Skip to content

Haikasoru Listing

April 12, 2010

This isn’t new persay, since it was vaguely mentioned in the last Haikasoru catalog (it’s a sequel to another Haikasoru title, Rocket Girls), but now there’s an actual release date, title, summary, price, and cover, so it seems a little more official to me. I couldn’t find any other new Haikasoru releases on the Simon & Schuster site, unfortunately but I’ll definitely keep an eye out.

Rocket Girls: The Last Planet
by: Housuke Nojiri
Price: US $13.99
Release Date: January 18, 2011
from the publisher: When the Rocket Girls accidentally land in the yard of Yukari Morita’s old school, it looks as though their experiment is ruined. Luckily, the geeky Akane is there to save the day. Fitting the profile – she’s intelligent, enthusiastic, and petite – Akane is soon recruited by Solomon Space Association. Yukari and Akane are then given the biggest Rocket Girl mission yet: a voyage to the edge of the solar system and the minor planet of Pluto to save a NASA probe.

my ramblings: I’ve heard kind of mixed things about this series so far, as a lot of people have liked it, while others have likened it to Strike Witches, which to be honest, is a bit off-putting for me. To each their own, I don’t care if you read/watch it, but that doesn’t sound like something I’d enjoy. The summary though, seems a little bit different from that, and I’m actually kind of interesting in trying it. I’m behind on my Haikasoru releases so far (I still don’t have ZOO, The Book of Heroes, or Yukikaze, and then two more are coming out this month – The Stories of Ibis and Slum Online and another two next month – The Next Continent and Loups-Garous – all of which look interesting), but luckily this doesn’t come out until next January, so theoretically I can be caught up by then (thank goodness for getting paid!). Oh, and I can definitely say that this cover isn’t doing anything for me; I much prefer the cover for the first volume of the series (see it here).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 12, 2010 1:20 pm

    ah Strike Witches esqe story=fail. And yeah, not fond of the cover

  2. April 13, 2010 9:32 am

    Is Strike Witches that anime where the kids fly around fighting evil with no pants on?
    =_=; I think I saw it being advertised on ANN…
    I think I like Rocket Girls not being associated with that if true…
    The cover is…unique…
    Though I agree, the first cover looks better

    Hey, I’m behind on my shojo so you’re not the only one behind on things ^^
    Just need to wait for school to end ~ 83 hoho

  3. April 13, 2010 11:35 am

    @warriorhope: yeah…definitely fail.

    @sylphalchemist: yup, that would be the one. :/ And yeah, there was a HUGE Strike Witches ad on ANN the other day…I mean, to each their own, but that it NOT my cup of tea.
    If it’s not like Strike Witches, then I definitely think the series sounds interesting. I’m all for girls in space~

    haha, I’m behind on like everything! xD And I’m all sorts of broke, so not much catching up will be done in the near future.
    But I have 3 days left in this semester, then 3 days of final next week, then a week and a half break to work and make money~ (then another month of school, but whatever).

Leave a Reply

