Skip to content

Karakuri Odette Volume 2

April 5, 2010

Karakuri Odette volume 2
by: Julietta Suzuki
from the publisher: Odette is now a sophomore at her high school. She still wants to be as close to human as she can, but finds out she still has a long way to go. From wanting to be “cute” by wearing nail polish, to making a “tasty” bento that people would be happy to eat, and trying to figure out the different kinds of “like,” Odette faces each challenge head-on with the help of her friends Yoko, Chris, Professor and, of course, Asao.
my ramblings: I really love this series already at only the second volume, and am super glad that Tokyopop has brought it over. This volume however seems kind of flimsy; it’s not the paper quality (which seemed perfectly fine), but rather the cover that seems kind of flimsy. If I hold it by the spine, it just kind of flops downwards, which I don’t think I’ve ever had happen to me before. It’s really very strange and I’m not sure if it’s just my copy or not. It’s not really a problem, it just made me feel kind of like I was going to easily rip the book.

The editing in this volume was definitely above what I’ve come to expect from Tokyopop lately. I don’t think I found any issues (even the common text in weird places in the speech bubbles) with this volume, which was a pleasant surprise.

The series continues to be absolutely adorable and is getting better with each volume. I absolutely suggest it to anyone. Volume 3 comes out April 27th~ :D

7 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 5, 2010 3:35 pm

    I want to read this now. We need more cute robots

    • April 5, 2010 5:06 pm

      It’s just fantastic. I wish there were more series about cute robots like this one. :D

      • warriorhope permalink
        April 22, 2010 1:00 pm

        Finally finsihed volume 2. Currently torn between shipping Chris/Odette, and Asao/Odette.

        • April 25, 2010 3:06 pm

          Oh, I know, me too! I’m pretty sure I heard that she doesn’t end up with anyone, which I think I’d like better (though both ships would be adorable and I think I’d approve if either happened, because I really do love shipping, haha), just because it’s not really a story about romance, it’s more about regular relationships (I guess I mean friendship over romance).

          • warriorhope permalink
            April 25, 2010 4:04 pm

            Ah I approve of that type of ending too~

  2. April 7, 2010 7:08 pm

    *puts in the eventually going to read pile*
    One day… ^^

    • April 7, 2010 7:48 pm

      You should definitely check out at least the first volume. It’s just one of those feel good stories. :]

Leave a Reply

