Skip to content

Aren’t I just crafty?

January 16, 2010

For Christmas this past year, I made all my friends aprons (since we always end up baking together). For them, I made sure to ask for their favorite colors (since I’m really!! bad at remembering things like that), but for mine, I finally got to use a piece of fabric that my mom bought me on one of her trips to Hancock’s of Paducah (seriously, it’s like the most massive fabric store ever!), that just so happens to have anime-styled girls on it. :3 (favorite quote of that night by a friend? “What’s Kelly’s favorite color? Asian!”)

The aprons were sort of based on this “pattern” from Marta Stewart, though I mixed things up with the ties (read: screwed things up). Thankfully my mom has one of the most amazing sewing machines in the world (it has its own touchscreen!), so it was super easy for me to monogram initials on all the pockets, which I think is one of the best parts about them. (seriously though, if you’re going to get a sewing machine, get a good one, not just one from like WalMart or something; my mom uses a PFAFF [same thing as a Husqvarna Viking if you’re looking at those], they’re not cheap, but they’re so easy to use and they’re completely worth it).

Excuse my terrible photography skills, but I figured I’d post some pics (since I got my camera to finally hook up to my computer). And I suppose excuse the total weeaboo-ness of my fabric choice! xD
A few pics after the cut (but no pics of the process, since I didn’t think about it at the time!).


LEFT: I tried to take a picture of the monogrammed pocket, but obviously that failed. But hey, at least you can see how I put the pocket to where the chick’s head pops out! xD And you can see where I had to sew a pink panel to the bottom, because it wasn’t near long enough (my mom used some of it for the back of a quilt, so I only had a little left to use, luckily it was the perfect width, just not length).
RIGHT: Close up of the other side of the apron, with a girl in a blue kimono (I laughed with my mom when she brought the fabric home, cuz all the girls kind of look like whores).

RIGHT: A pic of the tie, which like I said before, totally messed up. They look pretty bad actually…you’re not really supposed to be able to see the stitching on it, oops. :3 And yes, that’s kanji on the tie, my mom has waaay too many oriental fabrics (as well as waaaay too much fabric in general).
LEFT: A much better picture of the monogramming (yeah, that’s my bedroom at home in the background, it was a total mess when I took this pic, as you can tell by the fact that my sheets aren’t even on the mattress). I really like how the apron turned out in the end, with the pink panel at the bottom and the blue tie, even if the girls on it do look like whores, haha.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 12:29 pm

    How cute. I’m all thumbs when it comes to crafts like that (I was traumatized in Home Etc. when the teacher told us a story about someone using a sewing machine and ended up getting their finger caught and stitched DX Gah just remembering makes me shudder! So I’ve abstained from going near any type of sewing machine >_<||| )

    I lol-ed at your mom's comment.
    Whores.
    Ah, parents just seem to say the best random things :)

    • January 17, 2010 1:26 pm

      Thanks~
      I never had Home Ec (or driver’s ed, something was seriously wrong with my school), but I was in 4H sewing for years (like from 4th grade to 9th, I think), and they always told us horror stories about people getting their fingers under the sewing machine. I’ve never quite figured out how that happens, since once you put the presser foot down, there’s like no room for you to get your finger caught…but I guess since it’s happened, it’s possible. :[
      It was great, she brought it home, gave it to me, and was like, “yeah, I though you’d like it, even though they kind of look like whores…” xD

    • January 17, 2010 11:56 pm

      GAH!!! Don’t remind me don’t remind me don’t remind me!!!

      *cringes in corner*

      No, I haven’t ever stitched my fingers, but I’ve gained a fear of sewing machines ever since I first heard a story like that…

      But really, nice handwork~

      • January 18, 2010 12:18 am

        I promise they’re not that scary, though I certainly understand the fear. :]

        Thanks~

  2. January 17, 2010 3:53 pm

    ooh it’s very pretty i think i saw the word love on your apron (the green part love: 愛) i’m so jealous, i want that too, but i guess you can’t have everything. you’re so lucky, i want to have home etc. or driver’s ed or something like that. in belgium there aren’t such subjects in school.

    • January 17, 2010 5:05 pm

      Thanks~ It’s very likely, I just don’t know any kanji well enough to tell them apart. :[
      Don’t worry, not all schools in the US have them either (like mine), I just got into sewing because my mom makes quilts and she really influenced me, and then I joined 4H sewing at a local place. :]

      • January 17, 2010 6:08 pm

        but i think it’s love coz in chinese it means love (i’m chinese, but don’t ask me something else coz i only can write or read a little, but i can speak and it happens that i’ve learn this word, but forget to how to write, but i can recognize it ^^)
        well i thought about it and we do have a cooking class, but it’s only for the students that are in one of the 13 classes from whole 10th grade (it’s a class for kids that after they finished high school, they can work) and i’m not in that class, i’m in the latin class with 5 hours of maths and i reaaly like to learn cooking or sewing or something in home etc. T_T

        • January 17, 2010 6:18 pm

          Well that’s awesome! :D
          Oh, that’s true, my high school did have cooking classes and a flower arrangement class, but it was basically for people who weren’t going to college, and since that was what I did, I had to take AP courses and extra Spanish. I would much rather have taken cooking or sewing or something of the like too!

  3. January 18, 2010 11:48 am

    ZOMG, SO COOOOOOOOOLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! XDDDDDD

    Y’know, before reading this, I thought I was seeing some very fancy shorts. <D;

    Aww man, that’s just way too awesome. I like…bow down to your godly creative craft skills. *totally in awe* m(_ _)m
    Haha, but wow, I’m super jealous. Now I’m gonna get myself one of those PFAFF sewing machines (that looks so cool) and attempt to do something with it and screw up, of course. XD

    I really love how it came out. The pink panel on the bottom and the kanji tie compliments the fabric and the cute pocket is just to die for. Great job, kel-san~! ^^
    If you make anymore, sell them to me~! haha xD

    • January 18, 2010 11:48 am

      Damn, forgot to close the first strike tag. Please edit, sry~! ^^;

    • January 18, 2010 2:15 pm

      THANKS~~ :D

      pahahah, I can totally see how you got that though!

      haha, I love my mom’s sewing machine (and techincally I have her old one, which still does embroidery, so is awesome but doesn’t have a touch screen).

      Glad you like it! :D And thanks again~!!
      If I make any more I’ll let you know. ;]

  4. February 1, 2010 4:21 pm

    really cute! I love the fabric you got! Making aprons for your friends is a really nice preset idea~~~~

Leave a Reply

