Skip to content

Kamisama Kiss

April 14, 2010

Click for full (read GIANT) size

I know I promised a review, but it’s been so much more crazy today than I expected, so you’ll have to make due with this. Viz licensed the newest serial from Julietta Suzuki, Kamisama Hajimemashite (I’m guessing after seeing Tokyopop get Karakuri Odette), and the release date, more info, and cover have finally been released on Simon and Schuster’s site:

Kamisama Kiss volume 1
by: Julietta Suzuki
December 7, 2010
Price: US $9.99
From the publisher: Nanami has all kinds of new responsibilities she doesn’t understand, dangers she’s unaware of, and a cranky ex-familiar who’s…actually pretty hot. What’s a new-fledged godling to do?

My ramblings: Er…Kamisama Kiss is actually a really, really bad translation for the title. Viz originally announced it as Nice to Meet You, Kamisama, which is literally what the Japanese means and would be much preferred to Kamisama Kiss. Kamisama Kiss is cuter, but I’d like to know why they changed the name. The cover is definitely cute though. There’s only so much you can do with the original Japanese for volumes from Hakusensha (they’re just boring in comparison to the newer Shueisha and Kodansha), but the designer did a good job. Except for the title art…because the two ‘kissing’ “s”s at the end look rather similar to the title art from Metamo Kiss (see one of those covers here), and things like that just don’t sit well with me. I am still really, really glad that Viz licensed this, because that means the content will be so much better than in Karakuri Odette (though actually, Tokyopop did a pretty good job).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. warriorhope permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:08 am

    The name translation is a bit silly. I guess they figuredd, “nice to meet you Kamisama” was too much of a mouthful. :/

    • April 15, 2010 7:49 am

      Since they have no problem leaving Kami-sama in there I don’t see why they can’t just leave Hajimemashite which is a simple enough word that manga-readers should and ought to start understanding anyhow.
      Kamisama Kiss simply gives a… way too different image for the manga IMO.

      • April 15, 2010 1:54 pm

        @warriorhope: Yeah, I’m guessing that was the reasoning, but really, Viz? Really? :[

        @Aorii: Exactly. Kamisama Kiss is just waaaay too different from Nice to Meet You, Kamisama. :/

  2. April 17, 2010 9:58 am

    weird translation is weird :/ I guess it is a it of a mouthful but ‘hajimemashite’ would have been fine.

    I really like this series though! ahaha, so annoying it’s in hanayume which release bi-monthly… it’s too expensive to subscribe to because of that xD

    • April 17, 2010 12:46 pm

      yay~ Glad to know it’s worth it! :D But oh goodness, I can only imagine what it costs for the monthly magazine, let alone a bi-monthly one! D:

  3. April 18, 2010 9:35 pm

    Well…that’s an odd name change but…whatever sells I guess ^^:

    I’m liking the cat ears the main guy is sportin’ on the cover though xP
    (lol, I wonder if I have a cat ear fetish? I like Borus from Heart no Kuni no Alice, Ikuto from Shugo Chara, etc.)

    *puts in the one-day-will-read pile*

    • April 19, 2010 11:07 am

      Yeah…and I hope it does sell well! Karakuri Odette is just adorable, so I’d love to see all her works do well (and this is really the only other one, since Akuma to Dolce is incomplete).

      I probably have a cat ear fetish too. xD Ikuto is love~ and I don’t think I’ve ever really seen a guy with cat ears that I don’t like.

  4. Malevolentmask permalink
    August 23, 2010 10:58 am

    I’m not much of a fan of the new title, but i’m glad that they’re finally translating it, maybe i’ll buy it when it comes to stores. :D

    • August 30, 2010 12:36 pm

      Yeah, not the best, but I guess it is less of a mouthful, haha. You should absolutely buy it and support Julietta Suzuki-sensei!!!

Leave a Reply

