Skip to content

General Updates + Suggestions Wanted! :D

December 30, 2009

Hey guys, sorry for my sudden disappearance, I had some crazy computer trouble right before Christmas and then had to go to my grandparent’s house for Christmas (and of course they’re kinda crotchety sometimes and don’t even have a computer, let alone some sort of internet), but I’m back (for now…I’m still working on getting a new laptop)!

But in blog related things, now that -looking forward to the future- is over, I wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions for next year (I’d really like to do it again next year too). I’m definitely changing the name, so any suggestions on that especially would be really helpful! :D Another change I was thinking of is possibly doing posts by publisher (possibly break some of them up, like Viz’s different imprints, maybe combine the smaller publishers, and then light novels/Japanese scifi separate again?). Since I accidentally missed some of the shojo titles the first time around because I forgot some publishers, I think this way might be better, but I’d like to hear what other people think too. :]

In other blog-related news, I did go on that manga and light novel-buying binge I’d mentioned in the side-bar (a few of which I actually got for Christmas from my parents), and got Kimi ni Todoke volume 2, The Gentlemen’s Alliance + volumes 8 and 10 (somehow I had 9, but not 8 haha), The Gentlemen’s Alliance + artbook!!, Butterflies, Flowers volume 1, Spice and Wolf (light novel) volume 1 (and right now I have to say that the cover looks MUCH better in person, still not great,  but it’s not so obvious she’s naked!), Brave Story, Shugo Chara! volume 7, Black Bird volume 2, Beast Master volume 1, Tsubasa: Those with Wings volume 3, and Karakuri Odette volume 1, so I’ll try and get some reviews of those up asap! Plus I have my job back now (I started yesterday, hooray!), so I’ll actually have money to buy even more books now!! :D

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 3:41 pm

    I thought you did the -looking forward to the future- editions well.
    As long as there’s a light novel one I’m happy :D My needs are simple (so I’m probably not the best to ask for suggestions, haha!).

    Good to hear work is going well for you ^_^
    I’m looking forward to your reviews, especially Butterflies, Flowers and of course Spice and Wolf (I want to compare our thoughts)!

    Sorry I couldn’t be of use suggestion-wise (the other posters should be of more help; I just wanted to express my thanks for doing all that so…THANKS! :D)

    • December 30, 2009 10:33 pm

      haha, well if you think I did well, that’s a sort of suggestion, so thanks. :D

      I haven’t started Spice and Wolf yet (I’ve been reading Brave Story and it’s freaking long!), but I’ll try and write my thoughts down as I read, since I tend to forget things I thought unless I write them down. xD And on Butterflies, Flowers I can tell you right now that I love it! :D It was a lot funnier than I expected it to be.

  2. The condemned snowman permalink
    December 30, 2009 5:49 pm

    just glad u returned!

  3. December 30, 2009 11:21 pm

    I hope you get your new laptop! *waves flag of support* 83

    Hmm…changing the name? Well, I can suggest a few terms if that would help. “anticipation”…”future shelf life” (I know, this one is just “wut?” xDD;; ) …um…”tackle 20xx with…” why am I so violent? |D;…yea.
    lol, well, if you need anymore help, feel free to post it and I’ll try to throw some more radioactive crazy stuff in there for your brainstorms to chew on. haha, I doubt they’ll sound good but maybe it’ll lead you think up something from them. :3

    UUWHOA!!! Did you enjoy your time at the bookstore. o.O;;
    Coming to raid your collection later. Leave me milk and Oreos on the table. Kehehe! >:3
    But yay! I can’t wait to read your reviews for these! Especially the Shinkuro artbook. I never opened the English one since I bought the Japanese one already but I’m curious to know how it looks inside.

    Congrats on getting your job back and do your best! ^^

    • December 31, 2009 6:34 pm

      Well…a new laptop is supposed to come in the mail on Monday…but who knows? :[

      hehe, I like all those idea, so thanks!!! :D :D :D :D

      lmao, that’s actually 2 different trips to the bookstore and then like 4/5 of them were Christmas presents. But I did indeed enjoy being able to buy things again. xD
      I love the ShinKuro artbook already! xD It’s gorgeous. I’ll post some pics so you can compare to the Japanese version! (though I do know that it came with an extra poster that the Japanese version didn’t get).

      Thanks!! :D

  4. December 31, 2009 12:33 am

    lol well, since you asked, I’m mostly looking forward to your reviews. =D Particularly of the Spice and Wolf novel and Brave Story. (And maybe Usurper of the Sun, if you’ve read it? I just finished it yesterday, I wanna compare thoughts with someone.)

    Your looking forward to the future posts are awesome. Hmm, I’ve seen these kinds of post being called “upcoming releases” but yours is a more interesting headline. Sorry for the lack of creative advice here. =/

    • December 31, 2009 6:36 pm

      hee, working on both those right now. ;] (haven’t gotten around to Usurper of the Sun yet [almost bought it, but got Spice and Wolf instead], but sylphalchemist just posted a review)

      Interesting is good, so maybe I will stick with it… hmm… Oh well, plenty of time to think about it. xD

    • January 1, 2010 8:58 pm

      I’m probably not the best person to talk with about Usurper of the Sun (though thanks kelakagandy for mentioning me – I feel special now XD).

      It was a good book but it wasn’t my thing so I didn’t enjoy it too much. ^_^;
      I think another blogger commented on liking Usurper of the Sun though. I remember running across his/her blog when I was looking up Haikasoru book reviews from wordpress’s search engine. Maybe you should give them a try :D (sorry I can’t remember the name >_<;)

  5. warriorhope permalink
    December 31, 2009 6:24 pm

    How more “More Awesome (and Accture) English Manga Info than ANN” I guess that’s a little long (and political).

    Don’t worry about being away for a couple of days! I’ve only wrote about three posts this month. And you should enjoy the holidays with your family and friends and not worry about other things.

    • December 31, 2009 6:38 pm

      XD hahaha, love. it. ANN does tend to jump the gun… :/

      Definitely enjoyed my holiday/break so far. :] How was yours?

      • warriorhope permalink
        December 31, 2009 8:50 pm

        it was good. I got FY Big 3 and SC 7. I got interested in a new fantasy series. Oh and Happy New Year!

    • January 2, 2010 2:51 pm

      ANN was ever awesome? I keep getting the feel that they hate everything not Shounen D=

      This is becoming pretty much a Manga Periodicals or Manga News blog, something along those lines…

      Sorry, no clues come to mind, I just wanted to wave little flags in support xD

      • January 2, 2010 4:10 pm

        They really do. Even the fact that Del Rey was republishing a bunch of CLAMP manga was only in the Panel write-ups, I’m almost positive it never made the front page.

        hahaha, I’m aware. xD I really should change that tagline of mine to “my ramblings about manga, light novels, and occasionally anime” But that’s not a bad idea for a name, so thanks!! :D

        And thanks for the support! :D

Leave a Reply

