Skip to content

Shugo Chara! Volume 8

April 9, 2010

Shugo Chara! volume 8
by:
Peach-Pit
published by:Del Rey
from the publisher: Ikuto has disappeared, and it’s up to Amu and her fellow Guardians to save him. But what about Tadase’s mysterious past with Ikuto? And what does that mean for Amu and Tadase’s relationship? Plus, Rima learns the truth about Nagihiko’s double life!
my ramblings: The front cover of my copy at least feels very strange. It’s kind of a dusty feeling, which I feel like I’ve encountered with past Del Rey volumes. It’s not exactly a bad thing since it doesn’t detract from the work itself, it’s just that it leaves you with a very weird feeling when you’re holding the book and it makes it seem like the book is unfinished in a way. The front cover itself looks great, the English design looks pretty much identical to the Japanese one, which is nice. The back cover on the other hand doesn’t look so nice. I have no idea what the Japanese back cover looks like, but the English one at least is really bare, with lots of white space; not to mention that the font used for the summary is kind of boring.

The editing is a little bit better than the previous volume, but still made me cringe in spots. For one, the line “Don’t be so flip about it, please!” should definitely be “Don’t be so flippant about it, please!” That’s just laziness in the editing, as “don’t be so flip” doesn’t even make any sense. I know from experience on my high school newspaper staff that sometimes you’ve looked at something so many times that you miss mistakes, but I feel like this is one of those things that would get caught right away, as it literally doesn’t make any sense in the English language. And of course the use of “Death Label” instead of “Death Rebel” was still annoying (and now I can be a little more insisting on that fact, as it definitely sounds like “Death Rebel” in the anime and not “Death Label”).

On the actual story part of things, I only have a few random comments:
1) Mizue (Tadase’s mother) is a freaking nut case,
2) Relatedly, what ever happened to his parents? They just seem to have disappeared without a trace,
3) This arc always makes me want to cry for Ikuto! TT____TT
4) Amu kind of pisses me off in the beginning of the volume with her wishy-washy-ness (though luckily, she does get over that really quickly!),
5) Last, but definitely not least, Tsukasa is a total creeper. xD

13 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 9, 2010 2:09 pm

    “The front cover of my copy at least feels very strange. It’s kind of a dusty feeling, which I feel like I’ve encountered with past Del Rey volumes” How odd, mine felt normal

    Del Ray has really gone downhill since they started -__-

    Death Label pfft. Now I’m gonna imagine Ikuto as a label maker.

    They just kind of ignore him I think (Because both Mizue and Yui suck).Indeed T_T. I kind of liked, since I felt it made her a more 3D character.
    “Last, but definitely not least, Tsukasa is a total creeper. xD”
    But that’s why we love him ^__^

    • April 9, 2010 2:16 pm

      That is weird. Maybe it’s just how mine was packaged in the mail? (that’s actually fairly likely I think.)

      I know, it makes me really sad. I used to absolutely ADORE Del Rey Manga when they first started up, but now I really have no respect for them whatsoever, the only reason I keep buying is to support the series I like legally (and then it’s only really Shugo Chara!, Tsubasa, and Fairy Tail that I buy from them).

      *snort* I call for a crack fic where he makes labels!

      Yeah, good ole plot holes in shojo manga. xD (well…not really plot holes, since they’re not that important past what is shown, but it’d be nice to know.)

      Well, that is true, it definitely did make me more real, it just made me mad how she did it, if that makes any sense.

      haha, true. :] And it doesn’t surprise me that Tadase is basically the next generation’s Tsukasa…though hopefully he’s not such a creeper. xD

      • warriorhope permalink
        April 9, 2010 5:01 pm

        Here’s my lame attempt at a crack drabble (contains dialogue from chapter 31):

        “Ikuto?!” Amu said her heart in her throat. “Is that a new shugo chara egg?”

        But what’s with this egg..It feels like it’s alive

        “My own heart unlock.” Ikuto said, oblivous to how weirded out Amu was, starting his bishiedfied transformation sequence. “Character transformation, Death Label.”

        He lept down from the merry go around, wearing a badass trenchcoat and holding…a label maker.

        “uh?” Amu sweatdropped. What the hell was going on.

        He ran up swiping his label maker at her. She jumped back, but still got a label on the arm for her troubles.

        “Perverted kid.” She read aloud. She froze for a minute before turning back…

        *five minutes later*

        “Holy Crow-” Tadase called out as he ran towards…an unconcious Ikuto and angry looking Amu. “What happened?”

        “It was nothing.” She forced a smile. “Let’s get him out of here.”

        Tadase wisely decided it was not the best time to ask why she had a label on her arm.

        *shot*

  2. April 9, 2010 4:15 pm

    What? They still kept it as ‘Death Label’ =~= Jeez, I know sometimes you can sit and look at katakana of some foreign phrase and think ‘~w~t~f~’ But I literally had to read it like, 2 times to see ‘Oh it says Death Rebel’ Not that difficult.

    Ahaha, sometimes with the editing I think maybe it’s just some Americanised slang I’m not familiar with – good to know it’s a little off in general :’D

    • April 9, 2010 8:50 pm

      I know…I was really hoping they’d fix it in this volume. I’m glad to know that it shouldn’t be that difficult to read the katakana and so I am rightfully frustrated. :]

      Nope, they just kind of stink at editing. :D And I really wish they wouldn’t Americanize so much…they don’t too it too often anymore, but the little bit they do just throws things off.

  3. April 9, 2010 9:01 pm

    I grew up in a place where we would say don’t be so flip instead of don’t be so flippant.
    Now that I’m in Japan, I’ve been looking for a new manga to read – I’m thinking this might not be it. :-) I’ll keep checking back to see f you end up posting somethat that looks fabulous!

    • April 9, 2010 9:32 pm

      Really? Then I suppose I have to take back my “doesn’t even make sense in the English language” comment. ^^;

      Shugo Chara! is cute…but it got a little ridiculous in the end. Shugo Chara! Encore! however is much better; it’s still running in Nakayoshi, if you’re up for it. :]

      Hope you find some suggestions! :D

  4. David permalink
    April 11, 2010 5:56 am

    Shugo Chara wraps up the whole Easter storyline, You find out that Uta and ikuto’s mom is not married to the easter director. She never signed the marriage papers.

    • April 11, 2010 12:34 pm

      Oh, I know. I’ve read the whole thing already, I just like buying the English verison too (and not spoiling too much for other people who only have the official English volumes). :]

  5. April 13, 2010 8:42 am

    Lol to Death Label. That sounds so wrong. Like someone who worked at Hallmark or the post office turned evil and goes around labeling the innocent…

    I’ll eventually get caught up with Shugo Chara! ^^;
    Eventually.

  6. April 24, 2010 10:36 am

    Death Label left me quivering in my boots :).
    Del Ray fails at translation at times. I got the first volume a few weeks ago and noticed that when Amu was trying to figure out what ribbon to use Suu said:
    “I bet my life that green is best” which annoyed me cause when I read it on Onemanga she said: “Green represents life.”
    You’re right. Mizue is a total nut-case and one of the few charatcers in Shugo Chara who I loathe (along with the Director).
    I wonder what errors they will make in volume nine…

Leave a Reply

