Skip to content

Time for a Little Kimi ni Todoke fangirling~

January 20, 2010

Volume 1o of Kimi ni Todoke by Karuho Shiina just came out (and sold 517,358 copies in its first week according to ANN!!). First off, those are incredible numbers for a shojo manga! That is some legit selling power right there, and I love it because the series deserves it~ Secondly, holy crap look at the cover, it’s freaking adorable!! I just love it!! <3 I’m guessing that the series is winding down in Japan now? I really don’t know, since I’m following the Shojo Beat versions, but based on the cover, it looks like we finally got somewhere! :D

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 6:28 pm

    HOORRRAAAYYYYY!!! *runs around and throws confetti everywhere*

    Haha, I just finished watching this week’s episode so I’m in a very good KnT mood. XD

    Man, why can’t they make great shoujo like this precious little jewel anymore? T.T

  2. January 20, 2010 7:16 pm

    Love it!!! Yea, Kazehaya!

  3. January 20, 2010 7:42 pm

    @Xiao: I just watched it too~
    I agree! This is like the epitome of fantastic shojo, and while I don’t want people to copy it (because that would be no fun), I do want more gems like this!

    @Laura: Kazehaya is just so adorable on this cover, I love it! :D

  4. January 21, 2010 8:40 am

    Those numbers are the reason why manga publishers pay exorbitant amounts to anime studios to have their series animated. Given Kimi no Todoke’s success during Fall season, I can’t say the sales surprise me.

    I don’t think it’ll be easy for others to copy Todoke. IMO the story concepts and character designs of Todoke aren’t that original or anything (okay okay Kazehaya is really refreshingly cute). The heart of the series lies mostly in the storytelling presentation style and… that’s not the easiest thing to copy, at least not copy well.

    • January 21, 2010 2:24 pm

      Oh, I definitely agree that the anime has to do with it, but it’s still exciting. :]

      Oh, I don’t want people to copy it, just…well, I’m not too sure how to explain it, but Kimi ni Todoke always makes me laugh or cry or any range of emotions, and I wish there were more works like that out there.

      • January 22, 2010 9:34 am

        I guess that’s exactly what I’m trying to hit. The style Todoke uses that brings forth those emotions is… not quite something that’ll transfer easily, so more works like it won’t quite arise (much) from this success.

        But then, good series are gems because of their rarity =D

        • January 22, 2010 10:18 am

          I must agree (though it is sad).

          True! I wouldn’t have nearly the impact if all series were like KimiTodo. :D

Leave a Reply

