Skip to content

kimi ni todoke: From Me to You volume 3

April 10, 2010

kimi ni todoke: From Me to You volume 3
by:
Karuho Shiina
published by: Viz Media [Shojo Beat imprint]
from the publisher:
Sadako finally becomes friends with her classmates, instead of scaring them off. Even Kurumi, the cutest girl in school, wants to be her friend. But will this new friendship make Sadako realize that her feelings for Kazehaya might be more than just friendly?
my ramblings: I have to say this before anything else…there’s one point (page 67 to be exact) where the sound effects are “rah rah ha ha ha ha ha!” and the first thing I thought of was the chorus to Lady Gaga’s Bad Romance. xD
Ok, moving on and being slightly more serious, this volume was like a ray of sunshine compared to yesterday’s review of Shugo Chara! volume 8! There were literally no typos or grammatical errors and the translations seemed to be spot on (I say this all the time, but I would like to clarify again that I do NOT know Japanese and therefore can’t know for sure if the translation is right, I only know that the words work for what is going on and that it seems to be right). There was one thing which is not great about this volume, however. Some of the pages in this volume are shorter than the rest of the pages, which is very strange. If you hold the book by the spine and look at the side opposite the spine, you see a noticeable dip where the pages seem to have been cut off too skinny. I don’t really know much about printing books, but I’m guessing this isn’t actually Viz’s fault and is the fault of the printer? If so, then I suppose I can’t really complain too much, but it is kind of distracting.

Story-wise, I just love this section so far! Kurumi is just driving me up a wall, but I figure I’ll have to like her later on (seeing as I know what happens). I love how close Sawako, Chizu, and Yano-chin have gotten, it really just warms my heart! To be honest, I’ve always kind of been the Sawako of my class (though definitely not to the extreme that Sawako is), so I know exactly how she feels when she realizes that she’s being included and it makes me feel extremely happy for her. I also adored how Ryu looked at Sawako when she asked if he and Chizu were dating! It was so cute and I just can’t wait for them to be a real couple! I also definitely cracked up when I noticed all the Pin/Yano hints; it kind of made my day (I can’t help but to ship them! She always goes for older guys and they’re always in the silliest situations together~). Other favorite thing from this volume? Kazehaya admitting that he’s a pervert! (and then taking it back, but still, the line “I might be a pervert, but I am NOT hardcore!” is pretty much fantastic!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2010 12:57 pm

    “I have to say this before anything else…there’s one point (page 67 to be exact) where the sound effects are “rah rah ha ha ha ha ha!” and the first thing I thought of was the chorus to Lady Gaga’s Bad Romance. xD”

    That made me think they’re going to insert random buttons in the pages for you to push and listen to weird sounds like those books made for children. LOLOL xDD;;;

    Ah, but this volume seems to have fun stuffed in all over it. I want it~ <3

    And that's odd about the pages. It would bother me so much since I’m OCD about these things that I’d demand for a replacement. Silly printer people should check their merchandise before shipping, y’know?

    Aww, I can relate on Sawako’s isolation issues, too, though “isolation” isn’t exactly the word I wanted to use but yea, it just makes you love her all the more if you can relate to her on that. And I think most people do. There are a lot of shy people out there but not many as adorable as Sawako. <3

    Gah, RyuxChizu still has to go through the Tooru arc but I found that one to be a nicely settled one, too. Then again, which arc isn't nicely settled? Haha.

    Yay for Pin/Ayane! Haha, I started shipping them when he was heading in the same direction she was when going home.
    "Don't follow me!"
    "ME?! My house is this way, you idiot!”

    xDDD

    Finally: “I might be a pervert, but I am NOT hardcore!”

    CAN SOMEBODY TELL ME WHY THIS WAS OMITTED IN THE ANIME?! Or maybe I can’t remember. XDDD;;;

  2. warriorhope permalink
    April 10, 2010 1:17 pm

    “I have to say this before anything else…there’s one point (page 67 to be exact) where the sound effects are “rah rah ha ha ha ha ha!” and the first thing I thought of was the chorus to Lady Gaga’s Bad Romance. xD”

    Heh~

    I idenfiy with Sawako too, which is why I’m always so happy when she goes out and tries. T_T (manly tears). Hee~ Pin/Yano ftw~ And yes, Ryu expression when Sawako thinks he and Chizu are dating is awesome.

  3. Rebecca permalink
    April 11, 2010 9:28 am

    I can identify with Sawako too. I was painfully shy in middle school and some of high school so seeing her emerge from her shell makes me happy :D

    It’s kind of weird how the pages seem shorter. I used to work at a newspaper/printer and we’d have some books/papers with even pages and some looked terrible ><.

  4. April 11, 2010 12:42 pm

    @Xiao:
    It would be freaking awesome if there were random buttons to push (maybe in future ebooks, there really will be sound effects and not written sound effects~)

    It really is full of great KimiTodo moments~ :D

    It bothers me too (I’m rather OCD at the weirdest times), but since it goes towards the inside of the bookcase, I can manage. xD

    I agree isolation isn’t quite the word, but it definitely does work. And most of the shy people of the world are definitely not as cute as Sawako~

    Oh gosh, the Toru arc! D: It killed me in the anime, but I still can’t wait to see it in the manga!

    I don’t know why I didn’t see the Pin/Yano hints then, it took me a while… but I definitely saw it this time~

    CAN SOMEBODY TELL ME WHY THIS WAS OMITTED IN THE ANIME?!
    Oh dear goodness, no, I wish it was!!! I cracked up so hard because I didnt’ expect it at all!! xD

    @warriorhope:
    haha, glad to amuse. :3

    YES! I love seeing her try, because it is just so great to see someone who is shy keep on trying! And I’m glad you saw Ryu’s expression too~

    @Rebecca
    Exactly!! :D

    Huh, when I think about it, it happened to our high school newspaper too sometimes…it really is the weirdest thing. I have no idea how it would happen. :/

Leave a Reply

