novels). D:

      • November 1, 2009 5:22 pm

        thanks ^^

  3. November 6, 2009 10:46 pm

    I didn’t even realize so many have been released already! When the next BIG edition comes out, it’ll start exactly where I stopped collecting (I got lazy -_-;). Sweet!

    I too watched the anime and OVAs. I was so disappointed when the Republic of Amazons (or whatever it was called) wasn’t included in the anime. I was looking forward to seeing the guys cross-dress! XD (granted there was a scene about it in some random short skit later on – it just wasn’t the same though…).

    SPOILER (maybe? >_>;)

    But I guess the whole what-we-do-to-men-thing kind of wasn’t tv appropriate
    [however, I do suspect some guys would be all: cut out my eyes and use me as a breeding stud? I’m in! :D]

    • November 7, 2009 3:00 pm

      haha, I’m really glad I never got into it in the first place now, since these VIZBIG versions are about a thousand times nicer than anything any publisher has put out before, though Viz and Del Rey tend to have nice releases in general, these are just above and beyond. :]

      Oh, it is sad that they aren’t in the anime. :[ They amused me, and I completely agree that most guys would probably be on board. ;]

Leave a Reply

