Skip to content

Quick Update

November 21, 2009

Hey guys, just a few things as a quick update:

1) I’m working on the second part of my project, it’s almost done, and I promise it will be up sometime by the end of the day on US Thanksgiving (next Thursday), hopefully before that!!!

2) Yen Press announced their new plan for the Spice and Wolf light novel cover here. Basically, they’re going to offer the uncreased covers to retailers for free, and whichever retailers decide to take them will be able to get them and send them out with the novels. I’m not sure about Amazon right now, but I’m pretty sure most online anime stores (like rightstuf) will get the covers. This seems like the perfect solution to me, since if you don’t normally buy Yen+, you don’t have to to get the dust jacket. I will be getting this sometime in the near future, and am very excited about it. :] Here’s the dust jacket they’ll be sending out to retailers who want it (click for full size):

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ralph permalink
    November 21, 2009 5:22 pm

    About god damn time. I still would have liked an original book cover instead of just a dust jacket to go over the hideous one they are giving us but I suppose this should do. Hopefully they will learn their lesson for volume 2.

    • November 21, 2009 7:10 pm

      Well…it’s really the same thing as getting the original dust jacket and throwing the other one out, you don’t really have to put one over the other, but I know what you mean. I’m sure they’ll see how well the cover does, and then take things into consideration for the second one. They’re selling a product, so they have to take our opinions into account if they expect us to buy it. I have a feeling they’ll be doing the same thing for the second (and hopefully more) volumes though, since this seems to give everyone what they want. Those who want the original cover just have to get it through a place that will send it to them, and new readers can just pick it up.

  2. warriorhope permalink
    November 21, 2009 8:26 pm

    Ah cool. That’s a nice option.

    Can’t wait for the new update. It’s your anversity this week too, I guess.

  3. November 21, 2009 11:41 pm

    Yeah! I can read this book in public now! ヽ(´▽`)/ *jk*

    That’s pretty cool of Yen Press to actually go through the trouble and do this. They continue to impress me =3 Hopefully this will pacify those individuals who weren’t too happy with the alternate cover (I won’t lie – I didn’t really like it either ^_^; but I think it was more due to cover sporting a naked chick).

    I’m also another who is eagerly waiting for your next update. Good luck ^_^

    • November 23, 2009 3:37 pm

      haha, exactly. I read a review from someone who was able to get a review copy, and they talked about how they were reading it in a cafe and were asked to put it away based on the cover…which is exactly the problem everyone had with it. :/

      But I agree, Yen Press has always seemed to go out of the way to give the fans what they want, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen a product from them that wasn’t quality stuff. haha, I didn’t like the other cover either, but I think this definitely fixes almost everyone’s problem. :]

      yay! Thanks~ ^.^

  4. Fail permalink
    January 23, 2010 7:15 pm

    Re-posting how I feel everywhere.

    Yen Press are a sadly, laughable group of individuals. They continue to make horrible decisions. Relying on them is like keeping a bad girlfriend. She tells you she is gonna do things, but then doesn’t. She lies about caring about you. She only cares about what she is doing at that moment, and can’t be bothered to actually do what needs to be done.

    To be blunt. This website(yenpress.us) got a about a 500% increase in comments, deleted comments, and general traffic during the height of this debacle. And they did nothing. LOL, one online retailer sent out covers, is nothing. They either never cared, or froze up like the guy that dies first on the battlefield. Weeks after the book has been released, and still no word from Hassler about more places to get a cover, even though he said he would update the list(lol, not likely huh?). You have failed to release a download-able/printable version of the cover, even after I, and others have posted links to one, here, in this very comment section. By the way Hassler(I once felt bad for you), saying “we simply aren’t set up with a direct-to-consumer infrastructure.”, only means that Yen Press isn’t going to do anything. Way to be a company echo.

    To sum it all up. I believe Yen Press has failed to bring fans an acceptable product(proven by the sheer amount of people who agree). And have failed to make amends(People are still angry, and still talk about it on internet forums). So I have no sympathy for them. I hope they fail.

    • January 24, 2010 10:55 am

      I appreciate your comment, but have to respectfully disagree. If you’d seen the book up close, you’d know that while it still is not fantastic, it does look a whole lot better than it does online. Also, the fact that they even have it for online retailers at all shows their dedication to their fans; they in no way, shape, or form had to even try to do that (I think every other company would not have), and yet they did. So, again, I have to disagree.

Leave a Reply

