Skip to content

-looking forward to the future-shojo edition-

November 10, 2009

shojo
Part one of my endeavor is shojo manga (and some series that are more on the josei side, I believe) coming out in 2010 (next is shonen/other manga). This started out as a list of shojo manga (that have their first volumes coming out next year) I thought would be good finds, and kind of turned into a list of all the shojo manga starting next year (that I know of)…apparently I’m not very picky… It’s still not all of them, but it’s a good majority of them.

And seeing how long this is (and only being part 1) should show you how easy it was for me to basically bankrupt myself on manga. xD

English covers were used if they could be found; if not the Japanese covers were used. They are arranged by release month and then alphabetically. If the Japanese name is commonly used in fandom, I put it in parentheses next to the official English title to help. I also used official summaries if I could find them, if not I used ANN, after that I went to myanimelist.net, and in some cases I had to go to mangaupdates.com.

I will gladly update this list if I’m missing something you think is going to be a good shojo manga find in the next year! :]

HappyCafe1Happy Cafe (Shiawase Kissa Sanchome) by: Kou Matsuzuki
Complete at 15 volumes
US publisher: Tokyopop
Volume 1 January 2010, Volume 2 April 2010
Price: US $10.99
From the publisher: Welcome to the Happy Café, where romance and happiness are the specials of the day! Meet Uru: She’s a little short, a bit disorganized, often is mistaken for an elementary school kid, and lives by herself after her mother gets remarried. When she decides to pay the bills by working part time at the Happy Café, she meets Ichirou and Shindou, two of the most unsociable guys she’s ever met! And to make matters worse, it turns out that Uru is not exactly meant for the waitress world, as she’s a HUGE klutz. But as this hilarious shojo tale unfolds, 1 happiness–and even true love–might be lurking just around the corner…
My ramblings: This series just looks adorable, and looks like one that has a whole lot of potential, though I’m a little leery about the length, since 15 volumes can be a little tedious in some series. To be honest, I don’t know a lot about the story, but from the little that I do know, it should be fairly interesting.

NatsumesBookOfFriends1Natsume’s Book of Friends (Natsume Yujincho) by: Yuki Midorikawa
Ongoing with 8+ volumes
US publisher: Viz Media – Shojo Beat imprint
Volume 1 January 2010, Volume 2 April 2010
Price: US $9.99
From the publisher: Takashi Natsume can see the spirits and demons that hide from the rest of humanity. He has always been set apart from other people because of his gift, drifting from relative to relative, never fitting in. Now he’s a troubled high school student who has come to live in the small town where his grandmother grew up. And there he discovers that he has inherited more than just the Sight from the mysterious Reiko.
My ramblings: I watched the anime on Crunchyroll, and it’s a fantastic series. The art in the original manga seems to be a little bit different from the art from the anime art based on the cover of the first volume, but it still looks great. I can’t wait to read the source material. And who doesn’t love Nyanko-sensei?!?

CrownOfLove1Crown of Love (Renai Crown) by: Yun Kouga
Complete at 4 volumes
US publisher: Viz Media – Shojo Beat imprint
Volume 1 February 2010, Volume 2 May 2010, Volume 3 August 2010
Price: US $9.99
From the publisher: After a chance encounter, Hisayoshi “Kumi” Tajima falls madly in love with teen idol Rima Fujio. Bewitched by her beauty, he only wants to get closer to her. As a fan, he lives in a separate world. But if he becomes a fellow idol…
My ramblings: Crown of Love is, from what I’ve heard, a fairly early work from Yun Kouga, this time a part of the Shojo Beat line from Viz. This isn’t a title I know much about, but Yun Kouga’s work is sure to be pretty at least. Hopefully it will live up to what little of Kouga’s works I’ve read (I think only a oneshot in FAUST, but it was absolutely fantastic!).

Panic × Panic by: Mika Kawamura
Complete at 2 volumes
US publisher: Del Rey Manga
Volume 1 February 2010, Volume 2 August 2010
Price: US $10.99
From the publisher:  Mitsuki grew up as an only child at a Shinto shrine and works as a priestess after school. Kakeru, her childhood friend, is the son of a priest and lives across the street from her. Even though Mitsuki and Kakeru grew up together, they seem to never get along. After an encounter with a demon, Mitsuki and Kakeru discover that they are descendents of priests who sealed away demons that disrupted the natural order of life. The demons have become a problem again, but can Mitsuki and Kakeru overcome their differences to follow in the footsteps of their ancestors and seal away the demons?
My ramblings: I’m a little leery about adding this one, since I don’t see much about it online (it took a lot of searching to find a summary), but it looks cute, and I’ll try to check it out.  I don’t think this is going to necessarily going to be a series that will be a major hit, unless it’s one of those series that’s a sleeper hit. It does sound rather cliché though, which is a little off-putting, but that could be a plus if you know you like stories like it. And ok, after seeing the English cover, I’m almost definitely getting it, cuz it’s freaking adorable. xD

Portrait of M and N by: Higuchi Tachibana
Complete at 6 volumes
US publisher: Tokyopop
Volume 1 February 2010, Volume 2 June 2010
Price: US $10.99
From the publisher: February brings us PORTRAIT OF M & N, starring two students in high school with something to hide. Created by the bestselling manga-ka of GAKUEN ALICE, Tachibana Higuchi, M and N refer to Mitsuru and Natsuhiko: she’s masochistic; he’s narcissistic. All they want is to be normal high school students!
My ramblings: I believe this is for slightly older audiences, as the M and N refer to masochist and narcissist, but it looks promising. I’ve read some good reviews of this series so far, so I think it should be fairly good, but I’m not entirely sure, since it’s not one you hear of much. The synopsis does seem rather interesting though, so I think I’ll check it out.

Bunny Drop (Usagi Drop) by: Yumi Unita
Ongoing with 6+ volumes
US publisher: Yen Press
Volume 1 March 2010, Volume 2 September 2010
Price: US $12.99
From the publisher: Returning to his family’s estate for his grandfather’s funeral, thirty-something bachelor Daikichi is floored to discover that the old man had an illegitimate child with a much younger lover! Needless to say, the rest of the family is shocked and embarrassed by this turn of events, and not one of them wants anything to do with the little girl, who refuses to say a word. In a fit of angry spontaneity, Daikichi decides to adopt her! But is living with an overgrown teenager who can barely take care of himself the key to making Rin come out of her shell?
My ramblings: This is definitely josei, and it looks like one of those stories that would just break your heart. Of course, it could go the other way and just be terrible, but I think this looks incredibly promising. From what I’ve read online it’s a very slow slice-of-life that is none-the-less fantastic.

CactussSecret1Cactus’s Secret (Saboten no Himitsu) by: Nana Haruta
Complete at 4 volumes
US publisher: Viz Media – Shojo Beat imprint
Volume 1 March 2010, Volume 2 June 2010, Volume 3 September 2010
Price: US $9.99
From the publisher: Miku Yamada has a longtime crush on classmate Kyohei Fujioka. But no matter how many times she tries to show him how she feels, clueless Kyohei just doesn’t get it. Frustrated, Miku gives up on him, only to have him start calling her “Cactus” for being prickly when he’s around. Will Kyohei ever figure out Cactus’s secret?
My ramblings: This is Nana Haruta’s first manga to be published in the states, and I want everyone to get it, so that the chances of getting more of the adorable goodness that is Nana Haruta are better! I don’t really know much about this series itself, but I’m sure it’s great, from what I know of her other works. And how can you pass up that adorable cover?

Haru Hana The Complete Collection by: Yuana Kazumi
Complete at 3 volumes
US publisher: Tokyopop
March 2010
Price: US $16.99
From the publisher: Hana Yamada was all set for her big Tokyo debut–She’d just moved from Osaka, and finally thought she had her rather unusual “condition” under control. As long as she’s got her beloved green tea by her side, she can totally cure the hives she gets whenever she bumps into a cute boy! No problem. But the day starts off disastrous and only gets worse, culminating in Hana’s sister bartering her into indentured servitude at a local relaxation room run by two particularly good-looking young men. Can Hana keep her cool around the flamboyant Shinnosuke, and, even worse, the hot but prickly Haru? Hana may be charmed by Haru’s amazing skill at his work and his ability to heal people’s hearts, but his personality is undeniably difficult, especially towards her. How to you reach out to someone when you can never actually touch?
My ramblings: Looks like another omnibus edition from Tokyopop, and the art looks adorable, so I think I’ll be checking out this 3-in-1. Apparently the “breaks out in hives from touching the other sex” is a much more common them than I though. I’ve seen it in Beauty Pop, Zodiac P.I., and MariaHolic and now this series. I didn’t realize it was so common. It’s kind of a strange theme to be so common. The series still looks cute, and since it’s just an omnibus, there’s not much to lose by picking it all up at one time. EDIT: I REALLY LIKE THE TOKYOPOP COVER!!! :D It’s pretty!!!!

Pink Innocent by: Kotori Momoyuki
Complete at 3 volumes
US publisher: Del Rey Manga
Volume 1 March 2010, Volume 2 August 2010
Price: US $10.99
From the publisher: Hello, Kokona here. So I just started dating my first boyfriend. His name is Renji-kun, and he’s handsome and talented and super smart. But now that we’re going out, what are we supposed to actually do? Can someone please give me some advice? I’m totally clueless about love!
My ramblings: I looked around the internet and heard good and bad things about this series, but it looks adorable (though that hairstyle is crazy!), so I’ll try and check it out. I think the biggest problem people seemed to have with the series is that the main character is apparently a huge ditz, but I don’t think that’s always a bad thing, so hopefully it’ll turn out better than some people think it is.

SteppingOnRoses1Stepping on Roses (Hadashi de Bara wo Fume) by: Rinko Ueda
Ongoing with 4+ volumes
US publisher: Viz Media – Shojo Beat imprint
Volume 1 April 2010, Volume 2 July 2010
Price: US $9.99
From the publisher: A rags-to-riches romance from the creator of Tail of the Moon! Poor Sumi Kitamura… Her irresponsible older brother Eisuke keeps bringing home orphans for her to take care of even though they can barely afford their own basic needs! Just when Sumi’s financial problems become dire, wealthy Soichiro Ashida enters her life with a bizarre proposition–he’ll provide her with the money she so desperately needs if she agrees to marry him. But can Sumi pull off fooling high society into thinking she’s a proper lady? Moreover, is it worth it to give everything up for this sham of a marriage?
My ramblings: I can’t emphasize enough just how good this series is. It definitely needs to be read by anyone who likes shojo manga! Sumi is a great heroine, and just look at Rinko Ueda’s art, it’s absolutely gorgeous! I’m so glad that Viz picked this up, and will definitely be buying it right when it comes out, job or no.

FlowerInAStorm1Flower in a Storm by: Shigeyoshi Takagi
Complete at 2 volumes
US publisher: Viz Media – Shojo Beat imprint
Volume 1 May 2010, Volume 2 August 2010
Price: US $9.99
From the publisher: Love is like a storm. Riko Sassoku is trying to lead a normal high school life when Ran Tachibana bursts into her classroom carrying a gun and telling her that her life is now his. Ran, the richest, most powerful 17-year-old in Japan wants her as his wife, and he’s not taking no for an answer! If Ran can’t capture her by five o’clock the next day, he’ll give up on her, but he has all that money can buy at his disposal. However, Riko has one trick up her sleeve–she has superpowers!
My ramblings: This is only a two-volume series, and it looks interesting. To be honest, I wasn’t particularly interested until I saw the cover for the first volume, and the art is just so nice, that I really hope the story is just as nice. The fact that the heroine has super powers is kind of interesting, but I’m not sure how it’s going to play out in only 2 volumes, and I have a feeling it might be kind of rushed.

Songs and Laughter (Boku ga Utau to Kimi wa Warau kara) by: Natsuki Takaya
My Song, Your Smile, Just Because is listed as the title in this Press Release and says title subject to change and Amazon first listed it as Songs and Laughter but now as Songs to Make You Smile, so I’m not sure what the official title is yet. EDIT: Tokyopop said they’re still working on the title.
Complete at 1 volume
US publisher: Tokyopop
May 2010
Price: US $12.99
From the publisher: TOKYOPOP presents MY SONG, YOUR SMILE, JUST BECAUSE: STORIES FROM THE CREATOR OF FRUITS BASKET, filled with unforgettable tales from Takaya-sensei, including a side story to TSUBASA: THOSE WITH WINGS.
My ramblings: Another of Tokyopop’s Natsuki Takaya offerings trying to ride on the coat-tails of Fruits Basket, this time it’s a collection of one-shots. I know there’s a Tsubasa: Those With Wings side story, but past that I’m not sure what is included in this volume. I’m not really a huge fan of earlier Takaya art (her new/Hoshi wa Utau art is so much nicer), so I’m not sure if I’ll pick this up, though the Tsubasa: Those With Wings side story is rather tempting.

Fairy Navigator Runa (Yokai Navi Runa) by: Miyoko Ikeda and Michiyo Kikuta
Ongoing with 3+ volumes
US publisher: Del Rey Manga
Volume 1 May 2010
Price: US $10.99
From the publisher: As a baby, Runa Rindô was left in front of a school for foster children, wearing a mysterious pendant. Now she’s in fourth grade and strange things are starting to happen around her. It’s only a matter of time before she discovers her secret powers—and her quest as the Legendary Fairy Child begins!
My ramblings: I have an old issue of Nakayoshi with this in it somewhere and I have some furoku for the series as well, which makes me want to try it out (a silly reason I know), but I haven’t really heard much about the series. The summary sounds rather all over the place, but I’m hoping that it’s not as crazy as it sounds. I’d like to try it, but I’m not completely sure yet. EDIT: Amazon is now listing the title as Fairy Navigator Runa, which is also the title on the cover Del Rey put up on their site.

Library Wars: Love and War (Toshokan Sensou: Love and War) by: Hiro Arakawa and Kiiro Yumi
Ongoing with 4+ volumes
US publisher: Viz Media – Shojo Beat imprint
Volume 1 June 2010, Volume 2 September 2010
Price: TBD (presumed to be US $9.99)
From mangaupdates.com: During the 31st year of Seika, the battle between the Library Force and the Media Improvement Committee reached a new level of violence. Each group has armed itself for either the freedom of expression or the “protection” of society from the bad influences of media. Kasahara Iku joins the Library Force with the intent of finding her “Prince” who helped her during a censorship exercise by the Media Improvement Committee and with her strong will of protecting books.
My ramblings: I am a huge fan of the Library Wars series, and the fact that even just the shojo version of the manga has been licensed is a huge plus (and heck, it’s the shojo manga version!)! The only thing that would make this better is if the novels were licensed too (here’s looking at you, Viz/Haikasoru). This is a definite purchase for me, but I have an unfortunate feeling it will only do well with people who are already familiar with the series.

HereIAmJP1Here I Am! (Koko ni Iru Yo!) by: Ema Toyama
Complete at 5 volumes
US publisher: Del Rey Manga
Volume 1 August 2010
Price: TBD (presumed to be US $10.99) EDIT: amazon is now listing this as US $16.99, with 496 pages, which would make it an omnibus with an unknown number of volumes included.
From the publisher: Hikage Sumino is shy and insecure about herself. Due to her introverted personality, she has a tough time making friends and spends most of her time alone. The only place Hikage feels comfortable expressing herself is on her blog. She has two friends online who support her emotionally. One day a popular male student, Hinata confesses his romantic interest to Hikage. As she grows closer to Hinata, Hikage starts to gain confidence. Will Hinata help Hikage overcome her insecurities and blossom into the person she always wanted to be?
My ramblings: From what I know of the premise of this series, it’s somewhat like Kimi ni Todoke. Hopefully it will be like Kimi ni Todoke in a good way, and be one of those series that just pulls at your heartstrings (again, in a good way). This is another series I haven’t heard too much about, but it looks like something I’d really enjoy and I’m hoping it’s as good as I expect it to be.

ARISA1JPARISA by: Natsumi Ando
Ongoing with 3+ volumes
US publisher: Del Rey Manga
Volume 1 October 2010
Price: US $10.99
From the publisher: Next fall, we’ll have another new title from the author of Kitchen Princess! Twin sisters Arisa and Tsubasa are separated by their parent’s divorce. The twins secretly exchange letters with each other during their separation. They are finally united after three years and Arisa asks Tsubasa to pretend to be her and spend a day in her school just for fun. At school everyone seems very nice to Tsubasa (who is pretending to be Arisa) and everything seems normal… until she finds a strange note in her sister’s shoe locker. When Tsubasa hands over the letter to Arisa, Arisa tries to kill herself by jumping out of a window. Arisa survives but remains in a coma. The letter read, “Arisa is a traitor.” After her sister’s suicide attempt Tsubasa is determined to unravel the mystery behind the letter and her sister’s suicide attempt so she continues to go to school as Arisa. Will she find out who sent the note and why it had such an effect on Arisa?
My ramblings: Natsumi Ando has a great record with manga, and I know this will be another big hit for her here in North America. This is certainly not a series I would give to a child, but it’s one that I don’t think shojo fans should miss. It’s one of the hot series in Nakayoshi right now, and there is certainly a reason for that (well, apart from the fact that it’s sort of riding on Kitchen Princess‘s coat-tails), it’s really a great intriguing series!

GrandGuiginolOrchestra1JPGrand Guignol Orchestra (Guignol Kyuutei Gakudan) by: Kaori Yuki
Ongoing with 3+ volumes
US publisher: Viz Media – Shojo Beat imprint
Volume 1 October 2010
Price: TBD (presumed to be US $9.99)
From myanimelist.net: The beautiful singer Lucille and his orchestra invite you to the city of fear where puppets hunt down humans. The puppets are playing an oratorio of magic and illusions!
My ramblings: This is Kaori Yuki’s newest series (it’s only up to 3 volumes in Japan right now), and I think it will be a definite buy for any fans of either her or just gothic manga in general. Her art is always so gorgeous and detailed and her stories are usually fairly complex. From what I’ve seen of this particular series, it’s just as grotesquely beautiful as her previous series, and there’s actually a little bit of gender bending if I remember correctly. Again, a great asset to the Shojo Beat family.

WildAtHeart1JPWild @ Heart (Wild Damon) by: Natsumi Ando
Complete at 3 volumes
US publisher: Del Rey Manga
Omnibus October 2010
Price:  US $21.99
From myanimelist.net: A girl’s life s going to change because of her father who is an explorer. He always bring her presents and this time he brought a boy that he found living in a jungle and took him home. Now she has to take care of him and guide him as he tries to adapt to the city life.
My ramblings: I’m a little worried about this early work by Kitchen Princess and Zodiac P.I. author Natsumi Ando, since Amazon originally had it listed as just the first volume, but now lists it as Wild @ Heart 1/2/3 (though I certainly don’t mind omnibus versions, it’s a little strange) and it isn’t available for pre-order (though it is a little early) It’s now available for pre-order on Amazon (here). But hopefully Del Rey pulls through (I expect them too, since Kitchen Princess seems to be a big seller for them and they picked up ARISA just recently also; and now that I think about it, they may be releasing this later to go with the release of ARISA, which is not a bad idea.) and we’ll get this early Ando work sometime next year.

NiceToMeetYouKamisama1JPNice to Meet You, Kamisama (Kami-sama Hajimemashita) by: Julietta Suzuki
Ongoing with 4+ volumes
US publisher: Viz Media – Shojo Beat imprint
Volume 1 November 2010
Price: TBD (presumed to be US $9.99)
From ANN: Nanao Momozono suddenly becomes homeless after her dad disappeared and left a huge debt behind, which forced her to leave the apartment. On the street Nanao rescues a strange man from a dog. To thank her, he gives her his house, which proves to be a run-down shrine, inhabited by a hostile fox-eared young man. Confused and tired with no other place to go to, she decides to stay, but this proves to be more difficult than expected…
My ramblings: If the press surrounding Karakuri Odette is any indication, Viz’s decision to pick this title up from the same artist was a fantastic one (bet they’re kicking themselves over not getting Karakuri Odette too). The premise behind this series looks rather interesting to me, and I can’t wait to read it. If this is half as good as Karakuri Odette is (I’ve only read the preview on Tokyopop’s site, but it was really good), then this series should be another hit.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 3:12 pm

    Ok, before I get into anything…THAT TAG LIST IS HUGE!!! XDDDDDD

    Lol, oh god, I was so amused. Haha Ok, ok, onto the preview…

    …omg, WOW, I applaud you for organizing all this (and it’s only part 1?! You’re kidding! XDD;;; ). It’s really awesome. Thanks so much! ^^

    Hmm, as far as the titles go, I’ve been planning to look over Natsume Yuujinchou for some time but I always keep forgetting its existence. Putting that on my list now since I find the art so purdy~

    I saw Yun Kouga’s name! I didn’t read any of her works yet but rawr, her artwork is pretty (lol, it’s all about the prettiness) so will check.

    HARU HANA looks…interesting…actually, now I want to see hives breaking out from contact with the opposite sex in real life now that you mention it’s common.

    Ooo, Stepping on Roses really does look interesting. Haha, sounds like some potential movie plot. *listed* x3

    Flower Storm – waaat? … Is it a trend to threaten your bride into marriage these days?

    Navi Runa b/c the mascots are soooo adowable~ <333

    The fox-shrine-god-whatever one looks like a shoujo-verison of Wagaya no Oinari-sama. @w@;

    And…that’s it. I’m mildly interested in a few other titles but need to be hit with a bigger impression before picking it up. Arisa and Koko ni Iru Yo! I don’t think I’m getting. They’re alright but their re-read level isn’t high on my list. :/

    Yep, thanks again! Can’t wait for the next part! ^^

    • November 10, 2009 4:12 pm

      ahahahaa, told ya it would be an attack of the tag cloud! ;]

      yupyup, only part 1. ;]

      I had Natsume Yuujincho on my list of to-read but kept forgetting it too. xD

      I think I’m going to check out the Yun Kouga work too based on the pretty! :]

      Again, Stepping on Roses is fantastic! xD It’s one of my new favorite series.

      Flower in a Storm…ahahaha, I sure hope not. But now that you mention it, it is kind of more common lately… :/

      I don’t know about the story for NaviRuna, but I agree that it’s adorable!!

      I had to google Wagaya no Oinari-sama since I hadn’t heard of it, but they do sound eerily similar.

      I stopped reading ARISA once I heard it was licensed, or else it probably wouldn’t be too high on my list of things for me to buy, but now I’m soooo curious about what happens that I know I’ll have to buy it.

  2. rostrummagazine permalink
    November 10, 2009 4:29 pm

    M and N is a fairly good series. Probably not as good as alice, but decent anyways.

    Delray seems to pick up all the cute shojo series lately. I’m kind of worried, but still interested.

    I’m not as sold on Stepping on Roses, but than again I wasn’t totally in love with Tail of the moon at first, and now it’s one of my favorite series.

    Library wars novels for 2011. I’m excited for the manga anyways.

    Kaori Yuki’s new series before Ludwig Revolution -___-Ah well, no doubt Viz will eventually pick it up. I enjoy her art anyways.

    Thanks so much though. You’re always the best source for info on shojo in NA.

  3. warriorhope permalink
    November 10, 2009 4:32 pm

    ugh. That above comment was mine sorry. (hadn’t logged out of myother account

    • November 10, 2009 4:46 pm

      haha, you’re good. I do things like that all the time. xD

      Oh, well that’s good to hear. I hadn’t heard of it before I was searching, so I was kind of worried that Tokyopop was picking up some random title again.

      I’m mostly worried about the state of Del Rey…the seem to keep pushing back series and putting them into omnibus editions. I love omnibus editions so I have mixed feelings, but I’m worried about what that might be saying about their company. :[

      Well to each their own. :] To be honest I didn’t like Tail of the Moon at all when I read the preview in Shojo Beat, but then I read the preview for the prequel and liked it a lot more, so I went back and read some more of the series and now really want to buy the whole thing!

      Yes! Library Wars for 2011!! They would fit perfectly under the Haikasoru imprint. :]

      Is Ludwig Revolution good? I keep hearing about it, and knew it was a Kaori Yuki series, but I haven’t read any of it, so I don’t really know anything about it. But I’m sure if Yuki’s series keep selling well it’ll get picked up sometime. Viz seems to find favorite artists and then license like all their works, haha.

      You’re welcome! :D And thank you~~!!!!

      • warriorhope permalink
        November 10, 2009 6:14 pm

        It has a lot of fairytales in it. I mainly like it because little red riding hood is a badass (always my favorite story), but it’s pretty good over all. I haven’t finsihed it yet,but I really like the first volume and half.

        I would recommend it if you have the chance. The end is particularly good. Home is also a pretty cute series (short too).

        I can see why you’re worried about Del Ray. I think it’s a market wide thing though since Viz and Dark horse are doing the same thing.

        • November 11, 2009 12:09 am

          Oh, that does sound fun! :D Hopefully Viz will pick it up soon then!

          I think Dark Horse is doing it mostly because they keep picking things up that other people have already released and the individual volumes just aren’t going to cut it for re-prints like that. And Viz seems to just be doing it for series that have done well for them…so hopefully Del Rey is just trying to keep profits up to stay afloat. Hopefully it works…

  4. November 10, 2009 7:03 pm

    Whoa. That is a big tag list. XD

    Lots of manga here I wouldn’t have found out about otherwise though. A lot of things I wouldn’t have thought about otherwise. I mean, Koko ni iru Yo!, Arisa, and Youkai Navi Runa were all already guaranteed buys for me. My reason for Navi Runa is also some furoku I have, plus the art is just really nice. I’ve been obsessed with wanting to read it for a while. I just hope the story is worth my anticipation. XD

    After seeing the cover alone for Panic x Pnaic I decided I’d check it out. Reading the summary was just a formality (cute art is all it takes for me). Though with two volumes all I can hope for is cute.

    And OMG! M and N is getting a release? I think I remember hearing that now, but oh god I can’t wait. I read some of the chapters online, but I don’t think scanlations ever finished. Anyway, it’s a series that sounds like it has promise, and then it proceeds to execute in about the best possible way. I remember laughing out loud while reading it. The two characters are just so…well yeah. The title give it away. XD

    Nana Haruta…oh she did Chcolate Cosmos. I think Cactus’s Secret is worht a look then.

    I read Pink Innocent and…I’m not really sure why it’s even getting a release. It’s okay, but it’s pretty standard stuff. Oh god I even did a review of that on my blog and I think I actually deleted it. Only post ever deleted. XD

    Natsumi Ando is getting popular now, isn’t she? Enough to get officially adopted by a company. You know, like how Arina-sensei is for Viz and Natsuki Takaya is for TokyoPop. I think if one of her manga gets an anime adaptation, she has the potential to get a whole fanbase like others.

    Really there’s a lot you got me interested in here. Finding out about a Library Wars released (even though I still have to watch the anime). Another Natsuki Takaya manga. Happy Cafe looks like it could be interesting (I almost always seem to like long shoujo). I’ll give Stepping on Roses a look too.

    • November 11, 2009 11:36 pm

      hahaha, I always over-tag, but this really is the craziest it’s ever been. xD

      yay! I’m glad I’m not the only one who buys things based on furoku. To be honest, that’s why I bought the first volume of Shugo Chara! too… xD

      That’s great news about M&N! I think it’ll be a definite pick-up for me then. :D

      Yup, she did Chocolate Cosmos, and is doing Stardust Wink right now, if you’ve heard of that one.

      ahahaha, maybe Pink Innocent is not so great then… xD Only post ever deleted isn’t promising. xD

      Yeah, she seems to have been adopted by Del Rey finally. :D Which is good news for me, since I’ve really liked all that I’ve read from her so far, so I’m glad I get to pick up basically everything she’s ever done in English now. :]

      Watch it!! :D It’s fantastic! Seriously one of my favorite series ever!

  5. Rin permalink
    November 10, 2009 7:30 pm

    Oh man the tag list is huge! Biggest one I’ve seen in my life.

    I like this release. I’ve always wanted to read Youkai Navi Luna and to get the rest of the Wild Damon chapters. I can’t wait for ARISA and Koko ni Iru Yo to be out too. I am willing to not be Asian cheap this year and buy books. Some of those Japanese titles like Saboten wo Himitsu. I’ve always wondered what Saboten wo Himitsu meant. Now I know it means Catus’s Secret. I never tried to fully read that one before, but maybe I’ll read the manga now that it’s going to be in stores.

    • November 11, 2009 11:39 pm

      haha, I know. I went a little over-board. :3

      yay! :D Glad you like it! Seems like Koko ni Iru Yo! was a good pick-up for Del Rey too, since you all seem to love it. :] And I agree about ARISA, and can’t wait to pick up Wild @ Heart/Wild Damon too!! :D

      It kind of drives me crazy when people don’t tell what the title means and just leave it in Japanese, since then I don’t understand it at all… :/

  6. November 13, 2009 11:28 am

    Whoa! So many manga :O *heart*
    Happy Cafe and Usagi Drop are definitely series I want to try (but then again…one of them if from Tokyopop… :( )

    But…no Heart no Kuni no Alice (or Alice in the Country of Hearts as Tokyopop is going to title it)? T_T

    • November 13, 2009 11:36 am

      Yeah…here’s hoping Happy Cafe gets a full, quality release!

      Oh, I didn’t realize Alice in the Country of Hearts was shojo (haha), but it is in my next part. ;]

      • November 13, 2009 3:08 pm

        Sweet! ^_^
        I’m trying to spread the word of Alice in the Country of Hearts =D (so Tokyopop at least releases the whole series and not stop in the middle like so many others…>_< *depressed*)

        Now I'm interested in the next part of your project :)

  7. Majaloo696 permalink
    November 19, 2009 12:04 am

    I found your site looking for Kamisama Hajimemashita info on when it was coming out. I was overjoyed to hear it’s being brought over. D: THANK You for listing dates of estimated arrival! I just hope they don’t get delayed even MORE T–T
    I’m sad that it’s not coming out for a full year though.. ;A;
    but yeah, Kamisama Hajimemashita is an awesome series. I have read every chapter that’s come out with relish, reread it about three times since i first found it, and am happily spreading the Suzuki Julietta fever to all i know.
    I’m going to gobble up those volumes in english format. Oh yes yes yes i am.
    *prays for nice translation*

    ANd if you haven’t read it yet, you absolutely MUST read it as soon as may be. D:
    It’s a series worth owning, oh yes indeedy. ª~ª

    and Oh!! I am SO happy to see that Shiawase… urm.. “Happy Cafe” is being licensed!! 8D I feared it never would be! D;
    (XD that title is SO nice in comparison to my murdering the actual japanese title all the time)

    I love that series! It is so cute and awesome. ^.^ I didn’t think i would like it at first, because the art wasn’t the usual kind that I go for, but it really opened my eyes on how great a manga can be regardless of the style, as long as it’s done with love.
    Happy Cafe coming over makes me happy, and (in future) broke. XD

    so yeahs.. I like your list. ª~ª and thank you for the lovely, hard to find but critical info~ <333
    xD

    Abayo ;D

    • November 20, 2009 11:14 pm

      Viz almost never changes their release dates, so you can pretty much rest assured that it will come out next November. :]

      haha, it’s nice to hear someone complimenting an English title for a manga for once instead of complaining about the difference from the Japanese title. :]

      Thanks~

  8. November 19, 2009 9:03 pm

    Heyz~ I’m giving you a blog award at my book blog and my award post will be up soon. =D

  9. claymore permalink
    November 20, 2009 10:57 pm

    Hello!

    just wanna say that Kamisama Hajimemashita (Nice to meet you Kamisama) is REALLY good. i’ve read up to vol3 ch13 from scanlations and personally i think this is the best work so far out of Julietta Suzuki’s stories. (Kakakuri Odette was great, Akuma to Dolce was even better, and Kamisama Hajimemashita is awesome!!) Suzuki’s stories always has this light-hearted feeling with a touch of romance that lift your spirits up. ^^ oh, it’s nothing like Wagaya no Oinari-sama, the only thing similar is that there’s a fox in it but Kamisama’s fox is much sexier *_* (and at times cute :3).

    the other good one from your list is Shiawase Kissa Sanchome (Happy Cafe). the main girl is very adorable, and the 3 of them together causes lots of humourous situations ^^ im currently reading up to vol 5 for this series right now and so far so good. there’s no need to worry about the length, it’s not as long as you think. once you start reading and get yourself immersed in the story, you won’t be able to stop and you’ll be surprised at how much you’ve read. :P (the longest shoujo i’ve read was like 28 volumes and it was really good ^^ . i’ve read shounen ones that are much longer than this too.. ^^)

    anyways, thanks for compiling the list. ^^ i just hope they will get the releases out quickly… it takes forever for one volume to come out -_- for now i’ll just stick to scanlations = . =

    • November 20, 2009 11:16 pm

      That’s great to hear! : D From the little I’ve read of her stuff, I completely agree, they’re definitely feel good works!

      Haha, I read long shonen series too…I just hate when I have to choose one series over another because I’m following so many and I can’t always buy them all. :[

      You’re very welcome~

  10. December 1, 2009 7:37 pm

    Aha I missed this post! and it’s reaffirmed my thoughts that I need to start using your blog on figuring out what manga to pick up. Great job on compiling these lists. d(^_^)b

    IMO Koko ni Iru Yo! is cuter than Kimi ni Todoke, but not as sweet since it lacks the dynamic cast of relationships. But they are incredibly similar and attracts the same emotions in rooting for the main character as they try hard to make friends. The main difference being that while Sawako starts with a blank slate with nothing to fear, Sumino has the balance between online and real-life… which turns, interesting…

    How did I miss Arisa in my manga pickups I wonder… also need get Flower in a Storm + N&M

Leave a Reply

