Skip to content

The Gentlemen’s Alliance † Volume 11

April 7, 2010

The Gentlemen’s Alliance † volume 11
by:
Arina Tanemura
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat imprint]
from the publisher:
Haine goes to Shizumasa and Takanari’s grandfather, the head of the Togu family, to ask him to release the twins from their fate. He tells her she must pass the same trial the twins went through for determining the Togu heir. Haine agrees, but little does she know that a former friend is now out for her life.
my ramblings: It’s soooo bittersweet to have to say goodbye to this series! It was really the first series that got me into Arina (I read the preview back in Shojo Beat magazine (RIP)), and then I devoured anything Arina that I could find, so having the final volume of this series is a little bit depressing actually.

Probably one of my favorite parts of this volume (apart from the whole wedding scene) is when Maguri straps fireworks to himself to scare people and then proceeds to blow himself up with them. I literally couldn’t stop cracking up when re-reading it!

The volume is incredibly well done as always, and I really don’t have much to say about the editing, since it was so well done. The only thing I really noticed was the use of a few different fonts than normal, which was nice (too many can get distracting, but these were all used tastefully and in different places).

I didn’t realize that Arinacchi’s short-story “The Globe of the Sea-Nocturne” was in this volume, but I really, really enjoyed it as well. I usually find teacher-student romances kind of squicky, but this one made it really cute~ (the only other exception is really Ushio and Senri from The Gentlemen’s Alliance). The extra character sketches are nice also.

With this looking like the only English Arinacchi offering this year, I can only hope that Viz announces MisuFo or SHK or both (I’d really love both~) at a con this year!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 1:02 pm

    Wooo it’s completely out. Time to go splurge and buy the whole set at once.

    This will not, not be goodbye. Those studios will animate this or I will go to Japan to browbeat them into doing so xD

    • April 7, 2010 1:06 pm

      I almost wish I had waited to buy the whole thing at once, cuz it was killer waiting for it to all be released! D:

      Gosh I hope so…but with every passing month, the chances get less and less…hopefully they’ll animate it though (even if it’s years down the road and it’s considered “classic”, like ItaKiss in 2008).

  2. warriorhope permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:05 pm

    “Maguri straps fireworks to himself to scare people and then proceeds to blow himself up with them. I literally couldn’t stop cracking up when re-reading it!” I lol’d at that part part as well.

    Misfortune for January 2011~

    • April 7, 2010 2:19 pm

      teehee, how could you not? :3

      Oh God, I really, really hope Viz has MisuFo and just hasn’t told us yet! D: (I really, really hoping that they announce it at Comic-Con, or hell before, it’s just that I’ll actually BE at Comic-Con, haha.) It’s really depressing to me that this is the only English Arina release of the year. :[

      • warriorhope permalink
        April 7, 2010 3:02 pm

        I’m actually hoping, that they also stole kamikaze jeanne from CMX.

        • April 7, 2010 5:41 pm

          oh God, I would love that!! (especially since I only have 4 of the 7 volumes *shame*.)

  3. April 8, 2010 11:52 am

    “Maguri straps fireworks to himself to scare people and then proceeds to blow himself up with them.”

    Best pre-graduation party EVAR~!!! XDDDD;;;;;

    Argh, they should have made a special limited edition one for this last volume. With a deck of cards or better yet, the picture book Taka-kun drew or BOTH! D:
    But oooo, I seriously want this last volume so much. Need to plan for a bulk-purchase soon, haha.

    As for an anime, if 2012 is going to be the 2012 that everyone’s dreading, I’d like this in 2011 by P.A. Works, kthxalotbai.

    Ah, when I read the “The Globe of the Sea-Nocturne”, I thought it was cute, too, but was more preoccupied about what the heck was it talking about and what it has to do with the story. *didn’t realize it was a one-shot till later cuz I’m slow* xD;

    And yes~, when am I gettin’ my MisFo? *rolls around the floor in agony* x(

    • April 8, 2010 1:52 pm

      pahahahaha, it would a fun way to go out…with a bang. ;D (I’m sorry…that was a terrible pun…)

      I was sure I had heard that there was supposed to be a limited edition postcard with the first editions…but I guess I heard wrong, cuz it didn’t exist. :[

      haha, a SDC anime would make the end of the world a little brighter. :]

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Gentlemen’s Alliance † Volume 11 « kelakagandy’s ramblings -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

