Skip to content

Stepping on Roses Volume 1

April 6, 2010

Stepping on Roses volume 1
by:
Rinko Ueda
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat imprint]
from the publisher:
Poor Sumi Kitamura… Her irresponsible older brother Eisuke keeps bringing home orphans for her to take care of even though they can barely afford their own basic needs! Just when Sumi’s financial problems become dire, wealthy Soichiro Ashida enters her life with a bizarre proposition: he’ll provide her with the money she so desperately needs if she agrees to marry him. But can Sumi fool high society into thinking she’s a proper lady? Moreover, is it worth giving up everything for this sham of a marriage?
my ramblings: I’m not going to lie, I read this series online before I bought it. But the scanlations do nothing for this series. It’s really so, so much better to have it in your hand, not to mention of course the much better translation. Seriously, everyone who likes shojo should check it out. I admit that Sumi is incredibly dense, but she’s still very much loveable. She not the same type of ditzy heroine as most, she’s really only mostly dense in that she doesn’t know much about the changing world of the Meiji Era, and who can blame her for that? She’s not rich, and doesn’t have many opportunities to see the western world, so it’s really to be expected that she doesn’t understand a lot of the things that Soichiro says to her. It’s also really nice to see a series about two people who are married falling in love (not exactly a spoiler).

The cover of this is incredibly well done as well. They kept the whole “wrap around” cover for the most part. The side of the volume is still typical white with red font and the cover image (though with the lovely addition of a rose under the volume number, serious props to the designer for that), and the fact that you still see Sumi holding the money behind Soichiro is lovely. A lot of the manga series that I’ve bought or seen recently have wrap around covers, so it’s nice to know that if they’re licensed, Viz would likely keep the wrap around images on those as well. I also love how close the cover is to the Japanese version with the title art, the volume number in the diamond, and the curlicues around the sides.

I think the one issue I had with the volume is that there were a few instances of the text not being centered in the bubbles. It’s probably just me, but I really dislike when the text isn’t centered. It may  be that that’s how it was in the original Japanese version (or maybe not), but it still bothers me. Other than that, there were no errors with typos or seeming translation issues. The translation notes in the back were very helpful as well. I don’t normally care either way for the sound effects to be translated or not, but this time the translated one were very helpful in making the story glide more easily. It really would have been a hassle to have to find a translation for most of the effects, in particular “cockle-doodle-do” would have been just a bit obnoxious to have to look up or to have a tiny translation next to the Japanese.

Overall, I still very much love this series, and highly recommend it to any shojo fan!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 6, 2010 12:47 pm

    “I admit that Sumi is incredibly dense, but she’s still very much loveable. She not the same type of ditzy heroine as most, she’s really only mostly dense in that she doesn’t know much about the changing world of the Meiji Era, and who can blame her for that? She’s not rich, and doesn’t have many opportunities to see the western world, so it’s really to be expected that she doesn’t understand a lot of the things that Soichiro says to her”

    Word. I’m sick and tired of seeing “OMG Sumi is so stupid” threads on every forum about Stepping on Roses. She is a product of her time period and social class, and there are much, much more dense heroines out there. (I agree she is dense from time to time, but again shojo).

    I really liked the wrap around cover too. It was cute and effective. Viz has gotten much better designed covers lately.

    Oh~ Also, I thought the “you’re reading the wrong way” image they chose was super cute. Her dress was adorable.

    • April 6, 2010 4:02 pm

      I know! People just don’t get it. I mean, I’m not trying to say she’s not dense at all, because like you said, she is a shojo heroine and it’s not like it’s uncommon, but I don’t get why people always say she’s so dumb.

      Viz has gotten a lot better at designing covers lately, and it’s great because so have the Japanese designers. I LOVE the Sakura Hime Kaden, MOMO, and Stardust Wink covers! The SHK and MOMO ones are both wrap around and they’re gorgeous. The Stardust Wink ones aren’t wrap around, but they are beyond adorable (especially the back covers~). Some of Tokyopop’s releases have gotten better too, in particular Happy Cafe looks great (Karakuri Odette, not so much…).

      I didn’t even notice! D: I’ll have to go back and check it now, since I kind of sped-read the first time before a class, haha.

      • warriorhope permalink
        April 6, 2010 9:05 pm

        It’s fairly typical. I notice that female charaacters are often called annoying or stupid and have death/rape wishes raised against them more often than male characters. (It jjust mmakes me like those characters more) Though to be fair, at least the Stepping on Roses fandom calls Nozumu badshit insane/creepy. Which he is.

        Mmmhm. I also like the covers for the Ultimate Editions of Fruits Basket.

        • April 6, 2010 9:07 pm

          Ugh, that he is!! D: It kills me how different he is from volume 1 to the most recent chapters (he sure had me fooled in the beginning!).

          Oooh, yes, those are great too~

          • warriorhope permalink
            April 6, 2010 10:13 pm

            lol. Maybe it’s because I knew, but rereading the first volume last week, I noticed he seemed vaugely unsettled. Maybe it’s the eyes. They’re a bit too wide(crazy wide, not naive wide like one would think intially).

            • April 6, 2010 10:30 pm

              He did kind of creep me out when he’s talking to Soichiro (after he helps Sumi the first time), but otherwise, he pretty much had me fooled. I mean, this time I knew, so I could kind of tell, but UeRin is pretty awesome at making him so psychotic.

  2. April 7, 2010 7:12 pm

    Holy monkeys, this is out already!? 8O
    Oops ^^:

    Another book to go into the eventually will read pile
    As soon as school stops biting my face off and gives me time to practice my Japanese, I’ll be able to work on a lot of the back log shojo I have ^^;

    • April 7, 2010 7:47 pm

      It just came out yesterday, so you’re not too behind~ :D

      ah, school. That thing that parents deem useful and we children deem satanic. :/ I completely understand. I can’t wait for this semester to be over! (and to catch up on my manga too~)

Leave a Reply

