Skip to content

I love Yen Press even more~

February 3, 2010

Yen Press announced today that they have licensed (among other things) the Bungaku Shojo light novel series. Yes, THAT Bungaku Shojo (the one being animated in the near future). Even better news? They first volume drops in July! That’s right, July of this year. How they kept it under wraps for that long, I have no idea. I’m not sure if they’re going to be calling it Bungaku Shojo or something else though (the image they used in the announcement of the original novel was saved as Book Girl, so they might use that, but they called it Bungaku Shojo in the announcement, so who really knows).

Other series announced are: The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi-chan, K-ON!, Not Love But Delicious Foods (by Fumi Yoshinaga), and what looks to be an amusing children’s book Goldilocks and the Seven Squat Bears.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 5:09 pm

    Awesome news.

    All the manga databases have been calling it Literature Girl, so I see no reason why they won’t notice the trend.

    Baka-Tsuki picked up this project and I didn’t even notice ARRRGGGG. I’m suppose to be working there too (@_@ ).

    On that note, I wonder why this is considered Shounen demographic.

    • February 3, 2010 5:58 pm

      Yeah, I think it will be called Literature Girl too, but we’ll just have to wait and see. :D Well…apparently the first one will be called Book Girl and The Suicidal Mime, so apparently they’re going with Book Girl. (source)

      omg, really? I didn’t even notice! D: (though I haven’t been over there in ages, ha).

      huh, I didn’t realize it was shonen…that makes me curious too. It doesn’t sound like a particularly shonen series.

      • February 3, 2010 9:55 pm

        Hmm, not sure if this is true but since it seems like a more “everyone-rated” kind of series (think Kobato), don’t they usually categorize it as shounen just for the sake of categorizing? I mean, that is the largest demographic in manga anyway.
        Plus, “Bungaku Shoujo” doesn’t seem too have too much of a heavy romance/drama trait as lot of shoujo works do but that’s just what I think.

        At least we’re assured that it’s not seinen. =w=;

        • February 3, 2010 10:58 pm

          I think you’re probably right…that is what they seem to tend to do at least. :]

        • February 4, 2010 2:35 pm

          Why is it definitely not Seinen?

  2. February 3, 2010 6:21 pm

    Sweet! More light novels :D
    Man, Yen Press is going to make me go broke with all the titles I’m collecting from them! I hope the fact Yen Press is licensing more light novels means their sales have been successful! *crosses fingers*

    Their manga pick ups look interesting too. I’ve heard lots of things about K-ON! though I’ve never personally seen or read it. Now I have no excuse XD

    Am I the only one who thinks of bears with explosive diarrhea when I read the title Goldilocks and the Seven Squat Bears? >_>;

    • February 3, 2010 6:27 pm

      I would assume that the fact that they keep licensing novels means they’re selling well. (I sure hope at least!)

      K-ON! is actually fairly entertaining if you take it at face value (and realize that it’s mostly moe bait); I enjoyed it (and the anime opening and ending are love~).

      pahahahaha, I hadn’t thought that, but now I’m not going to be able to not think of that! xD

  3. February 3, 2010 9:51 pm

    JUST KEEP “BUNGAKU SHOJO” title CUZ IT’S JUST AWESOME AS IT IS LEIK OMGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!1one *gets slapped cuz it’s not gonna happen* |D;;

    Yen Press has been so great lately. They’re picking up a lot of the titles I’m willing to buy. <3 I hope they license more light novels in the future cuz there is seriously not enough translated light novels to begin with and I'm not so smart enough to learn Japanese that quickly. :P

    Also, I'm very intrigued by the squatting bears… @.@

    • February 3, 2010 11:00 pm

      I wish they would too…but Book Girl does kind of make more sense, even if it doesn’t sound NEAR as awesome

      They really have. I technically only have one true Yen Press release (and I won it, heh), though I do have volume 1 of the Haruhi novels, which is a joint between them, so I guess that’s two?, but I really like the things they’re licensing and am definitely more likely to buy some of their stuff (I don’t know why I haven’t been buying more, they have Nightschool by Chmakova, who I love and a few other series that I keep meaning to buy, just haven’t yet).

  4. February 17, 2010 6:46 am

    AWESOME!!!!

Leave a Reply

