Skip to content

Fushigi Yûgi [VIZBIG Edition] Volume 4

April 3, 2010

Fushigi Yûgi [VIZBIG Edition] volume 3
by:
Yuu Watase
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat/VIZBIG imprint]
from the publisher: With one of the Celestial Warriors lost forever, Miaka and her men are more desperate than ever to obtain the two Shentso-Paos to summon Suzaku. But once Miaka has one in her grasp, it is stolen away by the Seiryu Warrior Nakago. Miaka goes to Nakago to get it back, and he sexually assaults her. Believing she is no longer worthy of becoming Tamahome’s bride, Miaka flees on her own, only to be saved by a man whom she thought was her enemy. Meanwhile, Tamahome falls under the Seiryu Warrior Tomo’s power of illusions… With one of the Celestial Warriors lost forever, Miaka and her men are more desperate than ever to obtain the two Shentso-Paos to summon Suzaku. But once Miaka has one in her grasp, it is stolen away by the Seiryu Warrior Nakago. Miaka goes to Nakago to get it back, and he sexually assaults her. Believing she is no longer worthy of becoming Tamahome’s bride, Miaka flees on her own, only to be saved by a man whom she thought was her enemy. Meanwhile, Tamahome falls under the Seiryu Warrior Tomo’s power of illusions…

My ramblings (and they’re really ramblings this time, I’m all over the place): Insert standard “I freaking love VIZBIG editions” ramblings here. :] Oh, and this is absolutely my favorite of the VIZBIG version covers, hands down. It’s just gorgeous!

There is a whole lot of illusion going on in this volume. To be honest it gets a little confusing.

I love the Byakko celestial warriors though, they were lots of fun. I kind of wish that the prequel were Byakko Kaiden and not Genbu Kaiden, even though we know less about Genbu, so it’s a little more interesting that way.

I think I’m even more frustrated with Yui than I was in the last volume. She pretends to forgive Miaka and really had me fooled and then steals the Shentso-Pao and summons Seiryu anyway. It really, really frustrated me.

And seriously, Watase just can’t stop killing the Suzaku warriors; they’re dieing left and right in this volume and it’s rather depressing…

Tamahome finally finding out that he’s nothing more than a character in a book was also an interesting plot turn. He sure accepted it rather fast though…it was kind of anti-climactic.

Volume 5 just came out last month, and the final volume comes out June 15th! Do yourself a favor and get these! :D

4 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 3, 2010 10:10 pm

    “this is absolutely my favorite of the VIZBIG version covers, hands down. It’s just gorgeous!”
    word.

    I’m pretty sure Watase is going to write a series for them one day too. ^__^

    Yeah, pretty much my feelings on Yui as well.

    *pats shoulder* It gets better for the Suzaku warriors from now. (still dead except for a few exceptions..but it’s complicated.)

    I think she had to rush a lot of things since it’s getting close to the end of part 1. Volume 13, is awesome cakes though, even if I’m not crazy about volumes 14-18.

    • April 5, 2010 10:41 am

      It would be fantastic if she did (since she’s finally going back and working on Genbu Kaiden now, maybe it will be in the somewhat near future, aka like 5-ish years from now).

      That’s a relief! :D And the “still dead except for a few exceptions” has me very curious. :3 I’ll have to get volume 5 pronto. :D

      Well, I guess that makes sense, though she totally could have just made it 19 volumes and not rushed. But I get wanting to finish something and just get on with the next thing (that’s how I always feel when I write papers, haha).

  2. April 5, 2010 11:55 pm

    Gah, I’m behind now D8 I’ve now got the Japanese editions of FY on my shelf (found it cheap on ebay XD) but I haven’t gotten around to reading them (darn school and senioritis).
    I need to read them to help fill in the blanks the anime left me with >_>

    Also, I second (well, guess now third ^^) a manga about the Byakko warriors 8D If it’s anything like Genbu then hell yeahs!

    • April 6, 2010 12:03 am

      Nice! (I love finding things cheap on ebay~) haha, summer is coming up real quick, so you should have time. :]

      I still haven’t read Genbu Kaiden (bah!), but since everyone seems to like it more, and I liked the Byakko warriors more, I really, really hope Watase does a Byakko Kaiden.

Leave a Reply

