Skip to content

New noitaminA Simulcasts~

April 15, 2010

Again, I know I keep promising reviews, but I’m super excited about this! FUNimation has signed a deal with noitaminA that lets them simulcast the noitaminA shows! I think I’ve watched almost every noitaminA show since I started watching anime, and so this is one of the best things ever. noitaminA shows are just fantastic, and are really intended for more my demographic than a lot of the stuff I watch, so win! This season’s series are Sarai-ya Goyou (House of Five Leaves) and Youjouhan Shinwa Taikei (The Tatami Galaxy). I just watched the first episode of House of Five Leaves, and while it’s weird and the style is super strange, it was exceptionally good.

I’m guessing this is just limited to North America (possibly just the US?), but if you’re there, go watch House of Five Leaves episode 1 now! The Tatami Galaxy will start airing next week an hour after it premiers in Japan.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mello permalink
    April 15, 2010 1:25 pm

    Where can I watch the first episode of Sarai-ya Goyou? *__*

  2. warriorhope permalink
    April 15, 2010 3:41 pm

    Ah. Does this mean they’re going to stream Kagurahime too?

    • April 15, 2010 4:21 pm

      They haven’t specifically said anything past this season’s noitaminA offerings, but it’s definitely looking good! :D

      EDIT: I just re-read the ANN article and they say “The North American anime distributor Funimation has announced that it has licensed House of Five Leaves (Sarai-ya Goyou) and The Tatami Galaxy (Yojō-Han Shinwa Taikei) from Fuji TV. It will simulcast these anime and others from Fuji TV’s late-night Noitamina block with English subtitles — within an hour of the Japanese broadcast — starting this Thursday.” which definitely suggest that the likelyhood of future season noitaminA shows being simulcast too!!! !:D

  3. April 16, 2010 2:13 pm

    I completely agree that this is exceptional news. The Noitamina shows are like the cream of the anime crop. I like Five Leaves so far, it has a very distinctive look, and of course Tatami Galaxy will also have a very unusual visual style. As far as I am concerned, this is a very good thing. It really gives the popular notion of anime a kick in the pants, as people will be able to broaden their sense of what anime is (and is capable of). Yay!

    • April 17, 2010 12:45 pm

      They really are the cream of the crop for anime. The Tatami Galaxy kind of reminds me of Kuuchu Buranko from a few seasons past (minus the crazy anime/RL mix). I really hope that people give these series a chance, so that it will broaden their tastes, since a bunch of people were bitching about how FUNimation got these and not things like K-ON!! and Angel Beats (neither of which are terrible, just not on the same level as noitaminA shows).

Leave a Reply

